$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1733 N Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Aug 2, 2011

great location, great staff

Was in Dc for the weekend, chose the Topaz because it is right near Dupont Circle. The hotel was clean and the room was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marco C.
Business
Italy
Dec 3, 2014

Great experience!!!

Great location nearby Circle DuPont metro station and walking distance from White House. Neighborhood is safe and quite with many restaurants and coffee shop for breakfast. Room was comfortable with nice furniture. The refrigerator was lightly noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Big Hunt pub

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BelindaB
Business
Tucson
Dec 1, 2014

Great Hotel at a Steal!

I stayed at the Topaz for three nights on a combined business/pleasure visit to DC. The hotel is very conveniently located equidistant from the Dupont Circle and Farragut metros (a 5-10 minute walk) and about the same from the circuit bus that goes to Georgetown. The room was spacious and very comfortable, and the staff helpful and knowledgeable. At the price, it was a terrific deal all around!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CRD1
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 23, 2014

super easy, friendly staff

Just a clean, fast, friendly experience. Exactly what one wants in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cindy Villalba
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 17, 2014

Room was unavailable

The room I had booked online was unavailable so the hotel put me in another room that was literally in their loading dock entrance. I had to call and file a complaint to customer service before they moved me to another room. I normally like these hotels, but this one fell short of it's name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J in DC
Business
DC
Sep 28, 2014

overnight stay

I always have a great experience at the topaz. Richie is very attentive and courteous. I love how this company caters to people travelling with their dog(s) and gives discounts for driving hybrid vehicles!! With their new rewards program, I'm not staying at any other hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miss Sparkle
Business
Virginia Beach
Sep 1, 2014

Kimpton did it again!

I booked the room on a whim after deciding to stay in DC longer than expected. I've stayed in other Kimpton Hotels, but hadn't heard of Topaz. It's an AMAZING hotel! The room was so spacious! Wonderful design, friendly staff and great location! I'll definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosebar was a great hangout & just a quick walk away!

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelertoDC
Business
NY, NY
Jun 23, 2014

Great Location, Nothing Great

Great value, great location but hotel is very old and nice modern furniture doesn't get rid of the old musty smell. Rooms are nice size but there are ZERO amenities. Room service menu is a bar menu - but worse -- all weird options. I couldn't find anything to decide on so I had to go out for food. Ok, I'd stay there again if the price was as low as it was this past weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alice Giordano
Business
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2014

In and out

The hotel is what you pay for. I stayed here because of its location and the only thing I regret is ordering room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelforwork
Business
Denver, co
Jun 6, 2014

DuPont work trip

I like Kimpton hotels a lot, I usually stay at The Rouge but decided to try Topaz this time. They gave me a room located next to the employee exit and a supply closet, needless to say it was a bit noisy, but the window overlooked at eye level the employee lot. So the curtains had to be drawn at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HPBColorado
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 5, 2014

Great, easy stay in a great, easy location

Close to the Dupont Circle Metro stop and with great amenities like evening wine reception, spacious room and friendly staff, this was the perfect stay for a quick trip to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top