$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1733 N Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JU88
Business
Romeoville
Jan 12, 2015

extremely friendly staff

The staff was so friendly. Every person I encountered (maybe 12 people) was genuinely friendly. The Topaz had the type of customer service you'd expect from a well-run family hotel. The lemon chicken from the dinner menu was excellent!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Isha S.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Amazing Trip

My party of two stayed here for four nights. The room was very chic and clean. Our room was on the 10th floor and gave us a beautiful view of the cathedral and other buildings across the way. I would definitely recommend this hotel. There were lots of good places to eat and go out close by. It was also pretty close to two metro stations and CVS. Great location. Great service. Amazing trip! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Halal Kebob House is a hole in the wall Indian food restaurant. It's cute and has one of the most delicious and reasonablily priced food. The Chicken Tikka Masala is crazy good! Check it out! :D

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
West Pacific Traveler
Business
San Fransisco
Dec 7, 2014

Good but not great

I stayed for three nights here for the conference at K street. Location is great, and you can walk to K street or Mass Ave very easily. And, if you do not have any breakfast plan, just walk two minutes to get Starbucks. Room is spacious. But bathroom is not so new. Weakness of this hotel is reception. I do not blame the small size of the lobby, but a lack of friendly atmosphere there. I did not feel anything as four star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marco C.
Business
Italy
Dec 3, 2014

Great experience!!!

Great location nearby Circle DuPont metro station and walking distance from White House. Neighborhood is safe and quite with many restaurants and coffee shop for breakfast. Room was comfortable with nice furniture. The refrigerator was lightly noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Big Hunt pub

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BelindaB
Business
Tucson
Dec 1, 2014

Great Hotel at a Steal!

I stayed at the Topaz for three nights on a combined business/pleasure visit to DC. The hotel is very conveniently located equidistant from the Dupont Circle and Farragut metros (a 5-10 minute walk) and about the same from the circuit bus that goes to Georgetown. The room was spacious and very comfortable, and the staff helpful and knowledgeable. At the price, it was a terrific deal all around!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smkm
Business
Rochester, NY
Nov 30, 2014

Highly recommended

Great room, close to all the action, friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CRD1
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 23, 2014

super easy, friendly staff

Just a clean, fast, friendly experience. Exactly what one wants in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cindy Villalba
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 17, 2014

Room was unavailable

The room I had booked online was unavailable so the hotel put me in another room that was literally in their loading dock entrance. I had to call and file a complaint to customer service before they moved me to another room. I normally like these hotels, but this one fell short of it's name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J in DC
Business
DC
Sep 28, 2014

overnight stay

I always have a great experience at the topaz. Richie is very attentive and courteous. I love how this company caters to people travelling with their dog(s) and gives discounts for driving hybrid vehicles!! With their new rewards program, I'm not staying at any other hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miss Sparkle
Business
Virginia Beach
Sep 1, 2014

Kimpton did it again!

I booked the room on a whim after deciding to stay in DC longer than expected. I've stayed in other Kimpton Hotels, but hadn't heard of Topaz. It's an AMAZING hotel! The room was so spacious! Wonderful design, friendly staff and great location! I'll definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosebar was a great hangout & just a quick walk away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top