$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
View map of 1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sleek and Cheap
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 12, 2012

Really Awesome for Price

Overall, the hotel was clean, modern, and well-maintained. I loved the room and the view of the street below. The bed was comfortable, neat, and clean. Most of the staff members were incredibly friendly and professional. However, one of the gentlemen who brought the meal I ordered through room service was very quiet, stoic, and not particularly friendly. When I asked for an additional condiment, he never returned with it. In terms of transportation, the hotel is not particularly close to a metro station, though you could walk to it; but cab fair to most parts of the city is pretty inexpensive. Cabs are always available at the hotel entrance. But if you will be bothered by the sound of the doormen's cab whistles, ask for a room that is not directly over the entrance. I definitely would stay at this hotel again, especially for the discounted price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Chinatown area has great food and wonderful attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Genitori
Business
New Jersey
Mar 19, 2013

Comfortable Stay

Our stay was short and sweet but the Westin was a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A bit away from the heart of thimgs but only a short drive or a couple of Metro stops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Atc'r
Business
Delaware
Jun 23, 2013

Nice stay

Brendan was great & accommodating at check in & everything was great. The only problem was our safe was messed up & had to change rooms right after we checked in. Parking (valet) was expensive $49 but they're contracted & there's no way around it. Reggie & barry (I think) at the bar were awesome. Food was avg-good. Hotel was about 6 blocks from white house. Overall great stay. Would stay again. Love the dream bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the white house

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim F. R.
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 2, 2014

Great Downtown experience

My wife and I stayed on a Saturday night at the Westin. In a slightly nondescript area off Thomas Circle, stepping into the Westin is a great oasis. Lovely hotel, great beds, attractive furnishings, and a helpful staff. We even brought the dogs, and they were very welcomed. I'd come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In need of a vacation. . .
Business
New Jersey
Aug 12, 2010

Great Mom and Daughter Getaway

The hotel was great! Everyone was very friendly and attentive. The one thing that I noticed in the hallways and the room was there was very little natural light. The location of the hotel was ideal it is about 4 blocks from the White House! Overall, the hotel was not crazy glamerous, but was comfortable and perfect for what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to see as much of the city as possible in a short amount of time buy tickets for the open top, hop on hop off buses. Yes, touristy, but definitely worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Oct 13, 2010

Wonderful Location

We had a great experience. Everyone was very courteous and friendly. I would stay there again and definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 11, 2010

Westin in the DC summer

The time I spent at the Westin was very nice and the best part was that the rooms were able to get nice and cool. This was key as the temps outside were in the high 90's with commensurate humidity. The service was very nice and you're close to a number of good restaurants that you can travel to on foot. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a list of the really close restaurants from the concierge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hyattsville, MD
Jul 26, 2010

Amazin experience

We had a wonderful night, but there were hairs all over the bathroom floor that did not belong to us. The room was wonderful besides that and the staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Sep 19, 2010

Good Location, Overpriced Food

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip to DC. The location is great, even if it is a 10 minute walk to the Metro. However, it is a 10 minute cab to almost anywhere. The room was spotless and comfortable. The food at the restaurant was good but WAY overpriced. The staff was very helpful and was able to answer all of my questions. The hotel was clean, but the furniture and carpet in the lobby had some where and tear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 19, 2011

nice centrally located hotel

The location was really perfect--it was close to Union Station for my arrival and departure, within a 15min walk to a lot of the nightlife and restaurants and also the White House. The hotel itself wasn't extraordinary though I thought it was unique architecture how many of the interior rooms have a view of the lobby. The fitness center was small but clean with weights and cardio equipment. The staff was very professional, helpful, and accommodating: allowing early check-in, late check-in, and handled my requests efficiently. The hallways and rooms themselves are nothing special, but they were clean and comfortable. The elevator were running extremely slow and it seems one or two out of the four were out of service the two days I was there. I hope that gets fixed. Overall, a good value and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top