$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
View map of 1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin_CMD
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jul 19, 2010

Westin City Center

As expected with a Westin, the rooms were spotless and comfortable. The location of the hotel is not too great, though it is about 4 blocks from the White House. The hotel is in the business district and most restaurants are closed at nights and weekends. The worst thing about the hotel is the price of parking: $40 a day. The hotel only has valet parking, so if you have a car, you have to pay. I will not use this hotel again based solely on the price to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jan 19, 2011

DC

No complimentary breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 25, 2010

Westin Hotel not completely Westin

The [...] connection apparently earned me a room next to the elevator shaft, since they asked me to confirm that my reservation was made through [...] while they were deciding where to stash me. So I heard the elevator running all night. Room was nice, bed was really comfortable, bathroom was a bit dated. Doorman didn't look like a doorman, staff were um well unique, and it turned out to be an independently owned franchise. Expensive mediocrity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Jul 12, 2010

Not bad but could have been better.

Toured Washington DC and Mount Vernon. As you would except during the summer, it was a very busy place but still worth it. Only drawback was eating establishments were not near. However, taxi service is plentiful, as was the metro and bus service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Leave the driving to the taxis and buses.........they know all the routes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HiUCImOn
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Very Incosistant

wonderful building, very pretty, well designed, but AC in room could not cool the room. Some of the best staff, especially on the front desk, but also some of the worst. Very nice girl on front desk found out it was my wife's birthday and sent up a bottle of wine and two orders of strawberries and chocolate. On the other end, we wanted to sleep in, and house keeping kept coming back over and over. Also in the Restraunt, appetizers and soups mediocre, but main course was incredible. Could be one of the best hotels I've stayed in if they would get consistent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Divataya
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 30, 2014

Westin

Love this brand of hotels. I was disappointed in the DC location as it had no complimentary parking for its guests. You also have to pay for WiFi. For these reasons I would list this as a first choice for my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pradeep Sankar
Business
Orlando
Jul 28, 2014

Excellent location, staff should be more attentive

The hotel was comfortable and clean overall. However, when I asked the housekeeping to clean my room, they did not do so. When I called up the front desk to tell them about this, they were apologetic. On the whole my stay was good, the location and proximity to metro stations made it easy to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel PR
Business
Tennessee
Aug 14, 2014

Not so pleasant Business Trip

$17,000,000 renovation, but apparently connecting rooms were over-looked. Had a connecting room, but sounds from adjoining room were so loud and clear, it was as if the door wasn't closed at all. Day and night heard their television as loud as my own and heard their conversations clearly. Doors on connecting rooms badly need replacing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you desire to go to Starbucks or other light dining spot, you had better do it before 8:00pm. Everything around hotel closes early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gainesville, FL
Feb 8, 2010

Nice Downtown Hotel

This is very nice hotel in DC! It is within walking distance to all the major sites. The guestrooms are very clean, comfortable and stylish. The only negatives are: No pool, No self-parking, and not many rooms with city views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack Luck Sushi
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 21, 2014

Good Location

This hotel is in an ideal location for a walking tour of DC. The National Mall is about a mile away and there are many great restaurants in the same radius. The convention center is only half a mile east on M Street. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. For the price, location and service, I think this is top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Ben's Chili Bowl or Dukem on U St. (1 mile north)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top