$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
View map of 1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robert Shane
Business
Highland Park, IL
Mar 15, 2014

Overnight in DC Very cold Lobby

I was there on a very cold and windy day. The lobby was designed very poorly. Every time a door opened which is often in a busy hotel a blast of cold air came in. This made the lobby very cold as well as the lobby restaurant. That’s why they invented revolving doors and overhead door heaters. Nice place, nice people and a comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Augusta, GA
Sep 29, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Had a super maid who came and changed out my bedding because I was concerned (heard there are bedbug issues in DC hotels). Walking distance from just about anything you might want to see in downtown D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Busboys and Poets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 4, 2010

Westin DC

I wouldn't say that the staff was unfriendly but I don't think they were the most helpful either. My keycard was shut off even after I specifically mentioned I was extending my stay, etc. When I was checking in, rather than open another desk/counter, they kept it closed because it was reserved for "premium" members, even though the line was backing up and it was very late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muncie, IN
Sep 14, 2010

Decent location but nothing special

Could hear crying baby in neighboring room, thankfully it didn't cry too much. Could also hear elevators. Considering I was there for a conference, it was fine. Nice walking distance to the conference center and the mall. Decent amount of restaurants in the area. I'd recommend, but not highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Florida
Jul 13, 2009

Summer time visit

The welcome party was great when we first got there. Checked in fine. Went to the room and the door was wide open. Went to tell front desk, she gave us the room next door. Internet is not free! Unpacking noticed trash under the bed. The noisy staff always in the halls and dirty trash and glasses in the hallways the 3 days we were there. I would stay again but staff is no all that. dirty glasses in our room for 3 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A real Starbucks just around the corner also a CVS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rick, Chief cook and bottle washer
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Apr 26, 2009

Do Your Homework

Parking was outrageous (for guests). We parked on the street and fed the meter early AM. We assumed pool, shame on us, check if You need it. Initial room was small for our needs but when brought to the staff's attention they were outstanding and prompt in meeting our needs. Place is great and convienient to everything. 7.5 out of 10 for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The earlier the better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TrainerP
Business
New York
Mar 3, 2009

At least the room was nice

The front desk staff were not very friendly and not very knowledgable about their jobs. I was told in the morning I could book when I arrived at the hotel and they would match the Orbitz price. I wasn't sure if I was going to make it to DC that day so I didn't want to book it. When I got to the hotel they said they wouldn't match the Orbitz price and I would have to use their computer at a cost of $6.75 to book the reservation.  Once I did that I got my card keys and went to my room. Of course the keys didn't work so when I went back down to the front desk, the desk clerk wanted to call maintenance. I told him to just give me a new room, and he said, "Why didn't I think of that?" The room was very nice. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The female concierge was very helpful and showed me where to go. The White House and Mall were half a mile away. Unfortuantely, not too many great places to eat nearby. Plenty of CVS pharmacies. They're everywhere!  The next day I got a bill under my door. When I went to check out the front desk clerk, who acted as if she was doing me a big favor by talking to me, told me that I wouldn't be billed from them and Orbitz. Well, surprise I was! Big shocker. My credit card company is currently disputing the charge. The doorman was very helpful when I left and gave me very easy directions out of the city. They also hit you up for $40 to park your car. No overnight parking garages near by. Not worth taking your chance on the street.   Don't know if I'd stay there again. Didn't love the location, and really didn't love the front desk staff. 

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston ma
Oct 12, 2010

Westin hotel

Noisy due to rhin wall. Can hear neighbor talk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Mandochino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Train in Vain
Business
Brooklyn NY
Oct 11, 2010

Nice facility but disorganized

We came to Washington for a wedding. No rooms were clean at the afternoon checkin so we had to use a temporary room tp change for the wedding. Once the rooms were ready in two hours,our room type had been given away (two double beds) so we were given a king which is not what we had reserved. The room faced into the atrium on the first floor. No natural light is strange. The room was clean,quiet but not what we had reserved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great greenmarket at DuPont Circle on Sundays with incredible fruits and vegetables

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 1, 2010

Good location in central DC

Average hotel walking distance from metro station to access all of DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid DC traffic by taking subway to/from hotel, a short 4 block walk from station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top