$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
View map of 1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4832Linda
Business
North Carolina
Aug 9, 2010

Convenient and comfortable!

I read all the reviews and decided to go with the Westin for my son's "Big Adventure" in DC! The room was clean, comfortable, and convenient to the Metro and not too far from the White House. I loved the complimentary tea and coffee but was a bit surprised to be charged $3 for the bottled water in the room. I figured it was complimentary and should have read the paper that was attached to the bottle but that's what you get when you "assume". When I checked out the clerk did remove the charge from my bill so I was thankful for that! I didn't bring my computer but if you do be aware that you'll be charged for internet connection. I did not eat at the hotel or order room service so I can't comment on those. Overall I was extremely happy with my visit to DC and my stay at the Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Before your visit to DC make sure you get your tickets ahead of time. You can reserve your visit to many of the sites on line. If you decide to go to the Bureau of Printing and Engraving you'll stand in line to get the tickets for early tours but I noticed that even if you get in line by 9:00 there were still tickets for tours later in the day so plan your trip around that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Aug 24, 2010

Great Location & Lovely Room

The room was on the 4th floor, and featured a king bed, chaise, chair, a flat screen mounted TV, and an amazing bath with 2 heads in the shower. My wife and I want the bed and the shower at home! We stayed to visit D.C. for the weekend. The Westin was about 4 blocks of a walk from the Metro & just a 2 stop ride to the Museums & Memorials of the Mall. Food was a couple of blocks of a walk. Caribou Coffee was right on the corner. When we entered the room, a bulb was out and one of the chains to one of the 3 shades was on the floor. Immediately a gentleman came in for a repair. He changed the bulb, then called down to hotel staff when he realized the chain would take more than a few minutes to fix. We were offered an immediate room switch. The staff could not have done more to be accommodating. We chose to stay in the room, and it was wonderful & worth it. We are planning to head back soon for another weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Metro to the Mall. Great museums!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricd
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Westin Was Good

Good hotel, friendly helpful staff. Did not like charge for WiFi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC, NY
Nov 10, 2009

DC - okay

Overall the experience was great, wish it was a little cleaner then what we encountered for the price that we did pay. Also, lighting fixture was not working in the bathroom so that affected the stay as well. Other than that the room was great, bed was comfortable, staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sbcbonds
Business
Long Island
Aug 8, 2010

Great Hotel and Location

Great location, short walk to the White House and other sites. Plenty of places to eat within a short distance. Close to Georgetown U which we were there to tour. [...] ,the bartender at the lounge bar was great and very informative! Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great places within a very short distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricd
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Sep 8, 2011

The Westin Was Very Good

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Reported a slow drain on the tub and it was corrected very quickly. The room and bed were very comfortable. My only complaint was the charge for Wi-Fi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Petersburg FL
Aug 1, 2010

I was very pleased overall

I have stayed here before and it is a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole foods is nearby and many dining choices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 8, 2011

Good for business travelers

Nice enough gym, good business center, and workable Internet connection. Helpful staff. I recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Psych_doc
Business
fresno, Ca
Aug 8, 2011

Great Stay!

I stayed at the Westin in DC for the American Psychological Association conference. I have stayed at other Westin hotels but I was very impressed with the staff that took care of my care and always opened the door for me. Everytime I left the hotel they asked whether or not I needed directions to places I was going. Wonderful, friendly service was my experience. The hotel as usual was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car! The hotel charges you $40 a day to park at the hotel. This should be posted on the websites that advertiser this hotel. I was out $200 I want expecting to spend!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach VA
May 15, 2011

excellent location & friendly staff

my stay was almost homelike. the staff was very pleasant & showed extreme care about my comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top