$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
137 reviews
Washington Trip

Greeted at entering the building, great room, friendly people, and royal treatment. Truly a... See full review

  • Tracy1976
  • Jun 15, 2014
Weekend Pleasure Trip

Went to D.C. for the Cherry blossom festival. My stay at the Westin was wonderful. They had helpful... See full review

  • Kathy EHS
  • Apr 17, 2013
Located in the heart of our nation's capital, The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center is a vibrant hotel that captures the capital city's dynamic spirit. Our atrium lobby offers spectacular skylight views and our welcoming staff provide world-class service. Our 406 guest rooms and suites are designed with your comfort in mind. Sleep well in the Heavenly Bed and refresh in the Heavenly Bath. Ergonomic desk chairs and flat-screen TVs add a touch of aesthetic functionality. Every room also offers wireless High Speed Internet Access and 24-hour room service. Reenergize in the Westin WORKOUT Gym featuring a Stairmaster, LifeCycle, treadmill, and weights. Rejuvenate and relax with a cool drink and a light snack at Liquid 14 after exploring the nearby museums and monuments. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner in our comfortable 1400 North, An American Restaurant, overlooking the main lobby. Our central location makes it easy to enjoy our nation's capital and the world-renowned buildings and historical monuments found throughout the city. Here for business? The new Washington Convention Center is just five blocks to the east. Ready to see the nation's sights? The White House is just five blocks to the south. Looking for excitement? The city's vibrant nightlife comes alive after dark with an abundance of restaurants and entertainment options. Shops and nightclubs are just four blocks to the west on Connecticut Avenue. You'll appreciate our country's rich history when you visit some of the many cultural exhibits and memorials in the area, such as the Smithsonian Institute, the U.S. Capitol Building, the National Gallery of Art, and the Lincoln Memorial. Our location is served by two metro stations: McPherson Square on the Blue/Orange lines and Farragut North on the Red line. Three different sightseeing companies offer pickups at 10 times throughout each day for full day, half-day, evening, and trolley tours. Whatever brings you to town, The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center will be your oasis of calm and relaxation in our nation’s capital.

Hotel Map

38.9057 -77.0333
Nearby airports
Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 33.00, MI; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.00, MI; Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 6.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Children's activities
Indoor tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doorman
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (137)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ALB123
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Awesome

I love this hotel. The staff is super friendly. I was able to bring my dog and they even provided a doggie bed for her!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Sep 19, 2010

Good Location, Overpriced Food

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip to DC. The location is great, even if it is a 10 minute walk to the Metro. However, it is a 10 minute cab to almost anywhere. The room was spotless and comfortable. The food at the restaurant was good but WAY overpriced. The staff was very helpful and was able to answer all of my questions. The hotel was clean, but the furniture and carpet in the lobby had some where and tear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Sep 16, 2010

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

The hotel was close to all the attractions, we were able to walk everywhere. The hotel was close to restaurants, church and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeless
Sep 14, 2010

Great Location, Nice Hotel

A co-worker and I went to DC to site-see and since I stayed at the Westin in July I wanted to stay there again. The location was great. When we arrived at approximately 8:30 am the hotel allowed us to check in room 717. The room was in need of some attention. There were black marks on the wall, a hole in the carpet and a strange smell. I believe the area with the hole was missing the door stopper. I was disappointed because I knew they had nicer rooms. I called the front desk and complained. Later that evening we were given a nicer double room with more space on the 11th floor. The additional space made a difference in our stay. It was a joy coming to the room after a long day of site seeing. The hotel is within walking distance to the White House and the Metro. It's actually close to everything so you don't need a car. DC is a wonderful city to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muncie, IN
Sep 14, 2010

Decent location but nothing special

Could hear crying baby in neighboring room, thankfully it didn't cry too much. Could also hear elevators. Considering I was there for a conference, it was fine. Nice walking distance to the conference center and the mall. Decent amount of restaurants in the area. I'd recommend, but not highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
Sep 8, 2010

Great location, friendly staff

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Westin review
NJ
Sep 6, 2010

Westin review

Very good hotel, good location. But the parking was rip-off. The charged an overnight parking fee of $40. We could not park it ourselves due to some construction, which would have cost us about $18.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

NA

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelling dad with prego mom to be
NYC
Sep 5, 2010

great place to stay and great food!

Was impressed with overall look of hotel and staff was very helpful. Location is not that bad for the rate I got. I could be wrong but I think it was 7-8 blocks from white house. Defintely take the tour trolley worth every cent. The only drawback from this trip was that upon arrival the hotel gave me an awesome oversize king room which i reluctantly had to give up (and ask for another room which was just as nice but not as big) due to some unexpected emergency repair work going on next door which vibrated through the walls. But I recommend this hotel if you wanna visit D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 1, 2010

Good location in central DC

Average hotel walking distance from metro station to access all of DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid DC traffic by taking subway to/from hotel, a short 4 block walk from station.

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One time, one night
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 31, 2010

In Walking Distance

The entire building is non-smoking!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gisjes
Houston, Tx
Aug 29, 2010

Nice hotel great price

Bell boys should be more friendly with all the clients. No differences between walking people and limousine people. 3 1/2 streets walking distance from metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search