$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
View map of 1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ShamrocksnShenanigans
Friends
Washington D.C.
Dec 14, 2012

LOVED IT!

I booked this hotel just for a girls weekend. Its in the Thomas Circle/ Midtown area which is central to everything. We could walk down the street to either Logan Circle/ U street, 14th Street for night life/ Dupont Circle or Embassy Row. The Beds were s comfortable, i found it hard to get out of bed! I loved it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the hotel is 14th Street, where most of the happening clubs are in DC. or you could walk up the street to U street where alot of nightlife is as well GREAT PLACE!

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
icaff
Family
Knoxville, TN
Aug 10, 2010

Our stay in DC

Our stay at the Westin was enjoyable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The information provided was accurate and easy to follow. We especially appreciated the opportunity to receive a $5 gift card for making our own beds. One night there was a disturbance - loud voices and an argument - outside our room, but that was the only blip in an otherwise pleasant stay. The milk and cookies with a book was another plus, although we wondered why they were available only for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4832Linda
Family
North Carolina
Aug 9, 2010

Convenient and comfortable!

I read all the reviews and decided to go with the Westin for my son's "Big Adventure" in DC! The room was clean, comfortable, and convenient to the Metro and not too far from the White House. I loved the complimentary tea and coffee but was a bit surprised to be charged $3 for the bottled water in the room. I figured it was complimentary and should have read the paper that was attached to the bottle but that's what you get when you "assume". When I checked out the clerk did remove the charge from my bill so I was thankful for that! I didn't bring my computer but if you do be aware that you'll be charged for internet connection. I did not eat at the hotel or order room service so I can't comment on those. Overall I was extremely happy with my visit to DC and my stay at the Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Before your visit to DC make sure you get your tickets ahead of time. You can reserve your visit to many of the sites on line. If you decide to go to the Bureau of Printing and Engraving you'll stand in line to get the tickets for early tours but I noticed that even if you get in line by 9:00 there were still tickets for tours later in the day so plan your trip around that.

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Massachusetts
Aug 24, 2010

Great Location & Lovely Room

The room was on the 4th floor, and featured a king bed, chaise, chair, a flat screen mounted TV, and an amazing bath with 2 heads in the shower. My wife and I want the bed and the shower at home! We stayed to visit D.C. for the weekend. The Westin was about 4 blocks of a walk from the Metro & just a 2 stop ride to the Museums & Memorials of the Mall. Food was a couple of blocks of a walk. Caribou Coffee was right on the corner. When we entered the room, a bulb was out and one of the chains to one of the 3 shades was on the floor. Immediately a gentleman came in for a repair. He changed the bulb, then called down to hotel staff when he realized the chain would take more than a few minutes to fix. We were offered an immediate room switch. The staff could not have done more to be accommodating. We chose to stay in the room, and it was wonderful & worth it. We are planning to head back soon for another weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Metro to the Mall. Great museums!

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricd
Family
San Antonio, TX, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Westin Was Good

Good hotel, friendly helpful staff. Did not like charge for WiFi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NYC, NY
Nov 10, 2009

DC - okay

Overall the experience was great, wish it was a little cleaner then what we encountered for the price that we did pay. Also, lighting fixture was not working in the bathroom so that affected the stay as well. Other than that the room was great, bed was comfortable, staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sbcbonds
Family
Long Island
Aug 8, 2010

Great Hotel and Location

Great location, short walk to the White House and other sites. Plenty of places to eat within a short distance. Close to Georgetown U which we were there to tour. [...] ,the bartender at the lounge bar was great and very informative! Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great places within a very short distance

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricd
Family
San Antonio, TX, USA
Sep 8, 2011

The Westin Was Very Good

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Reported a slow drain on the tub and it was corrected very quickly. The room and bed were very comfortable. My only complaint was the charge for Wi-Fi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Petersburg FL
Aug 1, 2010

I was very pleased overall

I have stayed here before and it is a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole foods is nearby and many dining choices

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 8, 2011

Good for business travelers

Nice enough gym, good business center, and workable Internet connection. Helpful staff. I recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Psych_doc
Business
fresno, Ca
Aug 8, 2011

Great Stay!

I stayed at the Westin in DC for the American Psychological Association conference. I have stayed at other Westin hotels but I was very impressed with the staff that took care of my care and always opened the door for me. Everytime I left the hotel they asked whether or not I needed directions to places I was going. Wonderful, friendly service was my experience. The hotel as usual was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car! The hotel charges you $40 a day to park at the hotel. This should be posted on the websites that advertiser this hotel. I was out $200 I want expecting to spend!

Back to menu Return to top