$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2015 Check-out: Aug 15, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
View map of 1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ALB123
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Awesome

I love this hotel. The staff is super friendly. I was able to bring my dog and they even provided a doggie bed for her!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ocean Hunter
Business
St. Louis, MO
Dec 12, 2010

Christmas DC

Great hotel right in the middle of the city. Easy access to airport. Within minutes to all our activities. Nice soft bed that let me sleep like a baby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe & Carol
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Nov 28, 2010

Nice place

Very nice hotel, conveniently located. Parking is extra ($40/24 hr. period), but we found some parking on the street. The only downside is that, like the other hotel we stayed at in DC, the WiFi is not complimentary. Good price for DC, but really, you can't throw in the WiFi? They did comp one day's when I asked. (Note about dining, we didn't use it, so can't really address that)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYer #1
Business
New York City
Nov 27, 2010

Westin - DC City Center 11/25

Great front desk staff, very friendly upon arrival. The room was nice but the walls were paper thin. It was tough getting a good nights sleep hearing a baby cry on one side and a drunk guy yell on the other side. Great location but I don't know if I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kubba
Business
Fairfield,CT USA
Nov 24, 2010

very good

easy friendly check in;very nice functional rooms. excellent location (for business and tourism)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reston, VA
Nov 22, 2010

Not up to par

Westin's are normally very consistent. This visit not so. No shampoo or conditioner in the shower and worse, unexpected hairs from previous occupants in undesirable locations. Would love to believe the cleaning staff was having an off day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loads of good local neighborhood restaurants within blocks!

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, DE
Nov 12, 2010

Great stay at the Westin

I was very pleased with my stay at the Westin City Center. I was attending a seminar that was held at the JW Marriott on Pennsylvania Avenue, but didn't sign up in time to get a room at that hotel. I'm glad I didn't. The JW Marriott seemed way too "hustle-bustle". The Westin was a good location, and seemed a more intimate, friendly place. Everyone from the receptionist to the bell staff to the doormen to bartenders to the maids were extrordinarly friendly and helful. My room overlooked the atrium, two floors above the restaurant/lounge. Reading some of the reviews, I was afraid that this would be too loud. Not the case. The room was quiet and very comfortable and very clean. The hotel is a little further than walking distance from the National Mall attractions, but it was just a three block walk to the McPherson Square Metro stop. However, taxis were always available, and alot less expensive than what I am used to in major cities. The neighborhood was wonderful (safe - lots of restaurants, etc) and was withing easy walking distance of Dupont Circle. I would definately stay here again, and would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Always Traveling mom
Business
Bloomington, IL
Nov 11, 2010

Great Service

The service here was excellent. From the gentleman who checked us in and made sure we had cold bottles of water to the very patient women who answered the express service line. Everyone was so helpful and patient. What customer service should be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Fashion Center at Pentagon City was a great mall, although very busy.

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas, nv
Nov 1, 2010

Washington DC Westin

I was visiting friends in the DC area and sight-seeing. The customer service was great. The concierge had directions to every location we asked for. I wish the towels were softer. They were a bit crunchy and when we asked for extra towels and toiletries they were kinda stingy. Also, the overnight parking fee was ridiculously high at $40/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 20, 2010

Family vacation

My brother and I took our parents (85 yrs old) to see the museums, etc. The Westin City Center Washington D.C. was absolutely wonderful. The staff was helpful above and beyond any I have dealt with before. It was a very convenient location for public transportation which is the "norm" for D.C. and the staff gave us guidance on how to use it. There were numerous restaurants within walking distance and the staff gave us a list showing name, address, phone #, type of food, approx. costs and how many blocks it was from the hotel. The staff gave us free/discount tickets to some of the museums and told us which tour bus was the best (and it was). The food was very good, bell captain was terrific, housekeeping was very attentive and gift shop had a nice variety. 2 blocks away was a pharmacy if needed. Our trip couldn't have gone more smooth thanks to the staff at the Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Take a double decker bus, top open, sightseeing tour your first day. They let you get on and off as many times as you want as another bus will come by in approx. 20 minutes. Do the one with the 2-day pass for $35.00 and 30 stops. Gives a great over-view of the city and shows you places you might have missed had you gone on your own.

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Oct 18, 2010

Westin in name only

This hotel is a Westin in name only and doesn't come close to past Westin experiences I've had. The room was small and dark. Broken iron, promise of a refrigerator took 1 1/2 hours. Requested robe never showed up. Things were falling apart in the bathroom. Better value to be had at any number of alternate hotels. Don't bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top