$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2015 Check-out: Aug 15, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
View map of 1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ShamrocksnShenanigans
Washington D.C.
Dec 14, 2012

LOVED IT!

I booked this hotel just for a girls weekend. Its in the Thomas Circle/ Midtown area which is central to everything. We could walk down the street to either Logan Circle/ U street, 14th Street for night life/ Dupont Circle or Embassy Row. The Beds were s comfortable, i found it hard to get out of bed! I loved it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the hotel is 14th Street, where most of the happening clubs are in DC. or you could walk up the street to U street where alot of nightlife is as well GREAT PLACE!

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 19, 2011

nice centrally located hotel

The location was really perfect--it was close to Union Station for my arrival and departure, within a 15min walk to a lot of the nightlife and restaurants and also the White House. The hotel itself wasn't extraordinary though I thought it was unique architecture how many of the interior rooms have a view of the lobby. The fitness center was small but clean with weights and cardio equipment. The staff was very professional, helpful, and accommodating: allowing early check-in, late check-in, and handled my requests efficiently. The hallways and rooms themselves are nothing special, but they were clean and comfortable. The elevator were running extremely slow and it seems one or two out of the four were out of service the two days I was there. I hope that gets fixed. Overall, a good value and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City
Oct 18, 2010

The rooms are small for the price

The Hotel is close to the Mall but a little far from the subway stops

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 29, 2009

A bit too far from the Sightseeing

Saw all the usual sightseeing attractions there, recommend reserving free Washington Monument tickets before your trip and also for the US Capitol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the hop on hop off bus to get the most out of your time to see the sights.

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 28, 2010

Location, location, location

Great experience. Within walking distance to most local attractions. Downside was there was no free w-fi, even in common areas (business center, lobby, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester, New York
Aug 14, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

We had an idea that we would see some of the attractions, but didn't have an itinerary planned. The staff was accommodating, and helpful. It was a nice gesture when the desk called me by my name. Our stay was quiet, and restful, although the staff started vacuuming in the hall near my room rather early Sunday morning (around eight). And when my laptop alerted me to the presence of WIFI, I noted that it was not free, and the ethernet connection did not appear to be working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Sep 21, 2009

Good Location

It was a great location downtown. It would have been nice to have a spa available, however, it was a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kermit Dog
Business
Pasco, Wa.
Jun 8, 2009

Very well organized

Hotel personnel were very helpful and friendly, they guided us to the public transportation to go visit our nations history.Only thing missing was more time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati,Oh
Aug 4, 2009

Way a great way to spend the weekend!

Walked over over DC from this point - could catch the M from there, or walk to museums. Great restaurant selection close as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Sep 28, 2010

Good hotel, but a bit pricey

The hotel stay was good. We enjoyed the quiet and peaceful atmosphere, despite the busy location of the hotel. The hotel is a bit expensive, but I guess you have to pay for the prime location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Great tapas restaurant in China Town, La Tasca.

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
May 8, 2010

Great value for great location

We were attending a graduation and the location was perfect. Service was very good and the breakfast buffet was very good. Really the only negative comments are the price of hotel parking and we also requested 2 doubles in each room and we were not told they might not be available. Another guest checking in switched with us so we would have at least one room with two beds. This arrangement was really important and it is still something many hotels still seem to struggle to understand. We made it work. We would absolutely stay there again, but find another place to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We had a early start and both the continental and full breakfast buffet was excellent. It made our morning run very smoothly especially traveling with my 80 year old mother.

Back to menu Return to top