$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
View map of 1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spenser
Business
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Oct 4, 2011

The Westin DC City Center

The Westin rooms are elegantly appointed, well provided with everything necessary, including wireless internet access (for a fee). The location is within easy reach, by foot or metro, of all the important downtown tourists sites, and the neighborhood is rich in restaurants, cafes, and outlets for quick, low-priced eat-in and take-out fare. The staff, as my rating notes, is perfectly cheerful, helpful, and polite. Although the price to stay there is not low, it's also competitive in a very high-priced town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter1000
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 4, 2011

DC Business Trip

Nice staff, great location. Spacious room for DC hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 19, 2011

nice centrally located hotel

The location was really perfect--it was close to Union Station for my arrival and departure, within a 15min walk to a lot of the nightlife and restaurants and also the White House. The hotel itself wasn't extraordinary though I thought it was unique architecture how many of the interior rooms have a view of the lobby. The fitness center was small but clean with weights and cardio equipment. The staff was very professional, helpful, and accommodating: allowing early check-in, late check-in, and handled my requests efficiently. The hallways and rooms themselves are nothing special, but they were clean and comfortable. The elevator were running extremely slow and it seems one or two out of the four were out of service the two days I was there. I hope that gets fixed. Overall, a good value and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricd
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Westin Was Good

Good hotel, friendly helpful staff. Did not like charge for WiFi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricd
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Sep 8, 2011

The Westin Was Very Good

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Reported a slow drain on the tub and it was corrected very quickly. The room and bed were very comfortable. My only complaint was the charge for Wi-Fi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HiUCImOn
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Very Incosistant

wonderful building, very pretty, well designed, but AC in room could not cool the room. Some of the best staff, especially on the front desk, but also some of the worst. Very nice girl on front desk found out it was my wife's birthday and sent up a bottle of wine and two orders of strawberries and chocolate. On the other end, we wanted to sleep in, and house keeping kept coming back over and over. Also in the Restraunt, appetizers and soups mediocre, but main course was incredible. Could be one of the best hotels I've stayed in if they would get consistent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sidelines Observant
Business
Virginia
Aug 26, 2011

Good Business Hotel

Given the fact that I made these reservations at the last moment and the room assigned to me was quite clearly one of the rooms held for “emergencies” the facility was quite adequate. The room had the air of not having been occupied – air conditioner not working properly, dust on surfaces and the bath not quite clean (mold on the soap shelves and someone else’s hair in the tub.) However, the staff was quite nice, the location very good and adequate for its purpose. The Starwood Group does need to start paying attention to the properties carrying the Westin name. They are charging a premium for rooms not up to the high standards of the Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you can, make reservations at Kinkead's Restaurant. Finest dining in DC!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Psych_doc
Business
fresno, Ca
Aug 8, 2011

Great Stay!

I stayed at the Westin in DC for the American Psychological Association conference. I have stayed at other Westin hotels but I was very impressed with the staff that took care of my care and always opened the door for me. Everytime I left the hotel they asked whether or not I needed directions to places I was going. Wonderful, friendly service was my experience. The hotel as usual was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car! The hotel charges you $40 a day to park at the hotel. This should be posted on the websites that advertiser this hotel. I was out $200 I want expecting to spend!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 22, 2011

Fine for my business trip

Hotel was clean, love the non-smoking - "the Westin scent" was like a spa everywhere. Decent location, but staff was not overly helpful with recommendations for area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln is just around the corner - a cool new happening hot spot great for dining alone at the bar - a small plate menu with something creative for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jul 6, 2011

Great rate and nice hotel!

The hotel is very nice and is within walking distance to the White House. There are restaurants around, so you can go without a car. i would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top