$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 1, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
141 reviews
Business trip/meeting on site

The staff at the DC Westin are all so friendly and courteous. The room was very clean, the bed... See full review

  • KayD
  • Jan 28, 2015
Very nice business hotel

Excellent location for my business trip. Professional, courteous staff. Room was very nice, bed was... See full review

  • Tired Traveler 2
  • Jan 28, 2015
Modern rooms in D.C.’s business district with 24-hour fitness center

The Westin Washington, D.C., City Center is centrally located in D.C.'s business district and within walking distance to Dupont Circle and the White House. The large hotel appeals to business and leisure travelers. It is covered with skylights and features the modern, sleek decor and furnishings. Guests can make an appointment for an in-room massage (fees apply) or release extra energy at the 24-hour fitness room. The hotel rooms have the Heavenly beds by Simmons in every room.

Highlights
  • Heavenly beds, cribs, rollaways, baths, and dog beds available
  • Centrally located in the business district, near Dupont Circle and the White House
  • 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Expect modern furniture, sleek lines and neutral colors in rooms and public spaces. Rooms include double-double rooms, king rooms, king rooms with chaise lounge and suites. The hotel has Heavenly beds and baths with make-up mirror in every room. Heavenly Cribs are available for the little tykes, upon request. Large desks are accompanied by ergonomic chairs. Wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Features

The Westin WORKOUT Gym has cardio equipment and weights. Guests looking for relaxation can schedule in-room massage treatments. Guests with small children can request a jogging stroller, a Heavenly crib, or babysitting service. Stop by the hotel's lounge, Liquid 14, for a glass of wine before dinner, or stay in for the night and dine at 1400 North, an American restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is available wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply). Sightseeing companies offer pickups at 10 times throughout each day for tours.

Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.9 mi/ 6.2 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/ 37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 43 km)
Attractions
  • White House (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Georgetown (1.4 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • The National Zoo (2 mi/ 3.2 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Audio/visual services available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 25, 2010

Westin Hotel not completely Westin

The [...] connection apparently earned me a room next to the elevator shaft, since they asked me to confirm that my reservation was made through [...] while they were deciding where to stash me. So I heard the elevator running all night. Room was nice, bed was really comfortable, bathroom was a bit dated. Doorman didn't look like a doorman, staff were um well unique, and it turned out to be an independently owned franchise. Expensive mediocrity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Jul 12, 2010

Not bad but could have been better.

Toured Washington DC and Mount Vernon. As you would except during the summer, it was a very busy place but still worth it. Only drawback was eating establishments were not near. However, taxi service is plentiful, as was the metro and bus service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Leave the driving to the taxis and buses.........they know all the routes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HiUCImOn
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Very Incosistant

wonderful building, very pretty, well designed, but AC in room could not cool the room. Some of the best staff, especially on the front desk, but also some of the worst. Very nice girl on front desk found out it was my wife's birthday and sent up a bottle of wine and two orders of strawberries and chocolate. On the other end, we wanted to sleep in, and house keeping kept coming back over and over. Also in the Restraunt, appetizers and soups mediocre, but main course was incredible. Could be one of the best hotels I've stayed in if they would get consistent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Divataya
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 30, 2014

Westin

Love this brand of hotels. I was disappointed in the DC location as it had no complimentary parking for its guests. You also have to pay for WiFi. For these reasons I would list this as a first choice for my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pradeep Sankar
Business
Orlando
Jul 28, 2014

Excellent location, staff should be more attentive

The hotel was comfortable and clean overall. However, when I asked the housekeeping to clean my room, they did not do so. When I called up the front desk to tell them about this, they were apologetic. On the whole my stay was good, the location and proximity to metro stations made it easy to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel PR
Business
Tennessee
Aug 14, 2014

Not so pleasant Business Trip

$17,000,000 renovation, but apparently connecting rooms were over-looked. Had a connecting room, but sounds from adjoining room were so loud and clear, it was as if the door wasn't closed at all. Day and night heard their television as loud as my own and heard their conversations clearly. Doors on connecting rooms badly need replacing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you desire to go to Starbucks or other light dining spot, you had better do it before 8:00pm. Everything around hotel closes early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler in training
Business
New York
May 4, 2009

Beautiful and relaxing!

The staff was very helpful from taking our bags out of the car to the room...to helping us find the perfect restaurant to dine at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Back
Business
ATL
Nov 8, 2009

Upscale hotel for great price

Nice clean hotel with a european urban flair

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gisjes
Business
Houston, Tx
Aug 29, 2010

Nice hotel great price

Bell boys should be more friendly with all the clients. No differences between walking people and limousine people. 3 1/2 streets walking distance from metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeless
Sep 14, 2010

Great Location, Nice Hotel

A co-worker and I went to DC to site-see and since I stayed at the Westin in July I wanted to stay there again. The location was great. When we arrived at approximately 8:30 am the hotel allowed us to check in room 717. The room was in need of some attention. There were black marks on the wall, a hole in the carpet and a strange smell. I believe the area with the hole was missing the door stopper. I was disappointed because I knew they had nicer rooms. I called the front desk and complained. Later that evening we were given a nicer double room with more space on the 11th floor. The additional space made a difference in our stay. It was a joy coming to the room after a long day of site seeing. The hotel is within walking distance to the White House and the Metro. It's actually close to everything so you don't need a car. DC is a wonderful city to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top