$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
140 reviews
First Class - highly recommend

Check in was easy. I needed additional information regarding a meeting location and it was provided... See full review

  • Arizona Business Traveler
  • Oct 22, 2014
Washington Trip

Greeted at entering the building, great room, friendly people, and royal treatment. Truly a... See full review

  • Tracy1976
  • Jun 15, 2014
Modern rooms in D.C.’s business district with 24-hour fitness center

The Westin Washington, D.C., City Center is centrally located in D.C.'s business district and within walking distance to Dupont Circle and the White House. The large hotel appeals to business and leisure travelers. It is covered with skylights and features the modern, sleek decor and furnishings. Guests can make an appointment for an in-room massage (fees apply) or release extra energy at the 24-hour fitness room. The hotel rooms have the Heavenly beds by Simmons in every room.

Highlights
  • Heavenly beds, cribs, rollaways, baths, and dog beds available
  • Centrally located in the business district, near Dupont Circle and the White House
  • 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Expect modern furniture, sleek lines and neutral colors in rooms and public spaces. Rooms include double-double rooms, king rooms, king rooms with chaise lounge and suites. The hotel has Heavenly beds and baths with make-up mirror in every room. Heavenly Cribs are available for the little tykes, upon request. Large desks are accompanied by ergonomic chairs. Wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Features

The Westin WORKOUT Gym has cardio equipment and weights. Guests looking for relaxation can schedule in-room massage treatments. Guests with small children can request a jogging stroller, a Heavenly crib, or babysitting service. Stop by the hotel's lounge, Liquid 14, for a glass of wine before dinner, or stay in for the night and dine at 1400 North, an American restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is available wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply). Sightseeing companies offer pickups at 10 times throughout each day for tours.

Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.9 mi/ 6.2 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/ 37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 43 km)
Attractions
  • White House (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Georgetown (1.4 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • The National Zoo (2 mi/ 3.2 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Audio/visual services available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 25, 2007

under constuction

Suite was found to be poorly furnished and incomplete for occupancy. Probably upgraded and complete after departure and for TV, PC, and lighting. Plumbing was not turned on. Prior guests beverage glasses and dishes remained on balcony the entire stay. Doorbell inoperative and news delivery attempted by forced entry and than not at all. Room bar was warm temperature containing prior occupancy take home. No room refridgerator. The hotel kitchen was not completed with no room service and buffet only available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 22, 2009

Disconnected.

The hotel is very nice and in an OK location. We struggled a bit finding places to eat and things to do after dark, but if you're up for a walk (which we were) you can stroll to the monuments and such... My only complaint is the lack of free wifi for guests. There is wifi available, of course, for a substantial fee and even that was "down" during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MsThang79
Business
The E in PA
Aug 6, 2010

It could have been better....

The location of the hotel was great. But hotel parking was expensive, and I'm comparing this to parking in Manhattan for the same number of days. So at this hotel location you'll be better off parking on the street and keeping up with the meters every couple hours (Sundays are free), even if you get a parking ticket you'll come out cheaper than parking at the Westin. There aren't many, if any, other public parking locations surrounding the hotel, so you have to take your pick between the two. Housekeeping....horrible, horrible, horrible. You might as well say we paid the Westin to let us sleep in a bed downtown. Because if we wouldn't have complained (4 times!) we pretty much would have had to service our own room. The front desk service was nice, very pleasant people. The food there is good, expensive, but convenient espcecially for breakfast. The service at the bar was really, really great! Cool bartenders and nice laid back atmosphere. But there are tons of places within walking distance (and even having the 24 hr CVS right around the corner is really convenient for the things you forgot to pack). Sights and entertainment are really close so walking and taking cabs is recommended. I doubt we would ever stay there again if we were ever in DC again, especially with so many other hotels in the vicinity, so I'd have to say only if we got a good deal. (Especially since I just found an unauthorized charge on my credit card from the Westin....)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 22, 2011

Fine for my business trip

Hotel was clean, love the non-smoking - "the Westin scent" was like a spa everywhere. Decent location, but staff was not overly helpful with recommendations for area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln is just around the corner - a cool new happening hot spot great for dining alone at the bar - a small plate menu with something creative for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sidelines Observant
Business
Virginia
Aug 26, 2011

Good Business Hotel

Given the fact that I made these reservations at the last moment and the room assigned to me was quite clearly one of the rooms held for “emergencies” the facility was quite adequate. The room had the air of not having been occupied – air conditioner not working properly, dust on surfaces and the bath not quite clean (mold on the soap shelves and someone else’s hair in the tub.) However, the staff was quite nice, the location very good and adequate for its purpose. The Starwood Group does need to start paying attention to the properties carrying the Westin name. They are charging a premium for rooms not up to the high standards of the Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you can, make reservations at Kinkead's Restaurant. Finest dining in DC!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas, nv
Nov 1, 2010

Washington DC Westin

I was visiting friends in the DC area and sight-seeing. The customer service was great. The concierge had directions to every location we asked for. I wish the towels were softer. They were a bit crunchy and when we asked for extra towels and toiletries they were kinda stingy. Also, the overnight parking fee was ridiculously high at $40/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Aug 22, 2010

Nice Facility, Mediocre Service

We chose the hotel based on location...desired to be near musuems, monuments, etc. The location worked well and facility/room itself was nice, but service was lacking. Our first night we returned to the hotel late and found the garage was full so we were directed to a garage around the corner. This was frustrating but it was compounded by the fact that when we were later told we could have parked on the street overnight for free. Just one example. The concierge was also not very helpful...provided a phone number for a shuttle rather than offering to book for us. Maybe I'm too picky but we've stayed a lot of places and the staff/service here could have been more customer focused.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 19, 2009

DC Pride Weekend

hotel was decent. parking the car at the valet took over an hour and ended up having myself go down with the valet and get it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin_CMD
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jul 19, 2010

Westin City Center

As expected with a Westin, the rooms were spotless and comfortable. The location of the hotel is not too great, though it is about 4 blocks from the White House. The hotel is in the business district and most restaurants are closed at nights and weekends. The worst thing about the hotel is the price of parking: $40 a day. The hotel only has valet parking, so if you have a car, you have to pay. I will not use this hotel again based solely on the price to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jan 19, 2011

DC

No complimentary breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top