$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
136 reviews
Washington Trip

Greeted at entering the building, great room, friendly people, and royal treatment. Truly a... See full review

  • Tracy1976
  • Jun 15, 2014
Weekend Pleasure Trip

Went to D.C. for the Cherry blossom festival. My stay at the Westin was wonderful. They had helpful... See full review

  • Kathy EHS
  • Apr 17, 2013
Modern rooms in D.C.’s business district with 24-hour fitness center

The Westin Washington, D.C., City Center is centrally located in D.C.'s business district and within walking distance to Dupont Circle and the White House. The large hotel appeals to business and leisure travelers. It is covered with skylights and features the modern, sleek decor and furnishings. Guests can make an appointment for an in-room massage (fees apply) or release extra energy at the 24-hour fitness room. The hotel rooms have the Heavenly beds by Simmons in every room.

Highlights
  • Heavenly beds, cribs, rollaways, baths, and dog beds available
  • Centrally located in the business district, near Dupont Circle and the White House
  • 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Expect modern furniture, sleek lines and neutral colors in rooms and public spaces. Rooms include double-double rooms, king rooms, king rooms with chaise lounge and suites. The hotel has Heavenly beds and baths with make-up mirror in every room. Heavenly Cribs are available for the little tykes, upon request. Large desks are accompanied by ergonomic chairs. Wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Features

The Westin WORKOUT Gym has cardio equipment and weights. Guests looking for relaxation can schedule in-room massage treatments. Guests with small children can request a jogging stroller, a Heavenly crib, or babysitting service. Stop by the hotel's lounge, Liquid 14, for a glass of wine before dinner, or stay in for the night and dine at 1400 North, an American restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is available wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply). Sightseeing companies offer pickups at 10 times throughout each day for tours.

Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.9 mi/ 6.2 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/ 37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 43 km)
Attractions
  • White House (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Georgetown (1.4 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • The National Zoo (2 mi/ 3.2 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Audio/visual services available

Hotel Map

38.9057 -77.0333
Nearby airports
Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 33.00, MI; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.00, MI; Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 6.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Children's activities
Indoor tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doorman
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (136)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa10468
Bronx, NY, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Great Trip!

My experience at the Westin City Center was great. It made my DC experience wonderful. Great location, perfect weather and friendly staff, I would definately stay at the Westin again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
N. ROD
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 26, 2012

A weekend in DC

There are many hotels to choose from in DC however I was looking for a deal. This hotel was close to the metro and walking distance from the White House. It was also affordable; not the cheapest but worth what I paid. My room overlooked lobby which wasn't too bad. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would recommend yours as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger forever
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 24, 2012

Great Value!

Extremely well located Hotel with nice rooms. Some of them can be a little dark if they are on lower floors or if they look inside. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A. Veras
New York, NY
Sep 24, 2012

Awful customer service

When we arrived to the hotel, we wanted to take a tour as soon as possible. After waiting patiently for about 20 minutes for the concierge (she was engaged in providing extensive information to another guests), it was our turn. She informed us that a tour was leaving in 7 minutes. My daughter wanted to go to our room first to drop our bags. The concierge asked a front desk employee to ask the tour bus driver to hold the bus for two minutes. He did not and when she asked him why he did not do it, he simply said: "I could not see the bus from here." He never followed her instructions and just stayed inside the lobby. We missed the bus. Then, the concierge called the bus company to ask them to return. I appreciate her gesture, but she never told us that the bus would come back in one hour, not in a few minutes. So we waited outside for nothing. Finally, we had to take a taxi to visit one of the museums we wanted to explore. When we came back on the evening, we heard a loud music. After opening the curtains, we realized that our room was located right in front of the bar. When we called to ask until what time that music was on, they said until midnight. We requested a room change. We were transferred to another room, but some loud noise (like a air conditioner compressor) came from outside. Again, we requested another room. Sunday morning, we asked where was the restaurant and instead of being directed to their restaurant, they sent us to a small deli one block away from the hotel. The charges for the tour were not reimbursed immediately since we did not take the tour. We were informed that it will take 5 business days. Outrageous! We will never come back to that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ALB123
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Awesome

I love this hotel. The staff is super friendly. I was able to bring my dog and they even provided a doggie bed for her!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DCExpat
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Not bad ... could've been better

I give this hotel an A+ for the location and the friendliness and helpfulness of its staff. The beds are very comfortable. And the noise level in the room was pretty low. My only complaint is that the mini-fridge did not work at all. What's the use of having it there if it's not ready and in good working order for its guests?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good restaurants and sights within walking distance.

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa10468
Bronx, NY, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Great Trip!

My experience at the Westin City Center was great. It made my DC experience wonderful. Great location, perfect weather and friendly staff, I would definately stay at the Westin again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NFLAChick
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Feb 8, 2012

Westin City Center, DC-Business Travel

This hotel was terrific. The staff was nice and checked me in quickly. Food in the restaurant was terrific and priced the same as most restaurants in the area. Location, location, location was perfect for me. Walked to all my meetings. Last morning a false fire alarm rang, and upon return to my room after using the excellent gym, a hand written note explaining the issue with apology was in my room. The note also had an invitation for a free breakfast buffet. Very nice touch! Love the Westin brand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Georgia Brown's. Soul southern food!

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
army rooter
New York, USA
Dec 13, 2011

very accommadating

The staff were excellent, could not do enough for us. Got us dinner Res.on short notice. Bar very friendly but closed early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bazidl
New York
Nov 7, 2011

wonderful stay

Staff was courteous and friendly. Room was clean when we arrived but housekeeping didn't' show up until 4pm the next day and we turned them away because the kids were sleeping. I personally don't need my room cleaned everyday but some people look forward to that. Overall great experience at the Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If your site seeing the hotel is within walking distance of the white house but pretty far from everything else (30 mins). Hop on the metro to get to the Capital hill area.

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bizmama
Business
Fairfield, CT, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Good business stay location

Reception desk staff needs to be better trained, very helpful concierge service, good, clean rooms. BUT not very good value for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Good place for Business traveler, and yet, not a bang for the buck

Back to menu Return to top

Change search