$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 8, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
View map of 1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
144 reviews
Very good business hotel

Courteous and professional staff. Nice room with a great bed very comfortable. Good location for DC... See full review

  • Tired Traveler 2
  • Feb 4, 2015
Business trip/meeting on site

The staff at the DC Westin are all so friendly and courteous. The room was very clean, the bed... See full review

  • KayD
  • Jan 28, 2015
Located in the heart of our nation's capital, The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center is a vibrant hotel that captures the capital city's dynamic spirit. Our atrium lobby offers spectacular skylight views and our welcoming staff provide world-class service. Our 406 guest rooms and suites are designed with your comfort in mind. Sleep well in the Heavenly Bed and refresh in the Heavenly Bath. Ergonomic desk chairs and flat-screen TVs add a touch of aesthetic functionality. Every room also offers wireless High Speed Internet Access and 24-hour room service. Reenergize in the Westin WORKOUT Gym featuring a Stairmaster, LifeCycle, treadmill, and weights. Rejuvenate and relax with a cool drink and a light snack at Liquid 14 after exploring the nearby museums and monuments. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner in our comfortable 1400 North, An American Restaurant, overlooking the main lobby. Our central location makes it easy to enjoy our nation's capital and the world-renowned buildings and historical monuments found throughout the city. Here for business? The new Washington Convention Center is just five blocks to the east. Ready to see the nation's sights? The White House is just five blocks to the south. Looking for excitement? The city's vibrant nightlife comes alive after dark with an abundance of restaurants and entertainment options. Shops and nightclubs are just four blocks to the west on Connecticut Avenue. You'll appreciate our country's rich history when you visit some of the many cultural exhibits and memorials in the area, such as the Smithsonian Institute, the U.S. Capitol Building, the National Gallery of Art, and the Lincoln Memorial. Our location is served by two metro stations: McPherson Square on the Blue/Orange lines and Farragut North on the Red line. Three different sightseeing companies offer pickups at 10 times throughout each day for full day, half-day, evening, and trolley tours. Whatever brings you to town, The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center will be your oasis of calm and relaxation in our nation’s capital.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pradeep Sankar
Business
Orlando
Jul 28, 2014

Excellent location, staff should be more attentive

The hotel was comfortable and clean overall. However, when I asked the housekeeping to clean my room, they did not do so. When I called up the front desk to tell them about this, they were apologetic. On the whole my stay was good, the location and proximity to metro stations made it easy to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaytee G
Business
NY
Jul 9, 2014

Weekend in DC

Friendly staff, extremely comfortable accomadations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Divataya
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 30, 2014

Westin

Love this brand of hotels. I was disappointed in the DC location as it had no complimentary parking for its guests. You also have to pay for WiFi. For these reasons I would list this as a first choice for my next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redmajk
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 23, 2014

Wonderful beds, linen, pillows, and location

We were there for a weekend of relaxation with family living in DC, and will return to enjoy the beds and location. The interior of the hotel is very pleasing to the eye. We had dinner at the Mussel Bar on Connecticut Ave. NW, which was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tracy1976
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Jun 15, 2014

Washington Trip

Greeted at entering the building, great room, friendly people, and royal treatment. Truly a wonderful experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim F. R.
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 2, 2014

Great Downtown experience

My wife and I stayed on a Saturday night at the Westin. In a slightly nondescript area off Thomas Circle, stepping into the Westin is a great oasis. Lovely hotel, great beds, attractive furnishings, and a helpful staff. We even brought the dogs, and they were very welcomed. I'd come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Camelio Hernandez
Business
Boston, MA
May 18, 2014

Serviceable

Great location, great staff, comfy and clean! wasn't done any favors price-wise, but nothing bad to say about any part of the experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack Luck Sushi
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 21, 2014

Good Location

This hotel is in an ideal location for a walking tour of DC. The National Mall is about a mile away and there are many great restaurants in the same radius. The convention center is only half a mile east on M Street. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. For the price, location and service, I think this is top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Ben's Chili Bowl or Dukem on U St. (1 mile north)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robert Shane
Business
Highland Park, IL
Mar 15, 2014

Overnight in DC Very cold Lobby

I was there on a very cold and windy day. The lobby was designed very poorly. Every time a door opened which is often in a busy hotel a blast of cold air came in. This made the lobby very cold as well as the lobby restaurant. That’s why they invented revolving doors and overhead door heaters. Nice place, nice people and a comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Atc'r
Business
Delaware
Jun 23, 2013

Nice stay

Brendan was great & accommodating at check in & everything was great. The only problem was our safe was messed up & had to change rooms right after we checked in. Parking (valet) was expensive $49 but they're contracted & there's no way around it. Reggie & barry (I think) at the bar were awesome. Food was avg-good. Hotel was about 6 blocks from white house. Overall great stay. Would stay again. Love the dream bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the white house

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top