$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
View map of 1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 16, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel bath products are exceptional. Room Service was good as was the food. Designated smoking area that other hotels do not provide. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Hotel provides excellent map of attractions, Metro, and streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester, New York
Aug 14, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

We had an idea that we would see some of the attractions, but didn't have an itinerary planned. The staff was accommodating, and helpful. It was a nice gesture when the desk called me by my name. Our stay was quiet, and restful, although the staff started vacuuming in the hall near my room rather early Sunday morning (around eight). And when my laptop alerted me to the presence of WIFI, I noted that it was not free, and the ethernet connection did not appear to be working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
china
Aug 14, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In need of a vacation. . .
Business
New Jersey
Aug 12, 2010

Great Mom and Daughter Getaway

The hotel was great! Everyone was very friendly and attentive. The one thing that I noticed in the hallways and the room was there was very little natural light. The location of the hotel was ideal it is about 4 blocks from the White House! Overall, the hotel was not crazy glamerous, but was comfortable and perfect for what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to see as much of the city as possible in a short amount of time buy tickets for the open top, hop on hop off buses. Yes, touristy, but definitely worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
icaff
Business
Knoxville, TN
Aug 10, 2010

Our stay in DC

Our stay at the Westin was enjoyable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The information provided was accurate and easy to follow. We especially appreciated the opportunity to receive a $5 gift card for making our own beds. One night there was a disturbance - loud voices and an argument - outside our room, but that was the only blip in an otherwise pleasant stay. The milk and cookies with a book was another plus, although we wondered why they were available only for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4832Linda
Business
North Carolina
Aug 9, 2010

Convenient and comfortable!

I read all the reviews and decided to go with the Westin for my son's "Big Adventure" in DC! The room was clean, comfortable, and convenient to the Metro and not too far from the White House. I loved the complimentary tea and coffee but was a bit surprised to be charged $3 for the bottled water in the room. I figured it was complimentary and should have read the paper that was attached to the bottle but that's what you get when you "assume". When I checked out the clerk did remove the charge from my bill so I was thankful for that! I didn't bring my computer but if you do be aware that you'll be charged for internet connection. I did not eat at the hotel or order room service so I can't comment on those. Overall I was extremely happy with my visit to DC and my stay at the Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Before your visit to DC make sure you get your tickets ahead of time. You can reserve your visit to many of the sites on line. If you decide to go to the Bureau of Printing and Engraving you'll stand in line to get the tickets for early tours but I noticed that even if you get in line by 9:00 there were still tickets for tours later in the day so plan your trip around that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sbcbonds
Business
Long Island
Aug 8, 2010

Great Hotel and Location

Great location, short walk to the White House and other sites. Plenty of places to eat within a short distance. Close to Georgetown U which we were there to tour. [...] ,the bartender at the lounge bar was great and very informative! Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great places within a very short distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BSG, Va
Aug 7, 2010

First time in DC

we were close to the metro,close to expensive and inexpensive places to eat, night tours stopped at our hotel, cvs drugstore around the corner for some quick snacks or medicine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MsThang79
Business
The E in PA
Aug 6, 2010

It could have been better....

The location of the hotel was great. But hotel parking was expensive, and I'm comparing this to parking in Manhattan for the same number of days. So at this hotel location you'll be better off parking on the street and keeping up with the meters every couple hours (Sundays are free), even if you get a parking ticket you'll come out cheaper than parking at the Westin. There aren't many, if any, other public parking locations surrounding the hotel, so you have to take your pick between the two. Housekeeping....horrible, horrible, horrible. You might as well say we paid the Westin to let us sleep in a bed downtown. Because if we wouldn't have complained (4 times!) we pretty much would have had to service our own room. The front desk service was nice, very pleasant people. The food there is good, expensive, but convenient espcecially for breakfast. The service at the bar was really, really great! Cool bartenders and nice laid back atmosphere. But there are tons of places within walking distance (and even having the 24 hr CVS right around the corner is really convenient for the things you forgot to pack). Sights and entertainment are really close so walking and taking cabs is recommended. I doubt we would ever stay there again if we were ever in DC again, especially with so many other hotels in the vicinity, so I'd have to say only if we got a good deal. (Especially since I just found an unauthorized charge on my credit card from the Westin....)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
brooklyn, ny
Aug 3, 2010

Excellent, first class all the way

it was better then any resort i've stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the food was heavenly just like there bed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top