$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
View map of 1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Aug 24, 2010

Great Location & Lovely Room

The room was on the 4th floor, and featured a king bed, chaise, chair, a flat screen mounted TV, and an amazing bath with 2 heads in the shower. My wife and I want the bed and the shower at home! We stayed to visit D.C. for the weekend. The Westin was about 4 blocks of a walk from the Metro & just a 2 stop ride to the Museums & Memorials of the Mall. Food was a couple of blocks of a walk. Caribou Coffee was right on the corner. When we entered the room, a bulb was out and one of the chains to one of the 3 shades was on the floor. Immediately a gentleman came in for a repair. He changed the bulb, then called down to hotel staff when he realized the chain would take more than a few minutes to fix. We were offered an immediate room switch. The staff could not have done more to be accommodating. We chose to stay in the room, and it was wonderful & worth it. We are planning to head back soon for another weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Metro to the Mall. Great museums!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,IL
Aug 24, 2010

Great stay!!!

Good stay. [...] Try the gelato place & Whole Foods near by on P street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They give a $5 voucher to use at any hotel restaurant or the lobby Starbucks if opt to skip a day of room cleaning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disgruntled traveler
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 23, 2010

unwarranted charges

A woman mistakenly knocked on my door while looking for her cheating husband. Luckily, I convinced her I wasn't the 'other woman.' Clearly, the hotel has no security and lets all sorts of people wander about knocking doors hoping to find the person they're looking for. The day before, I was awoken by loud, obnoxious protesters. It was a most gruelling, annoying visit that has been capped by an unwarranted charge on my credit card, this after being told that I had no additional charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JaneCEsq.
Business
Naples, FL
Aug 23, 2010

Disappointed

This Westin is minimalist in decor and in service! But you pay as if you are staying in luxury!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the CVS around the corner for water, snacks and the like.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super 25
Business
Leonia, NJ
Aug 23, 2010

perfect

This was my first time to Washington. I was there for the Antiques Roadshow. I had an awesome time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Aug 22, 2010

Nice Facility, Mediocre Service

We chose the hotel based on location...desired to be near musuems, monuments, etc. The location worked well and facility/room itself was nice, but service was lacking. Our first night we returned to the hotel late and found the garage was full so we were directed to a garage around the corner. This was frustrating but it was compounded by the fact that when we were later told we could have parked on the street overnight for free. Just one example. The concierge was also not very helpful...provided a phone number for a shuttle rather than offering to book for us. Maybe I'm too picky but we've stayed a lot of places and the staff/service here could have been more customer focused.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Leaves
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 19, 2010

Nice hotel with a good price

friendly staffs and well service. it is a quite new and clean hotel. its bed is very comfortable!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Aug 19, 2010

I'm still smiling: Great facility

My family had scheduled visits to a few local attractions. The first night, the concierge, Lynn suggested a night tour of the city by charter bus! OMG! I was hesitant at the $36 fee (1/2 price 4 kids) but it was soooo worth it! 4 hours later, exhausted, I crashed in those super soft linens for a great night sleep. The buffet at the restaurant was a good choice the next morning. Oatmeal to waffles and many choices in between. Great staff. The next day, armed with maps and directions to Metro from Lynn, we had another full day of sightseeing. Upon returning to hotel and using the heavenly double head shower (lots of hot water and pressure) I had dinner and wine @ Liquid 14 bar located in the middle of the 1st floor. Reasonable food ( delicious pasta dish and salad.) Another great night sleep . My 7 year old said she slept like a baby. It became a problem to pull her out of bed each morning.(smile) I did not get a chance to make use of the cookies and bedtime story program (they bake cookies and loan u a book) cuz we were so busy! This hotel is truly in a great location. We were able to walk to many of our destinations the inside of the lobby looked like you're in the middle of skyscrapers but was very serene. Very pleased!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Write to your representatives way in advance to get your name on the various tours. DC was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 16, 2010

A great hotel experience

Staff was very friendly and the restaurant food was great. It was a bit further from the monuments than I was expecting but still it was only a 5-10 cab ride from the hotel. Overall the hotel was exactly what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 16, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel bath products are exceptional. Room Service was good as was the food. Designated smoking area that other hotels do not provide. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Hotel provides excellent map of attractions, Metro, and streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top