$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
View map of 1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 4, 2010

Westin DC

I wouldn't say that the staff was unfriendly but I don't think they were the most helpful either. My keycard was shut off even after I specifically mentioned I was extending my stay, etc. When I was checking in, rather than open another desk/counter, they kept it closed because it was reserved for "premium" members, even though the line was backing up and it was very late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Augusta, GA
Sep 29, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Had a super maid who came and changed out my bedding because I was concerned (heard there are bedbug issues in DC hotels). Walking distance from just about anything you might want to see in downtown D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Busboys and Poets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Sep 28, 2010

Good hotel, but a bit pricey

The hotel stay was good. We enjoyed the quiet and peaceful atmosphere, despite the busy location of the hotel. The hotel is a bit expensive, but I guess you have to pay for the prime location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Great tapas restaurant in China Town, La Tasca.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Sep 19, 2010

Good Location, Overpriced Food

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip to DC. The location is great, even if it is a 10 minute walk to the Metro. However, it is a 10 minute cab to almost anywhere. The room was spotless and comfortable. The food at the restaurant was good but WAY overpriced. The staff was very helpful and was able to answer all of my questions. The hotel was clean, but the furniture and carpet in the lobby had some where and tear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 16, 2010

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

The hotel was close to all the attractions, we were able to walk everywhere. The hotel was close to restaurants, church and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeless
Sep 14, 2010

Great Location, Nice Hotel

A co-worker and I went to DC to site-see and since I stayed at the Westin in July I wanted to stay there again. The location was great. When we arrived at approximately 8:30 am the hotel allowed us to check in room 717. The room was in need of some attention. There were black marks on the wall, a hole in the carpet and a strange smell. I believe the area with the hole was missing the door stopper. I was disappointed because I knew they had nicer rooms. I called the front desk and complained. Later that evening we were given a nicer double room with more space on the 11th floor. The additional space made a difference in our stay. It was a joy coming to the room after a long day of site seeing. The hotel is within walking distance to the White House and the Metro. It's actually close to everything so you don't need a car. DC is a wonderful city to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muncie, IN
Sep 14, 2010

Decent location but nothing special

Could hear crying baby in neighboring room, thankfully it didn't cry too much. Could also hear elevators. Considering I was there for a conference, it was fine. Nice walking distance to the conference center and the mall. Decent amount of restaurants in the area. I'd recommend, but not highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeless
Sep 14, 2010

Great Location, Nice Hotel

A co-worker and I went to DC to site-see and since I stayed at the Westin in July I wanted to stay there again. The location was great. When we arrived at approximately 8:30 am the hotel allowed us to check in room 717. The room was in need of some attention. There were black marks on the wall, a hole in the carpet and a strange smell. I believe the area with the hole was missing the door stopper. I was disappointed because I knew they had nicer rooms. I called the front desk and complained. Later that evening we were given a nicer double room with more space on the 11th floor. The additional space made a difference in our stay. It was a joy coming to the room after a long day of site seeing. The hotel is within walking distance to the White House and the Metro. It's actually close to everything so you don't need a car. DC is a wonderful city to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Sep 8, 2010

Great location, friendly staff

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Westin review
Business
NJ
Sep 6, 2010

Westin review

Very good hotel, good location. But the parking was rip-off. The charged an overnight parking fee of $40. We could not park it ourselves due to some construction, which would have cost us about $18.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

NA

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top