$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 8, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
View map of 1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
144 reviews
Very good business hotel

Courteous and professional staff. Nice room with a great bed very comfortable. Good location for DC... See full review

  • Tired Traveler 2
  • Feb 4, 2015
Business trip/meeting on site

The staff at the DC Westin are all so friendly and courteous. The room was very clean, the bed... See full review

  • KayD
  • Jan 28, 2015
Located in the heart of our nation's capital, The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center is a vibrant hotel that captures the capital city's dynamic spirit. Our atrium lobby offers spectacular skylight views and our welcoming staff provide world-class service. Our 406 guest rooms and suites are designed with your comfort in mind. Sleep well in the Heavenly Bed and refresh in the Heavenly Bath. Ergonomic desk chairs and flat-screen TVs add a touch of aesthetic functionality. Every room also offers wireless High Speed Internet Access and 24-hour room service. Reenergize in the Westin WORKOUT Gym featuring a Stairmaster, LifeCycle, treadmill, and weights. Rejuvenate and relax with a cool drink and a light snack at Liquid 14 after exploring the nearby museums and monuments. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner in our comfortable 1400 North, An American Restaurant, overlooking the main lobby. Our central location makes it easy to enjoy our nation's capital and the world-renowned buildings and historical monuments found throughout the city. Here for business? The new Washington Convention Center is just five blocks to the east. Ready to see the nation's sights? The White House is just five blocks to the south. Looking for excitement? The city's vibrant nightlife comes alive after dark with an abundance of restaurants and entertainment options. Shops and nightclubs are just four blocks to the west on Connecticut Avenue. You'll appreciate our country's rich history when you visit some of the many cultural exhibits and memorials in the area, such as the Smithsonian Institute, the U.S. Capitol Building, the National Gallery of Art, and the Lincoln Memorial. Our location is served by two metro stations: McPherson Square on the Blue/Orange lines and Farragut North on the Red line. Three different sightseeing companies offer pickups at 10 times throughout each day for full day, half-day, evening, and trolley tours. Whatever brings you to town, The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center will be your oasis of calm and relaxation in our nation’s capital.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marion, Oh
Nov 29, 2010

Washington, D.C. Review

The hotel experience was overall a wonderful experience. The staff was extremely helpful, the rooms were very nicely kept, and the beds were the best sleep I've had in months. Although I do have one major complaint. Even though my trip, including my hotel room, was pre-paid for months in advance, I was still required to give the hotel a credit card in which they charged me $50 dollars a day to ensure they get their money in case I leave without paying. I, personally, do not carry credit cards, only debit. So I was out $200 immediately which affected how I was able to enjoy my trip because I was money restricted. Seeing as how my room was already paid for, I was very dissatisfied with the unnecessary charges made to my debit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Be ready to walk or have money saved back for taxis!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe & Carol
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Nov 28, 2010

Nice place

Very nice hotel, conveniently located. Parking is extra ($40/24 hr. period), but we found some parking on the street. The only downside is that, like the other hotel we stayed at in DC, the WiFi is not complimentary. Good price for DC, but really, you can't throw in the WiFi? They did comp one day's when I asked. (Note about dining, we didn't use it, so can't really address that)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYer #1
Business
New York City
Nov 27, 2010

Westin - DC City Center 11/25

Great front desk staff, very friendly upon arrival. The room was nice but the walls were paper thin. It was tough getting a good nights sleep hearing a baby cry on one side and a drunk guy yell on the other side. Great location but I don't know if I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kubba
Business
Fairfield,CT USA
Nov 24, 2010

very good

easy friendly check in;very nice functional rooms. excellent location (for business and tourism)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reston, VA
Nov 22, 2010

Not up to par

Westin's are normally very consistent. This visit not so. No shampoo or conditioner in the shower and worse, unexpected hairs from previous occupants in undesirable locations. Would love to believe the cleaning staff was having an off day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loads of good local neighborhood restaurants within blocks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, DE
Nov 12, 2010

Great stay at the Westin

I was very pleased with my stay at the Westin City Center. I was attending a seminar that was held at the JW Marriott on Pennsylvania Avenue, but didn't sign up in time to get a room at that hotel. I'm glad I didn't. The JW Marriott seemed way too "hustle-bustle". The Westin was a good location, and seemed a more intimate, friendly place. Everyone from the receptionist to the bell staff to the doormen to bartenders to the maids were extrordinarly friendly and helful. My room overlooked the atrium, two floors above the restaurant/lounge. Reading some of the reviews, I was afraid that this would be too loud. Not the case. The room was quiet and very comfortable and very clean. The hotel is a little further than walking distance from the National Mall attractions, but it was just a three block walk to the McPherson Square Metro stop. However, taxis were always available, and alot less expensive than what I am used to in major cities. The neighborhood was wonderful (safe - lots of restaurants, etc) and was withing easy walking distance of Dupont Circle. I would definately stay here again, and would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Always Traveling mom
Business
Bloomington, IL
Nov 11, 2010

Great Service

The service here was excellent. From the gentleman who checked us in and made sure we had cold bottles of water to the very patient women who answered the express service line. Everyone was so helpful and patient. What customer service should be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Fashion Center at Pentagon City was a great mall, although very busy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas, nv
Nov 1, 2010

Washington DC Westin

I was visiting friends in the DC area and sight-seeing. The customer service was great. The concierge had directions to every location we asked for. I wish the towels were softer. They were a bit crunchy and when we asked for extra towels and toiletries they were kinda stingy. Also, the overnight parking fee was ridiculously high at $40/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 20, 2010

Family vacation

My brother and I took our parents (85 yrs old) to see the museums, etc. The Westin City Center Washington D.C. was absolutely wonderful. The staff was helpful above and beyond any I have dealt with before. It was a very convenient location for public transportation which is the "norm" for D.C. and the staff gave us guidance on how to use it. There were numerous restaurants within walking distance and the staff gave us a list showing name, address, phone #, type of food, approx. costs and how many blocks it was from the hotel. The staff gave us free/discount tickets to some of the museums and told us which tour bus was the best (and it was). The food was very good, bell captain was terrific, housekeeping was very attentive and gift shop had a nice variety. 2 blocks away was a pharmacy if needed. Our trip couldn't have gone more smooth thanks to the staff at the Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Take a double decker bus, top open, sightseeing tour your first day. They let you get on and off as many times as you want as another bus will come by in approx. 20 minutes. Do the one with the 2-day pass for $35.00 and 30 stops. Gives a great over-view of the city and shows you places you might have missed had you gone on your own.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Oct 18, 2010

Westin in name only

This hotel is a Westin in name only and doesn't come close to past Westin experiences I've had. The room was small and dark. Broken iron, promise of a refrigerator took 1 1/2 hours. Requested robe never showed up. Things were falling apart in the bathroom. Better value to be had at any number of alternate hotels. Don't bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top