$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
View map of 1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A. Veras
Business
New York, NY
Sep 24, 2012

Awful customer service

When we arrived to the hotel, we wanted to take a tour as soon as possible. After waiting patiently for about 20 minutes for the concierge (she was engaged in providing extensive information to another guests), it was our turn. She informed us that a tour was leaving in 7 minutes. My daughter wanted to go to our room first to drop our bags. The concierge asked a front desk employee to ask the tour bus driver to hold the bus for two minutes. He did not and when she asked him why he did not do it, he simply said: "I could not see the bus from here." He never followed her instructions and just stayed inside the lobby. We missed the bus. Then, the concierge called the bus company to ask them to return. I appreciate her gesture, but she never told us that the bus would come back in one hour, not in a few minutes. So we waited outside for nothing. Finally, we had to take a taxi to visit one of the museums we wanted to explore. When we came back on the evening, we heard a loud music. After opening the curtains, we realized that our room was located right in front of the bar. When we called to ask until what time that music was on, they said until midnight. We requested a room change. We were transferred to another room, but some loud noise (like a air conditioner compressor) came from outside. Again, we requested another room. Sunday morning, we asked where was the restaurant and instead of being directed to their restaurant, they sent us to a small deli one block away from the hotel. The charges for the tour were not reimbursed immediately since we did not take the tour. We were informed that it will take 5 business days. Outrageous! We will never come back to that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger forever
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 24, 2012

Great Value!

Extremely well located Hotel with nice rooms. Some of them can be a little dark if they are on lower floors or if they look inside. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ALB123
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Awesome

I love this hotel. The staff is super friendly. I was able to bring my dog and they even provided a doggie bed for her!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DCExpat
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Not bad ... could've been better

I give this hotel an A+ for the location and the friendliness and helpfulness of its staff. The beds are very comfortable. And the noise level in the room was pretty low. My only complaint is that the mini-fridge did not work at all. What's the use of having it there if it's not ready and in good working order for its guests?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good restaurants and sights within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa10468
Business
Bronx, NY, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Great Trip!

My experience at the Westin City Center was great. It made my DC experience wonderful. Great location, perfect weather and friendly staff, I would definately stay at the Westin again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NFLAChick
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Feb 8, 2012

Westin City Center, DC-Business Travel

This hotel was terrific. The staff was nice and checked me in quickly. Food in the restaurant was terrific and priced the same as most restaurants in the area. Location, location, location was perfect for me. Walked to all my meetings. Last morning a false fire alarm rang, and upon return to my room after using the excellent gym, a hand written note explaining the issue with apology was in my room. The note also had an invitation for a free breakfast buffet. Very nice touch! Love the Westin brand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Georgia Brown's. Soul southern food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
army rooter
Business
New York, USA
Dec 13, 2011

very accommadating

The staff were excellent, could not do enough for us. Got us dinner Res.on short notice. Bar very friendly but closed early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bazidl
Business
New York
Nov 7, 2011

wonderful stay

Staff was courteous and friendly. Room was clean when we arrived but housekeeping didn't' show up until 4pm the next day and we turned them away because the kids were sleeping. I personally don't need my room cleaned everyday but some people look forward to that. Overall great experience at the Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If your site seeing the hotel is within walking distance of the white house but pretty far from everything else (30 mins). Hop on the metro to get to the Capital hill area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bizmama
Business
Fairfield, CT, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Good business stay location

Reception desk staff needs to be better trained, very helpful concierge service, good, clean rooms. BUT not very good value for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Good place for Business traveler, and yet, not a bang for the buck

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDCB
Business
Georgia, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Weekend trip

We were allowed to check-in early, no fee charged. Bed was super comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Restaurant is amazing! Sustainable eating that is delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top