$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2015 Check-out: Aug 15, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
View map of 1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
138 reviews
pleasure trip

I had a great time at the hotel. It was clean and the service was wonderful. See full review

  • Charlie frequent visitor
  • May 10, 2015
Very good business hotel

Courteous and professional staff. Nice room with a great bed very comfortable. Good location for DC... See full review

  • Tired Traveler 2
  • Feb 4, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C., City Center is centrally located in D.C.'s business district and within walking distance to Dupont Circle and the White House. The large hotel appeals to business and leisure travelers. It is covered with skylights and features the modern, sleek decor and furnishings. Guests can make an appointment for an in-room massage (fees apply) or release extra energy at the 24-hour fitness room. The hotel rooms have the Heavenly beds by Simmons in every room.

Rooms

Expect modern furniture, sleek lines and neutral colors in rooms and public spaces. Rooms include double-double rooms, king rooms, king rooms with chaise lounge and suites. The hotel has Heavenly beds and baths with make-up mirror in every room. Heavenly Cribs are available for the little tykes, upon request. Large desks are accompanied by ergonomic chairs. Wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Property features

The Westin WORKOUT Gym has cardio equipment and weights. Guests looking for relaxation can schedule in-room massage treatments. Guests with small children can request a jogging stroller, a Heavenly crib, or babysitting service. Stop by the hotel's lounge, Liquid 14, for a glass of wine before dinner, or stay in for the night and dine at 1400 North, an American restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is available wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply). Sightseeing companies offer pickups at 10 times throughout each day for tours.

Highlights
  • Heavenly beds, cribs, rollaways, baths, and dog beds available
  • Centrally located in the business district, near Dupont Circle and the White House
  • 24-hour fitness center
Nearby attractions
  • White House (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Georgetown (1.4 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • The National Zoo (2 mi/ 3.2 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Audio/visual services available
Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.9 mi/ 6.2 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/ 37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 43 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BigPP
Business
Israel
Aug 27, 2014

double charge for the room

Very nice and big room. However at the morning they charged me (in addition to payment done via the web site). Had to argue in order to get money back (I hope since they refused to provide hard copy proof)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The white house is within walking distance

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A. Veras
Business
New York, NY
Sep 24, 2012

Awful customer service

When we arrived to the hotel, we wanted to take a tour as soon as possible. After waiting patiently for about 20 minutes for the concierge (she was engaged in providing extensive information to another guests), it was our turn. She informed us that a tour was leaving in 7 minutes. My daughter wanted to go to our room first to drop our bags. The concierge asked a front desk employee to ask the tour bus driver to hold the bus for two minutes. He did not and when she asked him why he did not do it, he simply said: "I could not see the bus from here." He never followed her instructions and just stayed inside the lobby. We missed the bus. Then, the concierge called the bus company to ask them to return. I appreciate her gesture, but she never told us that the bus would come back in one hour, not in a few minutes. So we waited outside for nothing. Finally, we had to take a taxi to visit one of the museums we wanted to explore. When we came back on the evening, we heard a loud music. After opening the curtains, we realized that our room was located right in front of the bar. When we called to ask until what time that music was on, they said until midnight. We requested a room change. We were transferred to another room, but some loud noise (like a air conditioner compressor) came from outside. Again, we requested another room. Sunday morning, we asked where was the restaurant and instead of being directed to their restaurant, they sent us to a small deli one block away from the hotel. The charges for the tour were not reimbursed immediately since we did not take the tour. We were informed that it will take 5 business days. Outrageous! We will never come back to that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 26, 2010

The Westin DC City Center

We were very, very disappointed that this hotel charges for Internet access. I travel fairly often for business & this is the first hotel I've stayed at for over 5 years which had an additional charge for in-room internet access. Also, in spite of having a pre-booked room reservation & their having valet service, the hotel parking garage was full. Their response to this situation was to send us (not their valet) around the corner to a different hotel's parking garage which charged us the same valet rate (i.e. $40/night). I do not plan on using either this specific hotel, nor this hotel chain, for any future personal/business travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Oct 18, 2010

Westin in name only

This hotel is a Westin in name only and doesn't come close to past Westin experiences I've had. The room was small and dark. Broken iron, promise of a refrigerator took 1 1/2 hours. Requested robe never showed up. Things were falling apart in the bathroom. Better value to be had at any number of alternate hotels. Don't bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business Traveler Critic
Business
N/A
Mar 18, 2015

Nice place

It's nice place. Not sure it's worth the price they charged for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robert Shane
Business
Highland Park, IL
Mar 15, 2014

Overnight in DC Very cold Lobby

I was there on a very cold and windy day. The lobby was designed very poorly. Every time a door opened which is often in a busy hotel a blast of cold air came in. This made the lobby very cold as well as the lobby restaurant. That’s why they invented revolving doors and overhead door heaters. Nice place, nice people and a comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DCExpat
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Not bad ... could've been better

I give this hotel an A+ for the location and the friendliness and helpfulness of its staff. The beds are very comfortable. And the noise level in the room was pretty low. My only complaint is that the mini-fridge did not work at all. What's the use of having it there if it's not ready and in good working order for its guests?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good restaurants and sights within walking distance.

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
N. ROD
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 26, 2012

A weekend in DC

There are many hotels to choose from in DC however I was looking for a deal. This hotel was close to the metro and walking distance from the White House. It was also affordable; not the cheapest but worth what I paid. My room overlooked lobby which wasn't too bad. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would recommend yours as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Augusta, GA
Sep 29, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Had a super maid who came and changed out my bedding because I was concerned (heard there are bedbug issues in DC hotels). Walking distance from just about anything you might want to see in downtown D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Busboys and Poets

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 4, 2010

Westin DC

I wouldn't say that the staff was unfriendly but I don't think they were the most helpful either. My keycard was shut off even after I specifically mentioned I was extending my stay, etc. When I was checking in, rather than open another desk/counter, they kept it closed because it was reserved for "premium" members, even though the line was backing up and it was very late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top