$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
231 reviews
Washington Trip

Greeted at entering the building, great room, friendly people, and royal treatment. Truly a... See full review

  • Tracy1976
  • Jun 15, 2014
Weekend Pleasure Trip

Went to D.C. for the Cherry blossom festival. My stay at the Westin was wonderful. They had helpful... See full review

  • Kathy EHS
  • Apr 17, 2013
Modern rooms in D.C.’s business district with 24-hour fitness center

The Westin Washington, D.C., City Center is centrally located in D.C.'s business district and within walking distance to Dupont Circle and the White House. The large hotel appeals to business and leisure travelers. It is covered with skylights and features the modern, sleek decor and furnishings. Guests can make an appointment for an in-room massage (fees apply) or release extra energy at the 24-hour fitness room. The hotel rooms have the Heavenly beds by Simmons in every room.

Highlights
  • Heavenly beds, cribs, rollaways, baths, and dog beds available
  • Centrally located in the business district, near Dupont Circle and the White House
  • 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Expect modern furniture, sleek lines and neutral colors in rooms and public spaces. Rooms include double-double rooms, king rooms, king rooms with chaise lounge and suites. The hotel has Heavenly beds and baths with make-up mirror in every room. Heavenly Cribs are available for the little tykes, upon request. Large desks are accompanied by ergonomic chairs. Wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Features

The Westin WORKOUT Gym has cardio equipment and weights. Guests looking for relaxation can schedule in-room massage treatments. Guests with small children can request a jogging stroller, a Heavenly crib, or babysitting service. Stop by the hotel's lounge, Liquid 14, for a glass of wine before dinner, or stay in for the night and dine at 1400 North, an American restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is available wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply). Sightseeing companies offer pickups at 10 times throughout each day for tours.

Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.9 mi/ 6.2 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/ 37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 43 km)
Attractions
  • White House (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Georgetown (1.4 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • The National Zoo (2 mi/ 3.2 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Audio/visual services available

Hotel Map

38.9057 -77.0333
Nearby airports
Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 33.00, MI; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 26.00, MI; Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 6.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Children's activities
Indoor tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doorman
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marion, Oh
Nov 29, 2010

Washington, D.C. Review

The hotel experience was overall a wonderful experience. The staff was extremely helpful, the rooms were very nicely kept, and the beds were the best sleep I've had in months. Although I do have one major complaint. Even though my trip, including my hotel room, was pre-paid for months in advance, I was still required to give the hotel a credit card in which they charged me $50 dollars a day to ensure they get their money in case I leave without paying. I, personally, do not carry credit cards, only debit. So I was out $200 immediately which affected how I was able to enjoy my trip because I was money restricted. Seeing as how my room was already paid for, I was very dissatisfied with the unnecessary charges made to my debit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Be ready to walk or have money saved back for taxis!

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe & Carol
Cincinnati, OH
Nov 28, 2010

Nice place

Very nice hotel, conveniently located. Parking is extra ($40/24 hr. period), but we found some parking on the street. The only downside is that, like the other hotel we stayed at in DC, the WiFi is not complimentary. Good price for DC, but really, you can't throw in the WiFi? They did comp one day's when I asked. (Note about dining, we didn't use it, so can't really address that)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe & Carol
Cincinnati, OH
Nov 28, 2010

Nice place

Very nice hotel, conveniently located. Parking is extra ($40/24 hr. period), but we found some parking on the street. The only downside is that, like the other hotel we stayed at in DC, the WiFi is not complimentary. Good price for DC, but really, you can't throw in the WiFi? They did comp one day's when I asked. (Note about dining, we didn't use it, so can't really address that)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYer #1
Business
New York City
Nov 27, 2010

Westin - DC City Center 11/25

Great front desk staff, very friendly upon arrival. The room was nice but the walls were paper thin. It was tough getting a good nights sleep hearing a baby cry on one side and a drunk guy yell on the other side. Great location but I don't know if I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYer #1
Business
New York City
Nov 27, 2010

Westin - DC City Center 11/25

Great front desk staff, very friendly upon arrival. The room was nice but the walls were paper thin. It was tough getting a good nights sleep hearing a baby cry on one side and a drunk guy yell on the other side. Great location but I don't know if I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kubba
Business
Fairfield,CT USA
Nov 24, 2010

very good

easy friendly check in;very nice functional rooms. excellent location (for business and tourism)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kubba
Business
Fairfield,CT USA
Nov 24, 2010

very good

easy friendly check in;very nice functional rooms. excellent location (for business and tourism)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reston, VA
Nov 22, 2010

Not up to par

Westin's are normally very consistent. This visit not so. No shampoo or conditioner in the shower and worse, unexpected hairs from previous occupants in undesirable locations. Would love to believe the cleaning staff was having an off day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loads of good local neighborhood restaurants within blocks!

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reston, VA
Nov 22, 2010

Not up to par

Westin's are normally very consistent. This visit not so. No shampoo or conditioner in the shower and worse, unexpected hairs from previous occupants in undesirable locations. Would love to believe the cleaning staff was having an off day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loads of good local neighborhood restaurants within blocks!

Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, DE
Nov 12, 2010

Great stay at the Westin

I was very pleased with my stay at the Westin City Center. I was attending a seminar that was held at the JW Marriott on Pennsylvania Avenue, but didn't sign up in time to get a room at that hotel. I'm glad I didn't. The JW Marriott seemed way too "hustle-bustle". The Westin was a good location, and seemed a more intimate, friendly place. Everyone from the receptionist to the bell staff to the doormen to bartenders to the maids were extrordinarly friendly and helful. My room overlooked the atrium, two floors above the restaurant/lounge. Reading some of the reviews, I was afraid that this would be too loud. Not the case. The room was quiet and very comfortable and very clean. The hotel is a little further than walking distance from the National Mall attractions, but it was just a three block walk to the McPherson Square Metro stop. However, taxis were always available, and alot less expensive than what I am used to in major cities. The neighborhood was wonderful (safe - lots of restaurants, etc) and was withing easy walking distance of Dupont Circle. I would definately stay here again, and would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top