$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
138 reviews
First Class - highly recommend

Check in was easy. I needed additional information regarding a meeting location and it was provided... See full review

  • Arizona Business Traveler
  • Oct 22, 2014
Washington Trip

Greeted at entering the building, great room, friendly people, and royal treatment. Truly a... See full review

  • Tracy1976
  • Jun 15, 2014
Modern rooms in D.C.’s business district with 24-hour fitness center

The Westin Washington, D.C., City Center is centrally located in D.C.'s business district and within walking distance to Dupont Circle and the White House. The large hotel appeals to business and leisure travelers. It is covered with skylights and features the modern, sleek decor and furnishings. Guests can make an appointment for an in-room massage (fees apply) or release extra energy at the 24-hour fitness room. The hotel rooms have the Heavenly beds by Simmons in every room.

Highlights
  • Heavenly beds, cribs, rollaways, baths, and dog beds available
  • Centrally located in the business district, near Dupont Circle and the White House
  • 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Expect modern furniture, sleek lines and neutral colors in rooms and public spaces. Rooms include double-double rooms, king rooms, king rooms with chaise lounge and suites. The hotel has Heavenly beds and baths with make-up mirror in every room. Heavenly Cribs are available for the little tykes, upon request. Large desks are accompanied by ergonomic chairs. Wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Features

The Westin WORKOUT Gym has cardio equipment and weights. Guests looking for relaxation can schedule in-room massage treatments. Guests with small children can request a jogging stroller, a Heavenly crib, or babysitting service. Stop by the hotel's lounge, Liquid 14, for a glass of wine before dinner, or stay in for the night and dine at 1400 North, an American restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is available wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply) and valet parking (fees apply). Sightseeing companies offer pickups at 10 times throughout each day for tours.

Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.9 mi/ 6.2 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/ 37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/ 43 km)
Attractions
  • White House (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • The National Mall (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.3 mi/ 2.1 km)
  • Georgetown (1.4 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • The National Zoo (2 mi/ 3.2 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Audio/visual services available

Hotel Map

38.9057 -77.0333
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 35.41, KM; Ronald Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 14.48, KM; Baltimore Washington Intl. Airport, (BWI), 43.45, KM;
Area description
City Center, Urban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Leaves
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 19, 2010

Nice hotel with a good price

friendly staffs and well service. it is a quite new and clean hotel. its bed is very comfortable!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Aug 19, 2010

I'm still smiling: Great facility

My family had scheduled visits to a few local attractions. The first night, the concierge, Lynn suggested a night tour of the city by charter bus! OMG! I was hesitant at the $36 fee (1/2 price 4 kids) but it was soooo worth it! 4 hours later, exhausted, I crashed in those super soft linens for a great night sleep. The buffet at the restaurant was a good choice the next morning. Oatmeal to waffles and many choices in between. Great staff. The next day, armed with maps and directions to Metro from Lynn, we had another full day of sightseeing. Upon returning to hotel and using the heavenly double head shower (lots of hot water and pressure) I had dinner and wine @ Liquid 14 bar located in the middle of the 1st floor. Reasonable food ( delicious pasta dish and salad.) Another great night sleep . My 7 year old said she slept like a baby. It became a problem to pull her out of bed each morning.(smile) I did not get a chance to make use of the cookies and bedtime story program (they bake cookies and loan u a book) cuz we were so busy! This hotel is truly in a great location. We were able to walk to many of our destinations the inside of the lobby looked like you're in the middle of skyscrapers but was very serene. Very pleased!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Write to your representatives way in advance to get your name on the various tours. DC was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 16, 2010

A great hotel experience

Staff was very friendly and the restaurant food was great. It was a bit further from the monuments than I was expecting but still it was only a 5-10 cab ride from the hotel. Overall the hotel was exactly what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 16, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel bath products are exceptional. Room Service was good as was the food. Designated smoking area that other hotels do not provide. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Hotel provides excellent map of attractions, Metro, and streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester, New York
Aug 14, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

We had an idea that we would see some of the attractions, but didn't have an itinerary planned. The staff was accommodating, and helpful. It was a nice gesture when the desk called me by my name. Our stay was quiet, and restful, although the staff started vacuuming in the hall near my room rather early Sunday morning (around eight). And when my laptop alerted me to the presence of WIFI, I noted that it was not free, and the ethernet connection did not appear to be working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
china
Aug 14, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In need of a vacation. . .
Business
New Jersey
Aug 12, 2010

Great Mom and Daughter Getaway

The hotel was great! Everyone was very friendly and attentive. The one thing that I noticed in the hallways and the room was there was very little natural light. The location of the hotel was ideal it is about 4 blocks from the White House! Overall, the hotel was not crazy glamerous, but was comfortable and perfect for what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to see as much of the city as possible in a short amount of time buy tickets for the open top, hop on hop off buses. Yes, touristy, but definitely worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
icaff
Business
Knoxville, TN
Aug 10, 2010

Our stay in DC

Our stay at the Westin was enjoyable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The information provided was accurate and easy to follow. We especially appreciated the opportunity to receive a $5 gift card for making our own beds. One night there was a disturbance - loud voices and an argument - outside our room, but that was the only blip in an otherwise pleasant stay. The milk and cookies with a book was another plus, although we wondered why they were available only for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4832Linda
Business
North Carolina
Aug 9, 2010

Convenient and comfortable!

I read all the reviews and decided to go with the Westin for my son's "Big Adventure" in DC! The room was clean, comfortable, and convenient to the Metro and not too far from the White House. I loved the complimentary tea and coffee but was a bit surprised to be charged $3 for the bottled water in the room. I figured it was complimentary and should have read the paper that was attached to the bottle but that's what you get when you "assume". When I checked out the clerk did remove the charge from my bill so I was thankful for that! I didn't bring my computer but if you do be aware that you'll be charged for internet connection. I did not eat at the hotel or order room service so I can't comment on those. Overall I was extremely happy with my visit to DC and my stay at the Westin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Before your visit to DC make sure you get your tickets ahead of time. You can reserve your visit to many of the sites on line. If you decide to go to the Bureau of Printing and Engraving you'll stand in line to get the tickets for early tours but I noticed that even if you get in line by 9:00 there were still tickets for tours later in the day so plan your trip around that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sbcbonds
Business
Long Island
Aug 8, 2010

Great Hotel and Location

Great location, short walk to the White House and other sites. Plenty of places to eat within a short distance. Close to Georgetown U which we were there to tour. [...] ,the bartender at the lounge bar was great and very informative! Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great places within a very short distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top