$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

4 stars
View map of 1400 M Street NW, 1400 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 1, 2010

Good location in central DC

Average hotel walking distance from metro station to access all of DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid DC traffic by taking subway to/from hotel, a short 4 block walk from station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One time, one night
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 31, 2010

In Walking Distance

The entire building is non-smoking!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gisjes
Business
Houston, Tx
Aug 29, 2010

Nice hotel great price

Bell boys should be more friendly with all the clients. No differences between walking people and limousine people. 3 1/2 streets walking distance from metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gisjes
Business
Houston, Tx
Aug 29, 2010

Nice hotel great price

Bell boys should be more friendly with all the clients. No differences between walking people and limousine people. 3 1/2 streets walking distance from metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississippi
Aug 28, 2010

Mother/daughter outing

Very attentive and helpful staff. Great b'fast, although a bit pricey. Were extremely helpful when directions were needed to get around Washington or to find restaurants in the area. Hotel is gorgeous and uniquely laid out - very dramatic lobby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We had a French Bistro restaurant recommended to us and found it to be a wonderful experience. Bistrot du Coin was well worth the walk to the Dupont Circle area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Aug 28, 2010

Great

Everything was amazing! The staff was beyond friendly, all except one very bitter female concierge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Aug 24, 2010

Great Location & Lovely Room

The room was on the 4th floor, and featured a king bed, chaise, chair, a flat screen mounted TV, and an amazing bath with 2 heads in the shower. My wife and I want the bed and the shower at home! We stayed to visit D.C. for the weekend. The Westin was about 4 blocks of a walk from the Metro & just a 2 stop ride to the Museums & Memorials of the Mall. Food was a couple of blocks of a walk. Caribou Coffee was right on the corner. When we entered the room, a bulb was out and one of the chains to one of the 3 shades was on the floor. Immediately a gentleman came in for a repair. He changed the bulb, then called down to hotel staff when he realized the chain would take more than a few minutes to fix. We were offered an immediate room switch. The staff could not have done more to be accommodating. We chose to stay in the room, and it was wonderful & worth it. We are planning to head back soon for another weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Metro to the Mall. Great museums!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,IL
Aug 24, 2010

Great stay!!!

Good stay. [...] Try the gelato place & Whole Foods near by on P street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They give a $5 voucher to use at any hotel restaurant or the lobby Starbucks if opt to skip a day of room cleaning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disgruntled traveler
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 23, 2010

unwarranted charges

A woman mistakenly knocked on my door while looking for her cheating husband. Luckily, I convinced her I wasn't the 'other woman.' Clearly, the hotel has no security and lets all sorts of people wander about knocking doors hoping to find the person they're looking for. The day before, I was awoken by loud, obnoxious protesters. It was a most gruelling, annoying visit that has been capped by an unwarranted charge on my credit card, this after being told that I had no additional charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JaneCEsq.
Business
Naples, FL
Aug 23, 2010

Disappointed

This Westin is minimalist in decor and in service! But you pay as if you are staying in luxury!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the CVS around the corner for water, snacks and the like.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top