$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

The River Inn

3 stars
924 25th Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
113 reviews
Quaint area of DC

I love this hotel! The area it is located in is so quaint, you barely notice you are in a big... See full review

  • Twista
  • May 12, 2014
Great Hotel

A must stay in DC. Great amenities and the staff was very helpful See full review

  • Adam Urness
  • May 7, 2014
The River Inn is a Boutique, Full Service All-Suite Hotel located in the Historic Foggy Bottom District of Washington, DC. The Hotel is within walking distance of the Kennedy Center, Georgetown, and The National Mall. With Metro less than two blocks from The River Inn, all of Washington DC's attractions are easily accessible. Dish + Drinks restaurant, on the lobby level, offers Modern American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The River Inn was selected this year as one of Washington DC's Top 5 Hotel Values.

Hotel Map

38.9014 -77.0537
Area served
Washington D.C.,Georgetown,West-end,Foggy Bottom
Nearby airports
DCA - Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport IAD - Washington Dulles International Airport BWI - Balitmore Washington Airport
Area description
Nestled in the historic tree-lined neighborhood of Foggy Bottom; just steps away from The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and Georgetown with restaurants, multi-plex theatres and shops. Sweeping views of the Potomac River and minutes away from scenic C&O Canal.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The River Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The River Inn Rooms

One Bedroom King Suite
This One Bedroom Suite features (1) King Bed in a separate Bedroom from the rest of the Suite. In addition, this Spacious Suite features a Living Room Area for Relaxing (with one (1) Full Sized Sofa Bed), Large Work Desk with Complimentary Wi-Fi, Separate Dining Table, and Fully Equipped Kitchen.
One Bedroom Double Suite
Specious one bedroom suite with a separate living room, furnished with two double beds, a couch that pulls out to a full size sofa bed, dinette table and fully equipped kitchen. This beautifully appointed suite offers complimentary high speed Internet, and is equipped with High Definition flat screen TVs (one in each area) iHOME alarm clocks and DVD players per request.
Junior Suite
Spacious Junior Suite features one (1) Queen Bed, Full Living Room Area with full size sofa bed, and Full Kitchen.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.5 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.5 mi

Dining

Dish + Drinks
Located on the Hotel's lobby level, Dish + Drinks offers American Cuisine with a Contemporary Twist. A popular spot for Pre/Post Theater events wiith a trendy full-service Bar. Reservations recommended.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The River Inn has improved its meeting facilities to accommodate the needs of the business professional. Three elegantly appointed meeting rooms provide a productive working environment for up to 50 people. The River Inn is ideal for board meetings, business planning sessions, seminars, and working luncheons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for The River Inn

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 113
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. BradM
Fort Myers, FL
Jun 27, 2014

The Perfect Place

We returned to The River Inn after staying there 10 years ago. It's super close to the DC sites, yet in a beautiful quiet neighborhood. Super friendly staff as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Twista
Pennsylvania
May 12, 2014

Quaint area of DC

I love this hotel! The area it is located in is so quaint, you barely notice you are in a big city. The rooms are nice and roomy. Get your own kitchen, marble bathroom, seating area... perfect for hanging out after a long visit of DC. Trader Joe's is just a short walk away as is The Kennedy Center and Georgetown. Lots of great restaurants to be found in Georgetown. Metro is a short walk, so one has easy access to the whole of DC. Staff is really friendly and helpful at The River Inn. Would definitely recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to 'Le Pain Quotidien' for a delicious breakfast. Trader Joe's is just a short walk away, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy A. Traveller
New York
Jan 6, 2014

A terrific place

We loved this little gem of a hotel. It is well run, very clean, centrally located and a great deal. The staff are highly responsive and resolved minor issues quickly and well. We will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Giants Fan
Los Angeles, CA
May 17, 2013

Great Family Vacation

The River Inn truly is a hidden gem. It's tucked away in the middle of Foggy Bottom and is VERY convenient to buses and the Foggy Bottom metro station. The 32 and 36 bus lines is a 5 minute walk away and these lines will get you to nearly all of the important monuments and museums that you want to see in DC. The neighborhood is a great walking neighborhood and convenient to a lot of restaurants. Each room has a kitchenette that came in very hand for my family as we decided to eat breakfast in our room most mornings to save some time and money. Its also within a 5 minute walk to a Trader Joes! The staff were very friendly and my daughter enjoyed saying hi to the doorman each morning of our stay. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during our visit and will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the 32 or 36 bus line, which is less than a 5 minute walk away. You can get a week bus pass for $14 which gives you unlimited rides. These two lines runs to Georgetown and the National Mall. Its cheaper than the metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eastside mom
Cleveland, Ohio
Mar 31, 2013

Absolutely wonderful!!

Perfect for the 3 of us (husband, son and me). Location was great and appreciated that the hotel was on a quiet street. Room was spacious, loved the layout; we didn't feel cramped at all. Having a kitchen was a huge help, we could have a quick breakfast then head out for sightseeing. We ate dinner at the restaurant twice and enjoyed the food, especially the diver scallops and mushroom risotto! Staff were friendly and helpful. We walked or took the Metro which was easy to find and a short walk away. We would definitely stay here again. Loved Washington, D.C.!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ddnd
Delaware
Mar 16, 2013

best for gwu parents

friendly staff, great location from gwu, good restaurant,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanbernar
Ann Arbor
Mar 13, 2013

Very nice hotel

The hotel is very nice, locate in walking distance from white house (15-20 minutes with 3 years old kid). The area is very nice, looks like Europe. The only concerns is parking fee which is $40 per day...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Bella
Virginia
Mar 5, 2013

Comfortable stay

Although this is a small hotel and does not have the amenities larger hotels offer, our family had a wonderful weekend stay at The River Inn. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious, and the kitchenette was a great help with making breakfast in the room. We also enjoyed the hotel restaurant on our first evening there -- pricey, but both the food and the wine selections were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your breakfast ingredients at the nearby Whole Foods instead of the 7-Eleven!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martio
Boston, MA
Feb 24, 2013

Great access to GW, Georgetown and Metro, family friendly

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of my stay. the staff was very nice and the hotel felt more expensive than it was. I upgraded to a suite when I got there at a very fair price considering I booked on line I was traveling with my two teenage boys so having two rooms and 2 TVs and a kitchen was perfect. The rooms one the "river" side have beautiful views of Virgina at the 3rd floor and above. You can grab quick meals at the whole foods a few blocks away. I didn't try the restaurant but it was always busy and the menu looked delicious. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole Foods at Foggy Bottom has a huge prepared foods section, even breakfast, and plenty of seating. Not cheap, but convenient and delicious - great for traveling families.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Father of College Tourist
Walnut Creek, CA
Feb 18, 2013

DC College Tour

The staff were amazingly helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search