$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2014 Check-out: Apr 27, 2014

The River Inn

3 stars
924 25th Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
109 reviews
A terrific place

We loved this little gem of a hotel. It is well run, very clean, centrally located and a great... See full review

  • Nancy A. Traveller
  • Jan 6, 2014
Great Hotel

The hotel was great, the room was clean and uses the space well. It surprisingly had a small... See full review

  • Guesnerth
  • Aug 16, 2013
The River Inn is a Boutique, Full Service All-Suite Hotel located in the Historic Foggy Bottom District of Washington, DC. The Hotel is within walking distance of the Kennedy Center, Georgetown, and The National Mall. With Metro less than two blocks from The River Inn, all of Washington DC's attractions are easily accessible. Dish + Drinks restaurant, on the lobby level, offers Modern American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The River Inn was selected this year as one of Washington DC's Top 5 Hotel Values.

The River Inn Rooms

One Bedroom King Suite
This One Bedroom Suite features (1) King Bed in a separate Bedroom from the rest of the Suite. In addition, this Spacious Suite features a Living Room Area for Relaxing (with one (1) Full Sized Sofa Bed), Large Work Desk with Complimentary Wi-Fi, Separate Dining Table, and Fully Equipped Kitchen.
One Bedroom Double Suite
Specious one bedroom suite with a separate living room, furnished with two double beds, a couch that pulls out to a full size sofa bed, dinette table and fully equipped kitchen. This beautifully appointed suite offers complimentary high speed Internet, and is equipped with High Definition flat screen TVs (one in each area) iHOME alarm clocks and DVD players per request.
Junior Suite
Spacious Junior Suite features one (1) Queen Bed, Full Living Room Area with full size sofa bed, and Full Kitchen.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The River Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9014 -77.0537
Area served
Washington D.C.,Georgetown,West-end,Foggy Bottom
Nearby airports
DCA - Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport IAD - Washington Dulles International Airport BWI - Balitmore Washington Airport
Area description
Nestled in the historic tree-lined neighborhood of Foggy Bottom; just steps away from The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and Georgetown with restaurants, multi-plex theatres and shops. Sweeping views of the Potomac River and minutes away from scenic C&O Canal.

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.5 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.5 mi

Dining

Dish + Drinks
Located on the Hotel's lobby level, Dish + Drinks offers American Cuisine with a Contemporary Twist. A popular spot for Pre/Post Theater events wiith a trendy full-service Bar. Reservations recommended.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The River Inn has improved its meeting facilities to accommodate the needs of the business professional. Three elegantly appointed meeting rooms provide a productive working environment for up to 50 people. The River Inn is ideal for board meetings, business planning sessions, seminars, and working luncheons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for The River Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
mirrorofrapture
Seattle, Wa
Jul 16, 2012

Great Value

It exceeded my expectations for what we paid for it. The location is great, the staff helpful, the room clean and the amenities fantastic. Totally wasn't expecting to have a kitchen and living room included in the price of $130!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
Karl L
Walnut Creek, CA
Jul 9, 2012

Great place to see Washington from

The junior suite idea is great. We could make our own meals. Trader Joes and Whole Foods are nearby. The Foggy Bottom GWU line is within walking distance and Georgetown is too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
angelwings
Miami, FL, USA
Jul 4, 2012

Absolute excellent choice within price range

I used this hotel as a lay over to tour monuments. I selected the jr. suite which had a kitchen sofa bed and queen bed. Room was large and accommodating if my other guest would have stayed. It was a block and 1/2 away from Metro, which got you around practically to everything. I wish my stay was longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Location was great to areas I wanted to visit

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

3
jicjoeli
Hong Kong
Jul 3, 2012

friend

staff is no good and bad maner, location is bad, not eay to find and no other shop near by will not come again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
spring laker
NY,NY
Jun 19, 2012

Perfect getaway

Hotel was centrally located in Foggy Bottom. It was an easy walking distance to Georgetown and the Mall. Close to the Metro. Came home and told my daughters that it was a great family spot, since it had a seperate kitchinette. I will definitely make this my go to hotel in Washington from now on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

To reach the waterfront in Georgetown go via Virginia Ave. Takes you right there.

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
Zzzzzz
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jun 17, 2012

family vacation to DC

Got a great deal on hotel. Upgraded to 2 queen beds /suite since all rooms were full. The beds were comfortable and clean. Kitchette was great for simple brkfast and dinners occasionally. The coffee bean/grinder for morning coffee was excellent!! However, the microwave was weak, one stove range did not work and the garbage disposal leaked. Minor inconvenience. More major thing for me is the sofa which is fairly worn down-- got bitten everytime I sat on it.! The other thing is the kitchen floor was kinda dirty and sticky. Maid never mopped it during my 8 day stay. Despite of the above, had a great time in D.C. with hotel in a very safe area near University having Metro 2 blks away and grocery store 1+ blk away. Would stay there again if I get the same deal as this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
Moonbeam917
Mobile, AL
Jun 14, 2012

Anniversary trip

Hotel is situated where surrounding area is mostly residential so it is relatively quiet but just two blocks from the metro station so it's very convenient. Room was great with large windows and comfy bed. Kitchenette was a big asset so you could eat breakfast in the room if you wanted and grocery stores are 2-3 blocks away. Staff was very helpful-even printing out info for us. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
NC weekender
Raleigh, NC
Jun 12, 2012

Big Rooms and Great Location

We were not expecting the room to be as big as it was. There was a full kitchen and a sleeper sofa couch. The rooms look like they were recently updated (besides the kitchen) and they did a great job. There was a dish and cup left in the sink by the cleaning crew but other than that it was very nice. Location cannot get much better among the row houses of Foggy Bottom and a 5 minute walk to the Metro Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
Northern VA visitor
Reston, VA
Jun 11, 2012

Location and comfort

We got this hotel for 50% off or else we would not be able to afford staying here! Every room is a junior suite with bedroom, living room/dining/kitchen separated. The hotel provides you with coffee maker, beans and a grinder with enough pots, pans and etc to actually make your own meals! This is two blocks from Foggy Bottom Metro station so it's a quick walk to restaurants and whatever in nearby tony Georgetown. We would love to come back and make this our base for DC visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
Snowden
Philadelphia PA
Jun 11, 2012

Homeboy get-together

Three of us old buddies from different parts of the country came to DC for a weekend, all of us at the River Inn. My room was a nice size, clean, well-appointed, nothing I would've added. Staff (front desk) were very helpful and knowledgeable, esp. about transpo to Dulles Airport, which is way, way out of the city. Restaurant was open for B, L & D and had good food. Location is ideal for going downtown or to Georgetown. I'd unhesitatingly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The DC Metro stop is 2 blocks from this hotel. It can take you to pretty much any of the areas you'd want to visit for business or touring, other than Georgetown, which is walking distance. Parking is tough in DC anywhere downtown or on the Mall. So use the Metro.

Back to menu Return to top