$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The River Inn

3 stars
View map of 924 25th Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The River Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Giants Fan
Family
Los Angeles, CA
May 17, 2013

Great Family Vacation

The River Inn truly is a hidden gem. It's tucked away in the middle of Foggy Bottom and is VERY convenient to buses and the Foggy Bottom metro station. The 32 and 36 bus lines is a 5 minute walk away and these lines will get you to nearly all of the important monuments and museums that you want to see in DC. The neighborhood is a great walking neighborhood and convenient to a lot of restaurants. Each room has a kitchenette that came in very hand for my family as we decided to eat breakfast in our room most mornings to save some time and money. Its also within a 5 minute walk to a Trader Joes! The staff were very friendly and my daughter enjoyed saying hi to the doorman each morning of our stay. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during our visit and will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the 32 or 36 bus line, which is less than a 5 minute walk away. You can get a week bus pass for $14 which gives you unlimited rides. These two lines runs to Georgetown and the National Mall. Its cheaper than the metro.

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luv2Travel2013
Couples
Oklahoma
May 15, 2013

Great place to stay!

We couldn't have been happier! We did have some minor issues with the air conditioner, but other than that it was a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's is a great grocery store just a 5 minute walk away. Since the rooms have a kitchen, it works out great to get supplies at the store and eat in the room.

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Twista
Friends
Pennsylvania
May 13, 2013

Friendly Hotel in Quaint Area

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was clean. Nice marble bathroom. Little kitchen with big fridge. Comfy bed and comfy pull-out couch. Area is quaint. Close to metro and Georgetown. Really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Pain Quotidien is a short walk away and perfect for a nice, reasonable breakfast or lunch.

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kalimitra
Friends
NH
Apr 27, 2013

Girls Trip to DC

If you want glitz, marble and red carpet everywhere then find yourself another hotel. If you want an excellent value, comfortable beds and sofa beds, clean and shiny everything throughout, large comfortable sitting and dining space, a small studio kitchen with a clean refrigerator, a Trader Joes and Whole Foods market 5 minute walk for grocery runs, the cutest tree lined street in Foggy Bottom, safe neighborhood, a 3 minute walk to Metro, a 5 minute walk to FB historic district with fabulous restaurants, a small cafe on site, free shuttle to/from Kennedy Center just around the corner, George Washington University Hospital a block away, and staff that are courteous, helpful and kind, then you might want to stay at The River Inn. The only hang up for us was that the kitchen counter outlet wasn't working and we had to plug the coffee pot in an outlet near dining table. We didn't use the stove but used dishes and refrigerator and HK stocked the fresh coffee beans and clean kitchen linens each day. I will recommend this hotel to family, friends and colleagues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DIstrict Common and Founding Farmers Restaurants for delicious freshly prepared foods, reasonably priced.

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Great Weldini
Single
Covington, Georgia
Apr 22, 2013

Underrated

Check in was effortless and swift and I was upgraded to a king bed suite, a beautiful room with windows looking out toward Georgetown and toward the Watergate and the Kennedy Center. I had two meals in the restaurant and found the service and the food to be excellent. It's on a quiet side street in Foggy Bottom, just a short walk from the Foggy Bottom/GWU Metro stop and the shops and restaurants around that hub. I had meetings at the Kennedy Center, so access was simple: a short walk, only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I flew into BWI and took an express bus from the airport to the Green Belt stop on the Metro Green Line. While I had some platform waits, the ride to near my hotel in Foggy Bottom was only about a half hour longer than the shuttle ride from the hotel to the airport, and a fourth of the price!

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PLB15
Couples
Ga
Apr 7, 2013

Great Location and Great Staff

Stayed April 3-6. Entire staff was welcoming and sensitive to our needs. Location is 2 blocks from Foggy Bottom Metro. Would recommend The River Inn and plan on returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time visitor to WA
Business
China
Apr 6, 2013

Great value in a prime location

The River Inn provides great value in the prime Foggy Bottom area. IThe spacious rooms are set up as efficiencies with fully equipped kitchens - especially nice for a longer stay. The only quibble is that there was no information in the room with the standard description of amenities and services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jonlea
Friends
San Diego, California
Apr 2, 2013

Home away from home

Great service...Zee, the bellman, anticipates all needs; housekeeping efficient and helpful; front desk professional & knowledgeable and great food and service folks. Great location....comfortable and roomy rooms and convenient kitchens:-). Cozy, good views and central to art, politics, culture and nature!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Free concerts at Kennedy Center EVERY night...something for everyone..classical, pop, folk..all there..enjoy!

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eastside mom
Family
Cleveland, Ohio
Mar 31, 2013

Absolutely wonderful!!

Perfect for the 3 of us (husband, son and me). Location was great and appreciated that the hotel was on a quiet street. Room was spacious, loved the layout; we didn't feel cramped at all. Having a kitchen was a huge help, we could have a quick breakfast then head out for sightseeing. We ate dinner at the restaurant twice and enjoyed the food, especially the diver scallops and mushroom risotto! Staff were friendly and helpful. We walked or took the Metro which was easy to find and a short walk away. We would definitely stay here again. Loved Washington, D.C.!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GWU Freshman Mom
Single
Northern NJ
Mar 26, 2013

Perfect location for GWU Parent Visits

Staff friendly and accomodating. Room was great with kitchenette. Beware reserved taxis leave if you are not waiting for them in lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

District Commons is a fun restaurant with great food and lively ambiance.

Back to menu Return to top