$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

The River Inn

3 stars
924 25th Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
113 reviews
Quaint area of DC

I love this hotel! The area it is located in is so quaint, you barely notice you are in a big... See full review

  • Twista
  • May 12, 2014
Great Hotel

A must stay in DC. Great amenities and the staff was very helpful See full review

  • Adam Urness
  • May 7, 2014
The River Inn is a Boutique, Full Service All-Suite Hotel located in the Historic Foggy Bottom District of Washington, DC. The Hotel is within walking distance of the Kennedy Center, Georgetown, and The National Mall. With Metro less than two blocks from The River Inn, all of Washington DC's attractions are easily accessible. Dish + Drinks restaurant, on the lobby level, offers Modern American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The River Inn was selected this year as one of Washington DC's Top 5 Hotel Values.

Hotel Map

38.9014 -77.0537
Area served
Washington D.C.,Georgetown,West-end,Foggy Bottom
Nearby airports
DCA - Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport IAD - Washington Dulles International Airport BWI - Balitmore Washington Airport
Area description
Nestled in the historic tree-lined neighborhood of Foggy Bottom; just steps away from The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and Georgetown with restaurants, multi-plex theatres and shops. Sweeping views of the Potomac River and minutes away from scenic C&O Canal.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The River Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The River Inn Rooms

One Bedroom King Suite
This One Bedroom Suite features (1) King Bed in a separate Bedroom from the rest of the Suite. In addition, this Spacious Suite features a Living Room Area for Relaxing (with one (1) Full Sized Sofa Bed), Large Work Desk with Complimentary Wi-Fi, Separate Dining Table, and Fully Equipped Kitchen.
One Bedroom Double Suite
Specious one bedroom suite with a separate living room, furnished with two double beds, a couch that pulls out to a full size sofa bed, dinette table and fully equipped kitchen. This beautifully appointed suite offers complimentary high speed Internet, and is equipped with High Definition flat screen TVs (one in each area) iHOME alarm clocks and DVD players per request.
Junior Suite
Spacious Junior Suite features one (1) Queen Bed, Full Living Room Area with full size sofa bed, and Full Kitchen.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.5 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The River Inn has improved its meeting facilities to accommodate the needs of the business professional. Three elegantly appointed meeting rooms provide a productive working environment for up to 50 people. The River Inn is ideal for board meetings, business planning sessions, seminars, and working luncheons.

Dining

Dish + Drinks
Located on the Hotel's lobby level, Dish + Drinks offers American Cuisine with a Contemporary Twist. A popular spot for Pre/Post Theater events wiith a trendy full-service Bar. Reservations recommended.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for The River Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tam681
Foggy Bottom, Washington, DC
Mar 4, 2014

Good

Stayed only for one night - very fast check in/out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suitcase always packed
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 5, 2012

An unexpected surprise!

The tucked away location made this a little hard to find late at night but the drive-around was worth it once I checked in. I found a very large, nicely furnished room with huge windows and sparkling clean, fairly upscale bathroom. Unexpectedly I also found a well equipped kitchen - sink, fridge, microwave, two-burner gas cook top and all the dishes, mugs and cutlery etc I might need. A very nice bonus was that the coffee-maker came coffee beans and grinder.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ready couple-of-block access to Metro - blue line

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Kansas getaway
Lawrence, Kansas
Sep 25, 2012

Fantastic Kansas getaway

This hotel is situated very close to the Metro, grocery stores. Nice quiet neighborhood also. The staff was helpful. A good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Whole Foods and several restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martio
Boston, MA
Feb 24, 2013

Great access to GW, Georgetown and Metro, family friendly

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of my stay. the staff was very nice and the hotel felt more expensive than it was. I upgraded to a suite when I got there at a very fair price considering I booked on line I was traveling with my two teenage boys so having two rooms and 2 TVs and a kitchen was perfect. The rooms one the "river" side have beautiful views of Virgina at the 3rd floor and above. You can grab quick meals at the whole foods a few blocks away. I didn't try the restaurant but it was always busy and the menu looked delicious. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole Foods at Foggy Bottom has a huge prepared foods section, even breakfast, and plenty of seating. Not cheap, but convenient and delicious - great for traveling families.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rock La
Philadelphia
May 7, 2012

Top notch!

Great location, excellent value and very personable staff. Highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ya Ya
New Braunfels,TX
Jun 5, 2012

Felt like a European neighborhood

We had a wonderful experience. The hotel is within walking distance of the Foggy Bottom metro station, Georgetown restaurants and shops, Trader Joe's and Whole Foods. Nice room with a full size refrigerator, microwave and even coffee beans and a grinder for that essential first cup. Bed was comfy and people were friendly and helpful. Perfect weather added to our experience. All in all a great get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the great and varied restaurants on M Street. There is a free concert everyday at 6pm in the Kennedy Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanbernar
Ann Arbor
Mar 13, 2013

Very nice hotel

The hotel is very nice, locate in walking distance from white house (15-20 minutes with 3 years old kid). The area is very nice, looks like Europe. The only concerns is parking fee which is $40 per day...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul from Israel
Israel
Feb 13, 2013

Well above average for 3 stars

The staff is very helpful. Metro is close by and there is whole foods store near the metro station. The kitchen was more than adaquate. The rooms are resonably sizes, but the plumbing is old and the pressue is low, the hat takes a while and the drains had to be cleaned. The cost of parking ($34 plus tax) seems outragous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Dre
Northern, VA, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Great Night!

My Wife and I really enjoyed the River Inn! We loved the room, it was just right for our little getaway. We thought the valet parking charge was quite high, but overall, we had a wonderful, relaxing evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy V
Lansing, NY
May 31, 2012

Great over night stay

We stayed here for one night while we were moving our daughter home from her internship in DC. The staff was especially friendly. They greeted us at the door, and made our stay wonderful. The room and was clean and spacious, and the hotel is within walking distance of some wonderful restaurants and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Founding Farmers - it was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top