$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The River Inn

3 stars
View map of 924 25th Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The River Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Obee
Maine
Jan 27, 2013

The River Inn

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The full kitchen was great. The only problem was the gas stove did not light so we had to get some matches. Only having 1 working elevator (the other was being renovated) was just a little bit inconvenient at times. The location is perfect - 2 blocks from the Metro and grocery stores, restaurants, near the Mall. Very clean, quiet; I can't wait to visit DC again and stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mountain Ma'am
Business
Bastrop, TX
Mar 6, 2013

True Hospitality

The hotel is chic, and on a quiet street with well tended gardens, just a short walk from the Metro station and the Kennedy Center. The kindness of the staff makes it even more special. The food is terrific. There's a rain shower in the bathroom. The bed is divine. Even the sofa bed is exquisitely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Duck Tavern. Fun breakfast. Locavore menu. Superb service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Bella
Business
Virginia
Mar 5, 2013

Comfortable stay

Although this is a small hotel and does not have the amenities larger hotels offer, our family had a wonderful weekend stay at The River Inn. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious, and the kitchenette was a great help with making breakfast in the room. We also enjoyed the hotel restaurant on our first evening there -- pricey, but both the food and the wine selections were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your breakfast ingredients at the nearby Whole Foods instead of the 7-Eleven!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martio
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 24, 2013

Great access to GW, Georgetown and Metro, family friendly

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of my stay. the staff was very nice and the hotel felt more expensive than it was. I upgraded to a suite when I got there at a very fair price considering I booked on line I was traveling with my two teenage boys so having two rooms and 2 TVs and a kitchen was perfect. The rooms one the "river" side have beautiful views of Virgina at the 3rd floor and above. You can grab quick meals at the whole foods a few blocks away. I didn't try the restaurant but it was always busy and the menu looked delicious. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole Foods at Foggy Bottom has a huge prepared foods section, even breakfast, and plenty of seating. Not cheap, but convenient and delicious - great for traveling families.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate business traveler
Business
Philadelphia
Feb 22, 2013

Great Great Place

This should definitely be a 4 star. The staff were wonderful and thoughtful. I had some trouble with hot water which they fixed immediately and offered a free breakfast -- a terrific offer given their restaurant. I recommend highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Whole Foods just beyond the Metro

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MB2013
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 20, 2013

Trip with friends

very close to the metro (under 10 minutes walk, two blocks), SUCH comfortable beds, a rain-style shower (?), awesome view of the Watergate Hotel, and very kind staff! I actually stayed there about 6 years ago, and unknowingly booked the same hotel again this time. It was good the first time, and also good the second!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Father of College Tourist
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Feb 18, 2013

DC College Tour

The staff were amazingly helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Circe
Business
Atlanta
Feb 15, 2013

Definetely a repeat

we traveled to DC mixing bussiness and pleasure. The location is excellent and the staff was outstanding! I can say that I have found my new favorite. The quiet and quaint street and the charm of the area makes it a great place. Upon checking in we had a problem with the room and had to be moved. Any hotel can have problems, but what makes the difference is to how they respond and that is were they became one of my favorites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Men from Stonewall
Business
Somerset County, NJ
Feb 14, 2013

Feels like home

All the advantages of a small hotel: the staff recognized us whenever we went through the lobby; no waiting for anything. The junior suite was really comfortable with the galley kitchen and huge desk and work area. Be sure to try the restaurant for dinner at least once. It was surprisingly good. And it's evident that people living in the neighborhood regularly have dinner there. One elevator is still out of service for renovation, but there was no inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro station is just a 3-block walk through a beautiful historic neighborhood and GWU.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul from Israel
Business
Israel
Feb 13, 2013

Well above average for 3 stars

The staff is very helpful. Metro is close by and there is whole foods store near the metro station. The kitchen was more than adaquate. The rooms are resonably sizes, but the plumbing is old and the pressue is low, the hat takes a while and the drains had to be cleaned. The cost of parking ($34 plus tax) seems outragous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nisha P
Business
Suffolk VA
Feb 11, 2013

You will Love your stay

This hotel was a great home away from home. The staff were exceptional. They were amazing. We got a free room upgrade. Great advice on restaurants, things to do and quick transit routes. Everything is within minutes away. We were able to convienently get to stores and monuments on foot. Loving qaint hotel. Room was very spacious and I love the way the suites are set up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top