$113 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

The River Inn

3 stars
924 25th Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
113 reviews
Quaint area of DC

I love this hotel! The area it is located in is so quaint, you barely notice you are in a big... See full review

  • Twista
  • May 12, 2014
Great Hotel

A must stay in DC. Great amenities and the staff was very helpful See full review

  • Adam Urness
  • May 7, 2014
The River Inn is a Boutique, Full Service All-Suite Hotel located in the Historic Foggy Bottom District of Washington, DC. The Hotel is within walking distance of the Kennedy Center, Georgetown, and The National Mall. With Metro less than two blocks from The River Inn, all of Washington DC's attractions are easily accessible. Dish + Drinks restaurant, on the lobby level, offers Modern American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The River Inn was selected this year as one of Washington DC's Top 5 Hotel Values.

Hotel Map

38.9014 -77.0537
Area served
Washington D.C.,Georgetown,West-end,Foggy Bottom
Nearby airports
DCA - Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport IAD - Washington Dulles International Airport BWI - Balitmore Washington Airport
Area description
Nestled in the historic tree-lined neighborhood of Foggy Bottom; just steps away from The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and Georgetown with restaurants, multi-plex theatres and shops. Sweeping views of the Potomac River and minutes away from scenic C&O Canal.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The River Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The River Inn Rooms

One Bedroom King Suite
This One Bedroom Suite features (1) King Bed in a separate Bedroom from the rest of the Suite. In addition, this Spacious Suite features a Living Room Area for Relaxing (with one (1) Full Sized Sofa Bed), Large Work Desk with Complimentary Wi-Fi, Separate Dining Table, and Fully Equipped Kitchen.
One Bedroom Double Suite
Specious one bedroom suite with a separate living room, furnished with two double beds, a couch that pulls out to a full size sofa bed, dinette table and fully equipped kitchen. This beautifully appointed suite offers complimentary high speed Internet, and is equipped with High Definition flat screen TVs (one in each area) iHOME alarm clocks and DVD players per request.
Junior Suite
Spacious Junior Suite features one (1) Queen Bed, Full Living Room Area with full size sofa bed, and Full Kitchen.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.5 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.5 mi

Dining

Dish + Drinks
Located on the Hotel's lobby level, Dish + Drinks offers American Cuisine with a Contemporary Twist. A popular spot for Pre/Post Theater events wiith a trendy full-service Bar. Reservations recommended.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The River Inn has improved its meeting facilities to accommodate the needs of the business professional. Three elegantly appointed meeting rooms provide a productive working environment for up to 50 people. The River Inn is ideal for board meetings, business planning sessions, seminars, and working luncheons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for The River Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kalimitra
Business
NH
Apr 27, 2013

Girls Trip to DC

If you want glitz, marble and red carpet everywhere then find yourself another hotel. If you want an excellent value, comfortable beds and sofa beds, clean and shiny everything throughout, large comfortable sitting and dining space, a small studio kitchen with a clean refrigerator, a Trader Joes and Whole Foods market 5 minute walk for grocery runs, the cutest tree lined street in Foggy Bottom, safe neighborhood, a 3 minute walk to Metro, a 5 minute walk to FB historic district with fabulous restaurants, a small cafe on site, free shuttle to/from Kennedy Center just around the corner, George Washington University Hospital a block away, and staff that are courteous, helpful and kind, then you might want to stay at The River Inn. The only hang up for us was that the kitchen counter outlet wasn't working and we had to plug the coffee pot in an outlet near dining table. We didn't use the stove but used dishes and refrigerator and HK stocked the fresh coffee beans and clean kitchen linens each day. I will recommend this hotel to family, friends and colleagues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DIstrict Common and Founding Farmers Restaurants for delicious freshly prepared foods, reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Twista
Business
Pennsylvania
May 13, 2013

Friendly Hotel in Quaint Area

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was clean. Nice marble bathroom. Little kitchen with big fridge. Comfy bed and comfy pull-out couch. Area is quaint. Close to metro and Georgetown. Really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Pain Quotidien is a short walk away and perfect for a nice, reasonable breakfast or lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Giants Fan
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 17, 2013

Great Family Vacation

The River Inn truly is a hidden gem. It's tucked away in the middle of Foggy Bottom and is VERY convenient to buses and the Foggy Bottom metro station. The 32 and 36 bus lines is a 5 minute walk away and these lines will get you to nearly all of the important monuments and museums that you want to see in DC. The neighborhood is a great walking neighborhood and convenient to a lot of restaurants. Each room has a kitchenette that came in very hand for my family as we decided to eat breakfast in our room most mornings to save some time and money. Its also within a 5 minute walk to a Trader Joes! The staff were very friendly and my daughter enjoyed saying hi to the doorman each morning of our stay. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during our visit and will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the 32 or 36 bus line, which is less than a 5 minute walk away. You can get a week bus pass for $14 which gives you unlimited rides. These two lines runs to Georgetown and the National Mall. Its cheaper than the metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luv2Travel2013
Business
Oklahoma
May 15, 2013

Great place to stay!

We couldn't have been happier! We did have some minor issues with the air conditioner, but other than that it was a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's is a great grocery store just a 5 minute walk away. Since the rooms have a kitchen, it works out great to get supplies at the store and eat in the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alanalana
Business
nyc
May 28, 2013

great service

They were very friendly. Their location is great except it is in the business district, so nothing is open on the weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sueandtim
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 15, 2013

Excellent, clean and friendly hotel. A great value.

The room was great; spacious, comfortable, clean and with great views of the city. The neighborhood was safe, beautiful and good for walking. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again, if I am in Washington DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guesnerth
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Aug 16, 2013

Great Hotel

The hotel was great, the room was clean and uses the space well. It surprisingly had a small kitchen, which I didn't use but could have if I wanted to. Highly recommended hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro station is a very short walk from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Otter Mom
Business
Tillamook, OR
Dec 30, 2010

A "Hidden Gem"

This older hotel was a real surprise. I called ahead to make sure our reservation was secure and when the agent couldn't find our name, he called [...]to see what should have been there. He called me back in a timely manner. When we arrived, we found we had been upgraded to a suite at no additional charge. The rate was already very reasonable. This suite included a complete kitchen with stove, microwave, fridge, dishes and COFFEE BEANS and a grinder. This was nice for those chilly winter days in DC. Although small, the bathroom was very clean and nicely appointed. There was a separate vanity area. A nice restaurant was attached to the lobby. My son and husband found it good and fairly priced. The reasonable rate was even more surprising when one considered the location. It was within easy walking distance of the Capitol Mall and just over a block from the Metro station yet was on a quiet street. If I return to the DC area, I would make every effort to get reservations there again. The only thing lacking was a free breakfast, but it had the big chains all beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond VA
Jul 17, 2011

Perfect for the Kennedy Center and Georg

Great base to explore DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Filomenia is an incredible Italian restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rohdesign
Business
Milwaukee
Apr 30, 2011

Great location and amenities in DC

Our family of 4 visited DC in April 2011 and found the River Inn a perfect fit for our week long stay. Since it had a kitchenette, we were able to buy and make several meals, saving money for other activities. Just East of the Inn on I street was the Foggy Bottom Metro stop which let us travel quickly and conveniently to the Zoo, Smithsonian museums, the Mall and more. We also enjoyed two Thai restaurants on Pennsylvania Avenue just north of the Inn. GWU has a handy food court on campus, there is the Cone E Istalnd ice cream shop near GWU on I and a farmer's market on I near GWU on Wednesdays too. Several Starbucks are also in the neighborhood. The hop on / hop off tour busses which travel to the Mall stop right at the One Washington Circle Hotel just Northeast of the Inn as well. However, most everything is easily accessible via the Metro stop in Foggy Bottom. We loved the River Inn and will stay there again when visiting DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

be sure to stop at Trader Joe's a bit north of the River Inn and the Safeway south in the Watergate Hotel lower level for shopping needs. We picked up groceries for our family the very first day and it saved us money our entire week. There is also a 7-Eleven around the corner off I street for convenience foods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top