$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 29, 2015

The River Inn

3 stars
View map of 924 25th Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The River Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eastside mom
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Mar 31, 2013

Absolutely wonderful!!

Perfect for the 3 of us (husband, son and me). Location was great and appreciated that the hotel was on a quiet street. Room was spacious, loved the layout; we didn't feel cramped at all. Having a kitchen was a huge help, we could have a quick breakfast then head out for sightseeing. We ate dinner at the restaurant twice and enjoyed the food, especially the diver scallops and mushroom risotto! Staff were friendly and helpful. We walked or took the Metro which was easy to find and a short walk away. We would definitely stay here again. Loved Washington, D.C.!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GWU Freshman Mom
Business
Northern NJ
Mar 26, 2013

Perfect location for GWU Parent Visits

Staff friendly and accomodating. Room was great with kitchenette. Beware reserved taxis leave if you are not waiting for them in lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

District Commons is a fun restaurant with great food and lively ambiance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shanks2
Business
Durham, NC
Mar 18, 2013

A very pleasant surprise!

The River Inn was just wonderful. The hotel is nicely decorated and clean as can be. The rooms are all suites and therefore quite spacious. It was so nice to have a full size refrigerator and whole coffee beans along with a coffee grinder. The staff was wonderful and over the top helpful. We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ddnd
Business
Delaware
Mar 16, 2013

best for gwu parents

friendly staff, great location from gwu, good restaurant,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanbernar
Business
Ann Arbor
Mar 13, 2013

Very nice hotel

The hotel is very nice, locate in walking distance from white house (15-20 minutes with 3 years old kid). The area is very nice, looks like Europe. The only concerns is parking fee which is $40 per day...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mountain Ma'am
Business
Bastrop, TX
Mar 6, 2013

True Hospitality

The hotel is chic, and on a quiet street with well tended gardens, just a short walk from the Metro station and the Kennedy Center. The kindness of the staff makes it even more special. The food is terrific. There's a rain shower in the bathroom. The bed is divine. Even the sofa bed is exquisitely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Duck Tavern. Fun breakfast. Locavore menu. Superb service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Bella
Business
Virginia
Mar 5, 2013

Comfortable stay

Although this is a small hotel and does not have the amenities larger hotels offer, our family had a wonderful weekend stay at The River Inn. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious, and the kitchenette was a great help with making breakfast in the room. We also enjoyed the hotel restaurant on our first evening there -- pricey, but both the food and the wine selections were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your breakfast ingredients at the nearby Whole Foods instead of the 7-Eleven!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martio
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 24, 2013

Great access to GW, Georgetown and Metro, family friendly

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of my stay. the staff was very nice and the hotel felt more expensive than it was. I upgraded to a suite when I got there at a very fair price considering I booked on line I was traveling with my two teenage boys so having two rooms and 2 TVs and a kitchen was perfect. The rooms one the "river" side have beautiful views of Virgina at the 3rd floor and above. You can grab quick meals at the whole foods a few blocks away. I didn't try the restaurant but it was always busy and the menu looked delicious. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole Foods at Foggy Bottom has a huge prepared foods section, even breakfast, and plenty of seating. Not cheap, but convenient and delicious - great for traveling families.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate business traveler
Business
Philadelphia
Feb 22, 2013

Great Great Place

This should definitely be a 4 star. The staff were wonderful and thoughtful. I had some trouble with hot water which they fixed immediately and offered a free breakfast -- a terrific offer given their restaurant. I recommend highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Whole Foods just beyond the Metro

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MB2013
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 20, 2013

Trip with friends

very close to the metro (under 10 minutes walk, two blocks), SUCH comfortable beds, a rain-style shower (?), awesome view of the Watergate Hotel, and very kind staff! I actually stayed there about 6 years ago, and unknowingly booked the same hotel again this time. It was good the first time, and also good the second!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top