$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The River Inn

3 stars
View map of 924 25th Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The River Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
philliestravel
Business
philadelphia pa
Jun 1, 2013

Great Hotel in Foggy Bottom

From the time we arrive until the time we left the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Georgetown for shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
philliestravel
Business
philadelphia pa
May 29, 2013

Very Friendly Staff

Great location in Foggy Bottom and very friendly staff. Spacious rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alanalana
Business
nyc
May 28, 2013

great service

They were very friendly. Their location is great except it is in the business district, so nothing is open on the weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tourist with heart
Business
beautiful places
May 23, 2013

our stay was short and very comfortable

the staff was very helpful and although very late at night when we checked in they helped us right away. felt safe and quiet and just the perfect temperature too. a very nice place to return to if one needs to be in Washington dc. it is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

when traveling have a clear sense of where each stop is in relationship to your entire day and what you want to accomplish. then just go do it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dianne D
Business
Scituate MA
May 19, 2013

Beautiful street, great location!

Very comfortable hotel. Having a full kitchen is a wonderful convenience. This was my 5th stay at The River, and I have never been disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Giants Fan
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 17, 2013

Great Family Vacation

The River Inn truly is a hidden gem. It's tucked away in the middle of Foggy Bottom and is VERY convenient to buses and the Foggy Bottom metro station. The 32 and 36 bus lines is a 5 minute walk away and these lines will get you to nearly all of the important monuments and museums that you want to see in DC. The neighborhood is a great walking neighborhood and convenient to a lot of restaurants. Each room has a kitchenette that came in very hand for my family as we decided to eat breakfast in our room most mornings to save some time and money. Its also within a 5 minute walk to a Trader Joes! The staff were very friendly and my daughter enjoyed saying hi to the doorman each morning of our stay. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during our visit and will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the 32 or 36 bus line, which is less than a 5 minute walk away. You can get a week bus pass for $14 which gives you unlimited rides. These two lines runs to Georgetown and the National Mall. Its cheaper than the metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luv2Travel2013
Business
Oklahoma
May 15, 2013

Great place to stay!

We couldn't have been happier! We did have some minor issues with the air conditioner, but other than that it was a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's is a great grocery store just a 5 minute walk away. Since the rooms have a kitchen, it works out great to get supplies at the store and eat in the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Twista
Business
Pennsylvania
May 13, 2013

Friendly Hotel in Quaint Area

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was clean. Nice marble bathroom. Little kitchen with big fridge. Comfy bed and comfy pull-out couch. Area is quaint. Close to metro and Georgetown. Really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Pain Quotidien is a short walk away and perfect for a nice, reasonable breakfast or lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kalimitra
Business
NH
Apr 27, 2013

Girls Trip to DC

If you want glitz, marble and red carpet everywhere then find yourself another hotel. If you want an excellent value, comfortable beds and sofa beds, clean and shiny everything throughout, large comfortable sitting and dining space, a small studio kitchen with a clean refrigerator, a Trader Joes and Whole Foods market 5 minute walk for grocery runs, the cutest tree lined street in Foggy Bottom, safe neighborhood, a 3 minute walk to Metro, a 5 minute walk to FB historic district with fabulous restaurants, a small cafe on site, free shuttle to/from Kennedy Center just around the corner, George Washington University Hospital a block away, and staff that are courteous, helpful and kind, then you might want to stay at The River Inn. The only hang up for us was that the kitchen counter outlet wasn't working and we had to plug the coffee pot in an outlet near dining table. We didn't use the stove but used dishes and refrigerator and HK stocked the fresh coffee beans and clean kitchen linens each day. I will recommend this hotel to family, friends and colleagues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DIstrict Common and Founding Farmers Restaurants for delicious freshly prepared foods, reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Great Weldini
Business
Covington, Georgia
Apr 22, 2013

Underrated

Check in was effortless and swift and I was upgraded to a king bed suite, a beautiful room with windows looking out toward Georgetown and toward the Watergate and the Kennedy Center. I had two meals in the restaurant and found the service and the food to be excellent. It's on a quiet side street in Foggy Bottom, just a short walk from the Foggy Bottom/GWU Metro stop and the shops and restaurants around that hub. I had meetings at the Kennedy Center, so access was simple: a short walk, only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I flew into BWI and took an express bus from the airport to the Green Belt stop on the Metro Green Line. While I had some platform waits, the ride to near my hotel in Foggy Bottom was only about a half hour longer than the shuttle ride from the hotel to the airport, and a fourth of the price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top