$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2015 Check-out: Aug 15, 2015

The River Inn

3 stars
View map of 924 25th Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The River Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theater pro
Business
Manhattan
Apr 26, 2011

Neighborhood feel,great for Kennedy Ctr.

Nice, slightly old neighborhood feel, elevator waits interminable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Otter Mom
Business
Tillamook, OR
Dec 30, 2010

A "Hidden Gem"

This older hotel was a real surprise. I called ahead to make sure our reservation was secure and when the agent couldn't find our name, he called [...]to see what should have been there. He called me back in a timely manner. When we arrived, we found we had been upgraded to a suite at no additional charge. The rate was already very reasonable. This suite included a complete kitchen with stove, microwave, fridge, dishes and COFFEE BEANS and a grinder. This was nice for those chilly winter days in DC. Although small, the bathroom was very clean and nicely appointed. There was a separate vanity area. A nice restaurant was attached to the lobby. My son and husband found it good and fairly priced. The reasonable rate was even more surprising when one considered the location. It was within easy walking distance of the Capitol Mall and just over a block from the Metro station yet was on a quiet street. If I return to the DC area, I would make every effort to get reservations there again. The only thing lacking was a free breakfast, but it had the big chains all beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Qu'est-ce que tu penses
Business
New York, NY
Jun 27, 2010

Great deal with easy access to the city.

I stayed two nights at the River Inn while in Washington for a conference. The hotel is located in Foggy Bottom, which isn't very near the Convention Center, but I was easily able to get there by Metro in about 20 minutes from the Foggy Bottom/GWU Metro stop nearby. The neighborhood doesn't have much going on at night, and food options seemed pretty limited, but there's a Trader Joe's up the street and a 7-11 on your way from the Metro stop, so there's ample opportunity to stock up on food for the room's full kitchen. The room itself was awesome. Very comfortable bed and couch, spacious desk and even a table to eat your meals at. There was a good iron and ironing board in the closet that I made use of, and the closets have safes that are big enough to hold a regular laptop computer. The bathroom was spotless and the shower was fantastic -- biggest shower head I have ever seen, no doubt about it. I had no problems with noise of any sort despite being on a low floor and facing the back of the property where the dumpsters are. I guess trash collection didn't occur during my two-night stay. Of course, I didn't have any sort of view, but that's not really important in DC since all the buildings are fairly small. Didn't have a chance to try the restaurant (I did try to order room service, but could never get through. Ditto trying to call the front desk.) The menu looked good and not outrageously pricey for room service in a major metropolitan area hotel. All things considered, the River Inn is an excellent deal for budget-minded travelers who do not want to skimp on amenities. I felt like I was staying at a much more expensive hotel, and despite the neighborhood being a bit quiet and residential, I still was close enough to public transit to get where I needed to go. Excellent stay, and I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Foggy Bottom is a little slow and the nightlife that is there caters more toward the fratty crowd that composes the enrollment of GWU. It takes a little effort, but check out the Red Room bar at Black Cat near the Cardozo stop on the Green/Yellow lines of the Metro if you are looking for a cool bar that doesn't feel very DC-ish. It's also near Ben's Chili Bowl, which has awesome late-night (and really any time for me) food like their famous Half-Smoke sausage covered in chili and chese.

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arqjuangomez
Business
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Mar 8, 2010

Suprisingly gratifying stay

Having gone over for only a couple of days the River Inn provided an extremely relaxing and comfortable place to get back to. Big room, elegant and useful appurtenances, restful environment and close proximity to train stations and ammenities. I plan to return to take advantage of their low rate weekend packages. In any case well worth every penny paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zumba Mom
Business
Central NJ
Mar 7, 2010

Great Location

This is a great little hotel similar to a European Boutique type hotel. Located 2 blocks from the Metro in a quiet neighborhood near GW University. We walked to Washington Harbour near Georgtown for dinner. Took the Metro eveywhere to the Museums and Library of Congress. Our car was parked on the premises and they brought it around for us on Sunday to drive to church at the National Cathedral.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would buy the day pass again for the Metro. It is a short walk to the station and you can get all over town

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 8, 2008

Great Location

We very much enjoyed our stay at the River Inn. The staff was very friendly, and the location was excellent. The street was quiet and very attractive, yet we were two blocks from the Metro. Also, we enjoyed the kitchen facilities, and there is a Trader Joe's two blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro two blocks away, Trader Joe's two blocks away

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 18, 2008

RIVER INN WASH D>C>

A comfortable suite hotel. Good sized room. Excellent location in Foggy Bottom. Quiet neighborhood. Easy walking distance to museums and Georgetown. Good variety of restaurants in the area. Breakfast in hotel restaurant Dish was very nice. Price of stay is great value for the money. Definitely recommend this Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Smithsonian museums and art galleries

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 4, 2007

Big Room, Nice to have a Kitchen

We liked the area we stayed in. The room was re-done a couple of years ago, but some finishing touches had been overlooked. Having the kitchen was great. We cooked two times while there and there was a grocery store a few blocks away that we walked to for groceries. Our internet access never worked properly, so they credited our room for it. I would recommend staying here. The staff is friendly and it is a good deal in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a metro very close by and taxi's are everywhere. We decided to walk to the white house area of DC. It might be too long for some people, but everything is very easy to get to one way or another.

Back to menu Return to top