$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 27, 2015 Check-out: Feb 28, 2015

The River Inn

3 stars
924 25th Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
115 reviews
Quaint area of DC

I love this hotel! The area it is located in is so quaint, you barely notice you are in a big... See full review

  • Twista
  • May 12, 2014
Great Hotel

A must stay in DC. Great amenities and the staff was very helpful See full review

  • Adam Urness
  • May 7, 2014
The River Inn is a Boutique, Full Service All-Suite Hotel located in the Historic Foggy Bottom District of Washington, DC. The Hotel is within walking distance of the Kennedy Center, Georgetown, and The National Mall. With Metro less than two blocks from The River Inn, all of Washington DC's attractions are easily accessible. Dish + Drinks restaurant, on the lobby level, offers Modern American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The River Inn was selected this year as one of Washington DC's Top 5 Hotel Values.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The River Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The River Inn Rooms

Junior Suite
Spacious Junior Suite features one (1) Queen Bed, Full Living Room Area with full size sofa bed, and Full Kitchen.
One Bedroom King Suite
This One Bedroom Suite features (1) King Bed in a separate Bedroom from the rest of the Suite. In addition, this Spacious Suite features a Living Room Area for Relaxing (with one (1) Full Sized Sofa Bed), Large Work Desk with Complimentary Wi-Fi, Separate Dining Table, and Fully Equipped Kitchen.
One Bedroom Double Suite
Specious one bedroom suite with a separate living room, furnished with two double beds, a couch that pulls out to a full size sofa bed, dinette table and fully equipped kitchen. This beautifully appointed suite offers complimentary high speed Internet, and is equipped with High Definition flat screen TVs (one in each area) iHOME alarm clocks and DVD players per request.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.5 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.5 mi

Dining

Dish + Drinks
Located on the Hotel's lobby level, Dish + Drinks offers American Cuisine with a Contemporary Twist. A popular spot for Pre/Post Theater events wiith a trendy full-service Bar. Reservations recommended.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The River Inn has improved its meeting facilities to accommodate the needs of the business professional. Three elegantly appointed meeting rooms provide a productive working environment for up to 50 people. The River Inn is ideal for board meetings, business planning sessions, seminars, and working luncheons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for The River Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Dre
Business
Northern, VA, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Great Night!

My Wife and I really enjoyed the River Inn! We loved the room, it was just right for our little getaway. We thought the valet parking charge was quite high, but overall, we had a wonderful, relaxing evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma Donna
Business
Stockton, CA, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Family DC Trip

Loved the front desk personnel, friendly, warm, and welcoming. Doormen, housekeepers, and restaurant staff were also great. Rooms were clean and comfortable, may need some fresh paint, but all in all very good. Located on a quiet street in Foggy Bottom very close to metro and restaurants in both Foggy Bottom and Georgetown. Worked well for our diverse group of travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TandM
Business
New York City
Oct 12, 2011

Great anniversary weekend

This hotel is great - very clean, on a quiet street in Foggy Bottom. It's far enough away from the crowds but close enough for easy access. The staff were excellent. We had a small problem with our bathroom sink and it was fixed immediately. The restaurant on site was very good and fairly priced. Our room came equipped with a small full service kitchen. Although we didn't cook, we were able to enjoy snacks and a cup of tea in the evenings. We would recommend this to anyone visiting DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy4849
Business
Newark, DE, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Great hotel

Great hotel to stay in. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. Nice and Continent location. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond VA
Jul 17, 2011

Perfect for the Kennedy Center and Georg

Great base to explore DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Filomenia is an incredible Italian restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kennedy Center Visitor
Business
New York
May 23, 2011

A Gem in a Charming Neighborhood

Inexpensive, nice-size suites with small kitchens, located on a beautiful, tree-lined residential block, walking distance from Georgetown and the Kennedy Center, the River Inn is a real find among DC hotels. I first stayed there years ago and loved it. I was hoping I would not find it worn and old on my return. On the contrary, the lobby and restaurant are sparkling and attractive, the suites are spacious and clean, with nice bathrooms, flat-screen TVs and a small kitchen, which even has a coffee grinder and fresh beans each day. The only drawback is the small beds, which are called queen-sized but seem smaller.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Kennedy Center is a 5-10 minute walk away and has wonderful cultural opportunities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rohdesign
Business
Milwaukee
Apr 30, 2011

Great location and amenities in DC

Our family of 4 visited DC in April 2011 and found the River Inn a perfect fit for our week long stay. Since it had a kitchenette, we were able to buy and make several meals, saving money for other activities. Just East of the Inn on I street was the Foggy Bottom Metro stop which let us travel quickly and conveniently to the Zoo, Smithsonian museums, the Mall and more. We also enjoyed two Thai restaurants on Pennsylvania Avenue just north of the Inn. GWU has a handy food court on campus, there is the Cone E Istalnd ice cream shop near GWU on I and a farmer's market on I near GWU on Wednesdays too. Several Starbucks are also in the neighborhood. The hop on / hop off tour busses which travel to the Mall stop right at the One Washington Circle Hotel just Northeast of the Inn as well. However, most everything is easily accessible via the Metro stop in Foggy Bottom. We loved the River Inn and will stay there again when visiting DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

be sure to stop at Trader Joe's a bit north of the River Inn and the Safeway south in the Watergate Hotel lower level for shopping needs. We picked up groceries for our family the very first day and it saved us money our entire week. There is also a 7-Eleven around the corner off I street for convenience foods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theater pro
Business
Manhattan
Apr 26, 2011

Neighborhood feel,great for Kennedy Ctr.

Nice, slightly old neighborhood feel, elevator waits interminable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Otter Mom
Business
Tillamook, OR
Dec 30, 2010

A "Hidden Gem"

This older hotel was a real surprise. I called ahead to make sure our reservation was secure and when the agent couldn't find our name, he called [...]to see what should have been there. He called me back in a timely manner. When we arrived, we found we had been upgraded to a suite at no additional charge. The rate was already very reasonable. This suite included a complete kitchen with stove, microwave, fridge, dishes and COFFEE BEANS and a grinder. This was nice for those chilly winter days in DC. Although small, the bathroom was very clean and nicely appointed. There was a separate vanity area. A nice restaurant was attached to the lobby. My son and husband found it good and fairly priced. The reasonable rate was even more surprising when one considered the location. It was within easy walking distance of the Capitol Mall and just over a block from the Metro station yet was on a quiet street. If I return to the DC area, I would make every effort to get reservations there again. The only thing lacking was a free breakfast, but it had the big chains all beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Qu'est-ce que tu penses
Business
New York, NY
Jun 27, 2010

Great deal with easy access to the city.

I stayed two nights at the River Inn while in Washington for a conference. The hotel is located in Foggy Bottom, which isn't very near the Convention Center, but I was easily able to get there by Metro in about 20 minutes from the Foggy Bottom/GWU Metro stop nearby. The neighborhood doesn't have much going on at night, and food options seemed pretty limited, but there's a Trader Joe's up the street and a 7-11 on your way from the Metro stop, so there's ample opportunity to stock up on food for the room's full kitchen. The room itself was awesome. Very comfortable bed and couch, spacious desk and even a table to eat your meals at. There was a good iron and ironing board in the closet that I made use of, and the closets have safes that are big enough to hold a regular laptop computer. The bathroom was spotless and the shower was fantastic -- biggest shower head I have ever seen, no doubt about it. I had no problems with noise of any sort despite being on a low floor and facing the back of the property where the dumpsters are. I guess trash collection didn't occur during my two-night stay. Of course, I didn't have any sort of view, but that's not really important in DC since all the buildings are fairly small. Didn't have a chance to try the restaurant (I did try to order room service, but could never get through. Ditto trying to call the front desk.) The menu looked good and not outrageously pricey for room service in a major metropolitan area hotel. All things considered, the River Inn is an excellent deal for budget-minded travelers who do not want to skimp on amenities. I felt like I was staying at a much more expensive hotel, and despite the neighborhood being a bit quiet and residential, I still was close enough to public transit to get where I needed to go. Excellent stay, and I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Foggy Bottom is a little slow and the nightlife that is there caters more toward the fratty crowd that composes the enrollment of GWU. It takes a little effort, but check out the Red Room bar at Black Cat near the Cardozo stop on the Green/Yellow lines of the Metro if you are looking for a cool bar that doesn't feel very DC-ish. It's also near Ben's Chili Bowl, which has awesome late-night (and really any time for me) food like their famous Half-Smoke sausage covered in chili and chese.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top