$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

The River Inn

3 stars
View map of 924 25th Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The River Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pinks
Washington, DC, USA
Dec 28, 2011

cozy hotel

Hotel is tucked away in Foggy Bottom and close to everything. Staff was lovely. The only negative thing I will say is the the silk headboard in our room was scratched up and threadfare. It left a poor impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
King and Queen
Couples
Maryland, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great weekend stay

The hotel was very nice. The staff was helpful and friendly. We could walk 10 minutes to Georgetown and shop or walk to the metro and head downtown to site see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arkipa
Family
Northfield, MN, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Excellent location and value for money; elegant and charming

We thought it was a great place, and thought it had just the right amount of everything in terms of amenities, combined with an outstanding location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Belita
Family
Central PA
Nov 20, 2011

Good Value

Watch out for the unadvertised parking fee which seemed to be quite steep. Off street parking was virtually non existent or came with stiff conditions, giving the sense of being trapped into the high cost parking. Nice to have a restuarant on site that also offered room service. The room was generous in size and kitchen was well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Memorials; in the heart of George Washington University campus. Great ambience.

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Dre
Couples
Northern, VA, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Great Night!

My Wife and I really enjoyed the River Inn! We loved the room, it was just right for our little getaway. We thought the valet parking charge was quite high, but overall, we had a wonderful, relaxing evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma Donna
Family
Stockton, CA, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Family DC Trip

Loved the front desk personnel, friendly, warm, and welcoming. Doormen, housekeepers, and restaurant staff were also great. Rooms were clean and comfortable, may need some fresh paint, but all in all very good. Located on a quiet street in Foggy Bottom very close to metro and restaurants in both Foggy Bottom and Georgetown. Worked well for our diverse group of travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TandM
Couples
New York City
Oct 12, 2011

Great anniversary weekend

This hotel is great - very clean, on a quiet street in Foggy Bottom. It's far enough away from the crowds but close enough for easy access. The staff were excellent. We had a small problem with our bathroom sink and it was fixed immediately. The restaurant on site was very good and fairly priced. Our room came equipped with a small full service kitchen. Although we didn't cook, we were able to enjoy snacks and a cup of tea in the evenings. We would recommend this to anyone visiting DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy4849
Family
Newark, DE, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Great hotel

Great hotel to stay in. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. Nice and Continent location. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Richmond VA
Jul 17, 2011

Perfect for the Kennedy Center and Georg

Great base to explore DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Filomenia is an incredible Italian restaurant

Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kennedy Center Visitor
New York
May 23, 2011

A Gem in a Charming Neighborhood

Inexpensive, nice-size suites with small kitchens, located on a beautiful, tree-lined residential block, walking distance from Georgetown and the Kennedy Center, the River Inn is a real find among DC hotels. I first stayed there years ago and loved it. I was hoping I would not find it worn and old on my return. On the contrary, the lobby and restaurant are sparkling and attractive, the suites are spacious and clean, with nice bathrooms, flat-screen TVs and a small kitchen, which even has a coffee grinder and fresh beans each day. The only drawback is the small beds, which are called queen-sized but seem smaller.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Kennedy Center is a 5-10 minute walk away and has wonderful cultural opportunities.

Back to menu Return to top