$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

The River Inn

3 stars
924 25th Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
113 reviews
Quaint area of DC

I love this hotel! The area it is located in is so quaint, you barely notice you are in a big... See full review

  • Twista
  • May 12, 2014
Great Hotel

A must stay in DC. Great amenities and the staff was very helpful See full review

  • Adam Urness
  • May 7, 2014
The River Inn is a Boutique, Full Service All-Suite Hotel located in the Historic Foggy Bottom District of Washington, DC. The Hotel is within walking distance of the Kennedy Center, Georgetown, and The National Mall. With Metro less than two blocks from The River Inn, all of Washington DC's attractions are easily accessible. Dish + Drinks restaurant, on the lobby level, offers Modern American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The River Inn was selected this year as one of Washington DC's Top 5 Hotel Values.

Hotel Map

38.9014 -77.0537
Area served
Washington D.C.,Georgetown,West-end,Foggy Bottom
Nearby airports
DCA - Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport IAD - Washington Dulles International Airport BWI - Balitmore Washington Airport
Area description
Nestled in the historic tree-lined neighborhood of Foggy Bottom; just steps away from The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and Georgetown with restaurants, multi-plex theatres and shops. Sweeping views of the Potomac River and minutes away from scenic C&O Canal.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The River Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The River Inn Rooms

One Bedroom King Suite
This One Bedroom Suite features (1) King Bed in a separate Bedroom from the rest of the Suite. In addition, this Spacious Suite features a Living Room Area for Relaxing (with one (1) Full Sized Sofa Bed), Large Work Desk with Complimentary Wi-Fi, Separate Dining Table, and Fully Equipped Kitchen.
One Bedroom Double Suite
Specious one bedroom suite with a separate living room, furnished with two double beds, a couch that pulls out to a full size sofa bed, dinette table and fully equipped kitchen. This beautifully appointed suite offers complimentary high speed Internet, and is equipped with High Definition flat screen TVs (one in each area) iHOME alarm clocks and DVD players per request.
Junior Suite
Spacious Junior Suite features one (1) Queen Bed, Full Living Room Area with full size sofa bed, and Full Kitchen.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.2 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.5 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.8 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.1 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.2 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.5 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1.5 mi

Dining

Dish + Drinks
Located on the Hotel's lobby level, Dish + Drinks offers American Cuisine with a Contemporary Twist. A popular spot for Pre/Post Theater events wiith a trendy full-service Bar. Reservations recommended.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The River Inn has improved its meeting facilities to accommodate the needs of the business professional. Three elegantly appointed meeting rooms provide a productive working environment for up to 50 people. The River Inn is ideal for board meetings, business planning sessions, seminars, and working luncheons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for The River Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sam D
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 3, 2012

Great hotel for downtown DC

It was great. The room was ready to go when we pulled up and they offered affordable valet service which made everything really easy. The room was great and very clean. Shower was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Men from Stonewall
Somerset County, NJ
Feb 14, 2013

Feels like home

All the advantages of a small hotel: the staff recognized us whenever we went through the lobby; no waiting for anything. The junior suite was really comfortable with the galley kitchen and huge desk and work area. Be sure to try the restaurant for dinner at least once. It was surprisingly good. And it's evident that people living in the neighborhood regularly have dinner there. One elevator is still out of service for renovation, but there was no inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro station is just a 3-block walk through a beautiful historic neighborhood and GWU.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business Traveler 442
Business
Leon, Mexico
Oct 25, 2013

Great place to stay in DC

Stayed for several days, business trip. Hotel was great, very personable and friendly staff, easy to get transportation, excellent location, great room size (queen suite). I enjoyed the fact that it is located in a neighborhood, cozy and comfortable. Will definitely come back and recommend to business or tourists. Only negative is that wifi signal was very weak in my room creating some issues with reconnection and slow net speed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arrsd
Fayetteville, Arkansas
May 14, 2012

Excellent

The River Inn is tucked into a quiet neighbor. It was very clean and comfortable and was even furnished with dishes and utensils including a corkscrew and wineglasses. A Whole Foods and Trader Joes is within easy walking distance for provisions. When the blow dryer went out someone was in my room in under 5 minutes and it was changed out quickly. I would stay there again and have suggested that my sister check it out on one of her many visits to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Bella
Virginia
Mar 5, 2013

Comfortable stay

Although this is a small hotel and does not have the amenities larger hotels offer, our family had a wonderful weekend stay at The River Inn. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious, and the kitchenette was a great help with making breakfast in the room. We also enjoyed the hotel restaurant on our first evening there -- pricey, but both the food and the wine selections were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your breakfast ingredients at the nearby Whole Foods instead of the 7-Eleven!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J BIRD
D.C.
May 16, 2012

MET MY NEEDS

MET MY NEEDS. CLOSE TO THE METRO, WHITE HOUSE, AND RESTAURANTS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Dec 4, 2007

Big Room, Nice to have a Kitchen

We liked the area we stayed in. The room was re-done a couple of years ago, but some finishing touches had been overlooked. Having the kitchen was great. We cooked two times while there and there was a grocery store a few blocks away that we walked to for groceries. Our internet access never worked properly, so they credited our room for it. I would recommend staying here. The staff is friendly and it is a good deal in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a metro very close by and taxi's are everywhere. We decided to walk to the white house area of DC. It might be too long for some people, but everything is very easy to get to one way or another.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
philliestravel
philadelphia pa
Jun 1, 2013

Great Hotel in Foggy Bottom

From the time we arrive until the time we left the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Georgetown for shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Three Musketeers
San Jose, CA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Great location/Great staff

I usually don't write reviews, but we especially enjoyed our stay at the River Inn. The location in Foggy bottom was great; within walking distance to Georgetown and the Monuments. The hotel is only a few blocks from the Metro. The kitchen was a plus, but we ate all of our meals at the nearby restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Belita
Central PA
Nov 20, 2011

Good Value

Watch out for the unadvertised parking fee which seemed to be quite steep. Off street parking was virtually non existent or came with stiff conditions, giving the sense of being trapped into the high cost parking. Nice to have a restuarant on site that also offered room service. The room was generous in size and kitchen was well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Memorials; in the heart of George Washington University campus. Great ambience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search