$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

The Quincy

3 stars
View map of 1823 L Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Quincy

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 6, 2009

The Quincy - overbooking is explained

When I arrived, the front office explained that I was not in the system and it was due to miscommunication between Orbitz and the Quincy Hotel system. For thirty minutes I was in limbo since my confimation number did'nt mean anything to them because of my invisibility in their system. After that very odd status, they were able to find a room for us to be placed, and, we then became their occupants (customers} - suddenly visible to them! This was explained as some sort of tradegy, but, is after all what happens with their system as it becomes overbooked. At the point of being overbooked the steps are not made to inform/communicate to their customers that they are in this unfortunate status - the dreaded Invisible Overbooked. Also, the valet system has a lot to be desired, as the time it takes to get your car back is not predictable. The cost is too much, but, as DC rates are rediculous, it is about par. Why is that? Think twice about parking anywhere in the Capitol area. If you can - park elsewhere and deal with the public transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Jul 26, 2009

Very nice stay....

very cute cozy and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Jul 26, 2009

Very nice stay....

very cute cozy and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kelahpup3
Business
el paso
Jul 7, 2009

great location

This is my second visit to the Quincy. The location is great, the rooms are large and cool. Baths are a little small. All in all a great location. Comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NJ
Jul 6, 2009

Great value

Very comfortable room. Full kitchen we didn't need. Clean. Great comfy beds. The location was excellent. We could walk to the Mall. We didn't have to pay for parking because of the 4th of July holiday and a Sunday allowed for free street parking. We were lucky to get a space near the hotel. Friendly, knowledgable staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lone Star State
Business
Dallas
Jul 6, 2009

Pleasant staff and easy to get to things

The hotel was just a short walk from Metro stations, restaurants, and the double decker buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Corner Bakery, Potbelly and other restaurants were easy to find

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BLOODY HOTEL
Business
18TH & L ave.
Jul 4, 2009

Horrible SERVICE & Disgusting place!

My stay at the Quincy started off on a bad note. I was first told that the room I book, i couldn't get it because they were all taken!! Like seriously i booked a King Studio and the staff wanted to but me in a Queen room, when i clearly PAID for a kiNG! So problem #1, they were rude and wanted to place me in the room i didn't booked then told, we "found you one", LIKE WTH. Okay, so the room looked okay at a glance. When we actually came back to the room we realized the bathroom pipes under the sink were being held together by TAPE and the WORST OF ALL - their was a BLOOD stain on one of the white Towels they placed in room!!!! (I ALMOST END UP USING IT TO SHOWER!!!) Are you kidding me!!!??? I WILL NEVER STAY AT THE QUINCY AGAIN! Not to mention their "VAlet Parking Service"= you park your own car and you get it yourself also all for a $30 fee. -- The person at the front desk leaves the from desk to buzz you in, literally open a garage for you, not to mention it looks so sketchy and unsafe, and then you have to walk out the parking lot through this sketch side door like some1 is about to rob me!!! At night the staff at the front was also sound alseep, as we came in late at night , one sleep on the couch and at the desk!!!...lol...frigging GREAT! I ADVISE EVERYONE NOT TO WASTE YOUR TIME/MONEY @ The QUINCY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Theirs a nice cafe right next to the hotel the only thing that keep me sane for the weekend.

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dundee, UK
Jul 1, 2009

Great stay, no complaints

We were visiting DC on a short vacation, sightseeing. The hotel was perfect for a quick stay... we only needed a bed and shower but it had much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro stops are nearby. Use them and spare your feet.

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 29, 2009

Great Hotel with a Fatal Flaw

The staff was uniformly friendly. The room was well-appointed and very clean. The A/C control was old and so not easy to regulate. The key problem is that I was assigned to a room on the 3rd floor in the back. I was awoken in the middle of the night by trucks in the loading bay behind the hotel (servicing a series of office buildings) and starting at 5:30 a.m. there was a steady procession of garbage trucks picking up a large number of containers. There was no way you could sleep from 5:30 a.m. to 8 a.m. They were in and out almost non-stop. Don't let them put you on the 3rd floor in the back or you'll be at the same level as this loading area and I guarantee you won't be able to sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Jun 22, 2009

just fine

arrived late, though I called to tell them I would be late. left my iPod in the room when I left, I called, it was quickly found, they offered to mail it, I had a friend pick it up, and they were very careful to get her name and ask for I.D. Good service! Their parking is $28/night, street parking only until 7am!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants in DC are closed Sunday or close early. Luigi's, however, around the corner on 19th was fine and open the latest in the area.

Back to menu Return to top