$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

The Quincy

3 stars
View map of 1823 L Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Quincy

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zec
Business
Washington DC
Dec 15, 2009

Great room with a lot of space.

hotel was in a great location. easy to walk to restaurants and night life. the room was spacious and comfortable. we had a quick trip, but I would definitely stay at The Quincy again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Dec 8, 2009

Very disappointing!

HORRIBLE experience. My room overlooked garbage (literally). At 5:30 a.m. the garbage trucks came and clanked and made a racket right outside my window. The lobby had a torn painting and was tacky. NO room service in the morning, and at night it is from an Irish pub next door. Cheap TV from the 80s. No in-room movies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jwingstrom
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 3, 2009

Noisy alley

Hotel itself is fine - quick service, cheap, free internet, fantastic location for me. The problem is, if you're in one of the north rooms overlooking the back alley, it can be VERY noisy. There are multiple dumpsters and delivery platforms back there and apparently garbage pickup day is Wednesday morning, 4:30 AM. The cavernous building walls around this alley create an excellent echo chamber. I might have been OK with that, but in this case the business next door was rehabbing and decided to fill 3 dumpsters in succession with drywall and metal framing rubbish - starting at 3 AM!! Bring earplugs and you'll be fine I guess. This dynamic is fairly common with downtown DC's small/indy hotels, I've found. But you can't beat the location/price if you have business near 18th and K/L (except for perhaps the Lombardy, which is an Experience for sure).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yeah Caps!!!
Business
Alexandria, VA
Nov 21, 2009

Nice and Convenient

The hotel is within walkng distance to two seperate DC metro lines! It was very convenient getting around the city especially since we didn't bring our car into the city with us. There are always "sounds of the city" happening outside the window, but inside the room was very nice. The bed was super comfortable and clean. The room was very spacious and accomodating. I would return for another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

DuPont Circle is only a short walk from this hotel. It is a nice area to go out for socializing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Nov 1, 2009

Mixed bag

First off, some positives: The hotel staff was great. They were very friendly and helpful and gave us a lot of pointers. Regarding quality of rooms: Generally very nice, spacious, and I think a lot of money has been spent on renovations. We had to request firmer pillows. Regarding location, in one way, it's great - walkable to Dupont, restaurants, and Metro spots. But the bar next door provided a boisterous crowd that we had to walk through sometimes. Regarding parking: We arrived to discover that parking in the deck was $35 per day -- we didn't expect that -- but were told that we could park on the street for free during the weekend. What do people do during the week? Pay the fee? The staff helped us find a spot and (I think) helped watch our car, which was parked right in front of a bar -- so again, kudos to the staff. Our car was fine. Regarding room temperature: The room was hot and we couldn't adjust the temp. The hotel staff explained that it's an "old system" and that the whole building was switched over to heat by this point (it was Halloween). So we had to open a window. That meant we could hear the dumpsters being unloaded early in the morning. I think the quality of your stay in this hotel depends on being on the front side of the hotel, where you can't hear the alley/dumpster noise in back. We changed rooms to the front and got a better night's sleep. Considering all of this, I'd rate it average, but don't think we'll go back, at least not in colder weather when the heat is on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head up to Dupont Circle area; lots of choice. Don't expect to get breakfast nearby on weekends! The closest places are only open on weekdays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oukellbell
Business
Little Rock, AR
Sep 14, 2009

Pleasant Surprise

I was a little worried when I booked this hotel. It has mixed reviews and I couldn't tell how far it was from the Metro. I was pleasantly surprised. It's not much to look at. You can tell it has had a hard life as a hotel. There have been major attempts to renovate the hotel. All of the furnishing are new and very nice. It looks like the put as much money as they could into renovations until they ran out of funds. The rooms are very big with nice furnishings. I booked a king size and got a full, but it was fine. It was quiet and the staff were wonderful. Very, very nice. There is a metro stop 2 blocks up and lots of places to eat nearby. Although since it is downtown some of the delis were closed on the weekend. All in all a very nice play to stay for not a lot of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, PA
Sep 14, 2009

Friendly and Helpful Staff

Stayed here while participating in the Nations Triathlon in DC. Hotel was in a good location with restaurants within a block and close to metro. Staff was especially friendly and helpful. Also had a kitchenette with refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

City Sports is right around the corner. Great if you are participating in an event in DC (marathon, triathlon, etc) and forget something at home!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Mexico
Aug 24, 2009

Nice Place

Hotel and room was great. The front desk service is exceptional. Great location and easy access to all the attractions. Only downside was room was pretty noisy at night. The room was on the backside of building in an alleyway, lot of early morning deliveries. If you stay in the front of the building you probably wouldn't have this problem. Overall I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jjrd
Business
ohio
Aug 12, 2009

will stay again

first time to DC and liked the location of the hotel also was nice clean rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 6, 2009

The Quincy - overbooking is explained

When I arrived, the front office explained that I was not in the system and it was due to miscommunication between Orbitz and the Quincy Hotel system. For thirty minutes I was in limbo since my confimation number did'nt mean anything to them because of my invisibility in their system. After that very odd status, they were able to find a room for us to be placed, and, we then became their occupants (customers} - suddenly visible to them! This was explained as some sort of tradegy, but, is after all what happens with their system as it becomes overbooked. At the point of being overbooked the steps are not made to inform/communicate to their customers that they are in this unfortunate status - the dreaded Invisible Overbooked. Also, the valet system has a lot to be desired, as the time it takes to get your car back is not predictable. The cost is too much, but, as DC rates are rediculous, it is about par. Why is that? Think twice about parking anywhere in the Capitol area. If you can - park elsewhere and deal with the public transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top