$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

The Quincy

3 stars
1823 L Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
102 reviews
Awesome stay

Enjoyed every part of this hotel from the greeting when I arrived & the helping out of tours around... See full review

  • Ridda
  • Aug 7, 2014
Better than advertised - Perfect for our family

We booked this hotel based on price, but since it was just my two boys and I travelling for a... See full review

  • Uncle Matt
  • Jan 17, 2014
Relaxed atmosphere makes this Washington DC hotel a peaceful haven
 

The laid back and relaxed atmosphere of The Quincy hotel hides the true professionalism and excellent service that guests receive from the warm and friendly staff. There are a number of services at the Quincy hotel including laundry service and newspaper delivery. Many attractions are a short walk away, making the hotel an ideal venue for travelers. Conference centers are also just a short distance away, making the hotel perfect for business users too. Studios at the Quincy hotel are comfortable and offer many amenities including kitchenettes and Internet access.

3 Reasons to Stay:
 
  • Ideal accommodation for both business guests and tourists to the area, centrally located for the city highlights

  • Understated ambiance makes the hotel one of the most comfortable and relaxing places in the city, with warm and friendly staff

  • Total of 99 chic studios on offer, each decorated to the highest standard and offering many modern conveniences


The Quincy Rooms
 

The King Studios at The Quincy Hotel come with king-sized beds and kitchenette areas that include refrigerators, coffee-makers and microwaves. Each room at The Quincy hotel also has a wet bar, complimentary newspaper delivered daily, and the option of same-day dry cleaning service. Modern conveniences in the studios include 27-inch flat-screen televisions with a range of channels available, high-speed Internet connections for both business and leisure travelers and pay-per-play Nintendo games. The studios at The Quincy hotel have a high standard of décor. The concierge is on hand to assist guests.


Things to Do:
 
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • National Geographic Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • The White House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Kennedy Center for Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • National Museum of Crime & Punishment (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

Hotel Map

38.904 -77.0427
Area served
Washington.
Nearby airports
Baltimore-Washington Parkway/BWI International Airport, Dulles International Airport and Regan National Airport.
Area description
While the surroundings at the Quincy are truly enticing a journey into the surrounding city is sure to enhance the guest experience. The hotel is located near the corner of Connecticut and K Street, mere moments away from the best in D.C. offerings: the White House, the Lincoln Memorial, monuments on the National Mall and much more. There are also a variety of unique and tempting eateries nearby. And if travels take beyond the walking distance, The Quincy is convenient to 2 Metro stations; Farragut North-Red Line, and Farragut West- Orange/Blue Lines.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Quincy also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Quincy Rooms

King Studio
Room with one king bed includes a desk and a kitchenette complete with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, wet bar, complimentary high speed internet in-room, 27-inch flat-screen television and pay-per-play Nintendo games, voice mail, complimentary daily newspaper and same-day dry cleaning service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Department of State: 0.8 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.1 mi

Dining

Nearby restaurants
The Quincy is also convenient to several other dining venues, including Au Bon Pain, Corner Bakery, Morton's, Smith & Wollensky and dozens of other local restaurants.
Mackey's Pub
For guests of The Quincy, finding a delicious meal in inviting surroundings is never a chore. Traditional Irish restaurant and bar, Mackey's Pub, is located just off the lobby. At Mackey's, experience delectable Irish cuisine and intriguing conversation in a friendly atmosphere. If searching for the perfect spot to host the next gathering or party, look no further. Mackey's Pub can accommodate private parties for 200 people. If looking to escape, visit secluded hide-away, Recessions II. It's a restaurant and lounge for the cognoscente and the incognito.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for The Quincy

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Sep 23, 2010

Great location!

The Quincy is a fantastic business hotel, near K Street in DC. It is within two blocks of two Metro stations. Rooms are huge and beds are comfortable! However, bring your earplugs because of the street noise and early morning garbage collections.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Somewhere, NJ
Jul 12, 2010

Nice location in DC

Staff was helpful and friendly. Room was quiet and comfortable, but be aware that not all rooms have good internet connection and the wireless speed is not that great in most rooms. Location in DC is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to several night clubs and bars.

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NASA's mom
Columbus, OH
Apr 4, 2010

Good location, but noisy.

Can walk to lots of places to eat and metro station. But very noisy early in the morning everyday because of garbage trucks. We couldn't sleep well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can walk to some good bakery cafe for breakfast.

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Dec 18, 2009

good

can walk easily to metro stations, lots of places to eat nearby, but noise can be a problem if you are a light sleeper

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zec
Washington DC
Dec 15, 2009

Great room with a lot of space.

hotel was in a great location. easy to walk to restaurants and night life. the room was spacious and comfortable. we had a quick trip, but I would definitely stay at The Quincy again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Dec 8, 2009

Very disappointing!

HORRIBLE experience. My room overlooked garbage (literally). At 5:30 a.m. the garbage trucks came and clanked and made a racket right outside my window. The lobby had a torn painting and was tacky. NO room service in the morning, and at night it is from an Irish pub next door. Cheap TV from the 80s. No in-room movies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jwingstrom
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 3, 2009

Noisy alley

Hotel itself is fine - quick service, cheap, free internet, fantastic location for me. The problem is, if you're in one of the north rooms overlooking the back alley, it can be VERY noisy. There are multiple dumpsters and delivery platforms back there and apparently garbage pickup day is Wednesday morning, 4:30 AM. The cavernous building walls around this alley create an excellent echo chamber. I might have been OK with that, but in this case the business next door was rehabbing and decided to fill 3 dumpsters in succession with drywall and metal framing rubbish - starting at 3 AM!! Bring earplugs and you'll be fine I guess. This dynamic is fairly common with downtown DC's small/indy hotels, I've found. But you can't beat the location/price if you have business near 18th and K/L (except for perhaps the Lombardy, which is an Experience for sure).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yeah Caps!!!
Alexandria, VA
Nov 21, 2009

Nice and Convenient

The hotel is within walkng distance to two seperate DC metro lines! It was very convenient getting around the city especially since we didn't bring our car into the city with us. There are always "sounds of the city" happening outside the window, but inside the room was very nice. The bed was super comfortable and clean. The room was very spacious and accomodating. I would return for another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

DuPont Circle is only a short walk from this hotel. It is a nice area to go out for socializing.

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durham, NC
Nov 1, 2009

Mixed bag

First off, some positives: The hotel staff was great. They were very friendly and helpful and gave us a lot of pointers. Regarding quality of rooms: Generally very nice, spacious, and I think a lot of money has been spent on renovations. We had to request firmer pillows. Regarding location, in one way, it's great - walkable to Dupont, restaurants, and Metro spots. But the bar next door provided a boisterous crowd that we had to walk through sometimes. Regarding parking: We arrived to discover that parking in the deck was $35 per day -- we didn't expect that -- but were told that we could park on the street for free during the weekend. What do people do during the week? Pay the fee? The staff helped us find a spot and (I think) helped watch our car, which was parked right in front of a bar -- so again, kudos to the staff. Our car was fine. Regarding room temperature: The room was hot and we couldn't adjust the temp. The hotel staff explained that it's an "old system" and that the whole building was switched over to heat by this point (it was Halloween). So we had to open a window. That meant we could hear the dumpsters being unloaded early in the morning. I think the quality of your stay in this hotel depends on being on the front side of the hotel, where you can't hear the alley/dumpster noise in back. We changed rooms to the front and got a better night's sleep. Considering all of this, I'd rate it average, but don't think we'll go back, at least not in colder weather when the heat is on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head up to Dupont Circle area; lots of choice. Don't expect to get breakfast nearby on weekends! The closest places are only open on weekdays.

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oukellbell
Little Rock, AR
Sep 14, 2009

Pleasant Surprise

I was a little worried when I booked this hotel. It has mixed reviews and I couldn't tell how far it was from the Metro. I was pleasantly surprised. It's not much to look at. You can tell it has had a hard life as a hotel. There have been major attempts to renovate the hotel. All of the furnishing are new and very nice. It looks like the put as much money as they could into renovations until they ran out of funds. The rooms are very big with nice furnishings. I booked a king size and got a full, but it was fine. It was quiet and the staff were wonderful. Very, very nice. There is a metro stop 2 blocks up and lots of places to eat nearby. Although since it is downtown some of the delis were closed on the weekend. All in all a very nice play to stay for not a lot of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search