$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 24, 2015 Check-out: Jan 25, 2015

The Quincy

3 stars
1823 L Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
104 reviews
Awesome stay

Enjoyed every part of this hotel from the greeting when I arrived & the helping out of tours around... See full review

  • Ridda
  • Aug 7, 2014
Better than advertised - Perfect for our family

We booked this hotel based on price, but since it was just my two boys and I travelling for a... See full review

  • Uncle Matt
  • Jan 17, 2014
Relaxed atmosphere makes this Washington DC hotel a peaceful haven
 

The laid back and relaxed atmosphere of The Quincy hotel hides the true professionalism and excellent service that guests receive from the warm and friendly staff. There are a number of services at the Quincy hotel including laundry service and newspaper delivery. Many attractions are a short walk away, making the hotel an ideal venue for travelers. Conference centers are also just a short distance away, making the hotel perfect for business users too. Studios at the Quincy hotel are comfortable and offer many amenities including kitchenettes and Internet access.

3 Reasons to Stay:
 
  • Ideal accommodation for both business guests and tourists to the area, centrally located for the city highlights

  • Understated ambiance makes the hotel one of the most comfortable and relaxing places in the city, with warm and friendly staff

  • Total of 99 chic studios on offer, each decorated to the highest standard and offering many modern conveniences


The Quincy Rooms
 

The King Studios at The Quincy Hotel come with king-sized beds and kitchenette areas that include refrigerators, coffee-makers and microwaves. Each room at The Quincy hotel also has a wet bar, complimentary newspaper delivered daily, and the option of same-day dry cleaning service. Modern conveniences in the studios include 27-inch flat-screen televisions with a range of channels available, high-speed Internet connections for both business and leisure travelers and pay-per-play Nintendo games. The studios at The Quincy hotel have a high standard of décor. The concierge is on hand to assist guests.


Things to Do:
 
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • National Geographic Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • The White House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Kennedy Center for Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • National Museum of Crime & Punishment (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Quincy also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Quincy Rooms

Queen Studio - 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed with kitchen
450 square-foot efficiency suite features one queen bed, a sleeper sofa, 37-inch flat screen TV featuring Direct TV channels, and a work desk. Enjoy complimentary WIFI and a full kitchen equipped with a Keurig coffee maker, microwave, full sized refrigerator, and dishware and cookware necessary for preparing in-room meals.
Standard Studio - 1 queen bed
Standard studios are furnished with one queen bed. This 400 square-foot suite also features a living area with a couch. The room comes with a 37-inch flat screen TV featuring Direct TV channels, and a work desk. Enjoy complimentary WIFI and a mini-fridge, microwave, Keurig coffee maker, and bottled water. Room is perfect for a business traveler or a weekend getaway couple.
Standard Studio - 1 king bed
Standard studios are furnished with one king bed. This 400 square-foot suite also features a living area with a couch. The room comes with a 37-inch flat screen TV featuring Direct TV channels, and a work desk. Enjoy complimentary WIFI and a mini-fridge, microwave, Keurig coffee maker, and bottled water. Room is perfect for a business traveler or a weekend getaway couple.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Department of State: 0.8 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.1 mi

Dining

Nearby restaurants
The Quincy is also convenient to several other dining venues, including Au Bon Pain, Corner Bakery, Morton's, Smith & Wollensky and dozens of other local restaurants.
Mackey's Pub
For guests of The Quincy, finding a delicious meal in inviting surroundings is never a chore. Traditional Irish restaurant and bar, Mackey's Pub, is located just off the lobby. At Mackey's, experience delectable Irish cuisine and intriguing conversation in a friendly atmosphere. If searching for the perfect spot to host the next gathering or party, look no further. Mackey's Pub can accommodate private parties for 200 people. If looking to escape, visit secluded hide-away, Recessions II. It's a restaurant and lounge for the cognoscente and the incognito.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for The Quincy

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobbD
Milton, ON
Aug 27, 2012

Great Spot

Great staff, great location. 10 minute walk to White House. 5 minute walk to Metro. On site parking a little pricey, but lots of options in the area. Had a 2 month old with us. Rooms have separate kitchen with microwave, stove, sink and fridge. Maybe the most comfortable bed we've slept in. Great location for first timers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BLOODY HOTEL
Business
18TH & L ave.
Jul 4, 2009

Horrible SERVICE & Disgusting place!

My stay at the Quincy started off on a bad note. I was first told that the room I book, i couldn't get it because they were all taken!! Like seriously i booked a King Studio and the staff wanted to but me in a Queen room, when i clearly PAID for a kiNG! So problem #1, they were rude and wanted to place me in the room i didn't booked then told, we "found you one", LIKE WTH. Okay, so the room looked okay at a glance. When we actually came back to the room we realized the bathroom pipes under the sink were being held together by TAPE and the WORST OF ALL - their was a BLOOD stain on one of the white Towels they placed in room!!!! (I ALMOST END UP USING IT TO SHOWER!!!) Are you kidding me!!!??? I WILL NEVER STAY AT THE QUINCY AGAIN! Not to mention their "VAlet Parking Service"= you park your own car and you get it yourself also all for a $30 fee. -- The person at the front desk leaves the from desk to buzz you in, literally open a garage for you, not to mention it looks so sketchy and unsafe, and then you have to walk out the parking lot through this sketch side door like some1 is about to rob me!!! At night the staff at the front was also sound alseep, as we came in late at night , one sleep on the couch and at the desk!!!...lol...frigging GREAT! I ADVISE EVERYONE NOT TO WASTE YOUR TIME/MONEY @ The QUINCY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Theirs a nice cafe right next to the hotel the only thing that keep me sane for the weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Dec 8, 2009

Very disappointing!

HORRIBLE experience. My room overlooked garbage (literally). At 5:30 a.m. the garbage trucks came and clanked and made a racket right outside my window. The lobby had a torn painting and was tacky. NO room service in the morning, and at night it is from an Irish pub next door. Cheap TV from the 80s. No in-room movies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 6, 2009

The Quincy - overbooking is explained

When I arrived, the front office explained that I was not in the system and it was due to miscommunication between Orbitz and the Quincy Hotel system. For thirty minutes I was in limbo since my confimation number did'nt mean anything to them because of my invisibility in their system. After that very odd status, they were able to find a room for us to be placed, and, we then became their occupants (customers} - suddenly visible to them! This was explained as some sort of tradegy, but, is after all what happens with their system as it becomes overbooked. At the point of being overbooked the steps are not made to inform/communicate to their customers that they are in this unfortunate status - the dreaded Invisible Overbooked. Also, the valet system has a lot to be desired, as the time it takes to get your car back is not predictable. The cost is too much, but, as DC rates are rediculous, it is about par. Why is that? Think twice about parking anywhere in the Capitol area. If you can - park elsewhere and deal with the public transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jay222
Business
Jacksonville, NC, USA
Mar 19, 2012

LOCATION IS KEY

I spent most of my time out of my room during St. Pattys day. While I was in my room (5th floor) I enjoyed the comfort of that huge bed. The bathroom was lacking. We only had one bar of soap and when room service came, they forgot to replenish it. The towels were unusually scratchy. The saving grace was the staff at the front desk. They were very friendly and down to earth. Make sure you look for Gary, he knows where everything is and was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Mackys pub

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
d doan
Business
New port news va
Jan 12, 2014

if your in town and just need a room for yourself your goof

Over charge me for room didn't correct it. Water pressure was low. The staff couldn't tell us where any attraction activities where.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Winnie Mae
Business
Spokane, WA
Apr 9, 2014

Quirky but Uncomfortable

I've never stayed in a hotel where the standard room and bathroom were so big; easily twice the size of a usual hotel. Even the king sized bed seemed larger. The location was also perfect. Just two blocks from the metro with lots of eateries nearby. Why we would never, ever stay in the hotel again? The room was overly hot (in April, no less) and the air conditioner was either turned off or not functioning. The windows could be opened a little but the street sounds were disrupting. We were on the second floor over a bar that played head banging music until the wee hours. I don't think we had a good night sleep our entire stay. And while the bathroom was spacious, the bathtub had only a handheld shower head. What a pain it was to shampoo or even soap up while holding the shower head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NASA's mom
Business
Columbus, OH
Apr 4, 2010

Good location, but noisy.

Can walk to lots of places to eat and metro station. But very noisy early in the morning everyday because of garbage trucks. We couldn't sleep well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can walk to some good bakery cafe for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Dec 11, 2010

Just OK

Room smelled like smoke. Very loud street noise. Sounded like the garbage truck backed up "beep, beep, beep", every hour on the hour. Very large rooms with comfortable bed and pillows. Sad TV, no pay for view movies. Very clean room for cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jwingstrom
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 3, 2009

Noisy alley

Hotel itself is fine - quick service, cheap, free internet, fantastic location for me. The problem is, if you're in one of the north rooms overlooking the back alley, it can be VERY noisy. There are multiple dumpsters and delivery platforms back there and apparently garbage pickup day is Wednesday morning, 4:30 AM. The cavernous building walls around this alley create an excellent echo chamber. I might have been OK with that, but in this case the business next door was rehabbing and decided to fill 3 dumpsters in succession with drywall and metal framing rubbish - starting at 3 AM!! Bring earplugs and you'll be fine I guess. This dynamic is fairly common with downtown DC's small/indy hotels, I've found. But you can't beat the location/price if you have business near 18th and K/L (except for perhaps the Lombardy, which is an Experience for sure).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swirls
Business
Eugene, OR, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Good Location and Value

Location is right in DC downtown, easy walk to White House, dining and Farragut West & East Metro. Hotel room is large and has microwave & refer. Average room, but very comfy bed! For downtown DC a good value for location. Close to high end hotels. I was on street side, so had big city street noise...but I had earplugs so slept great, and 5 min walk to Metro stops & dining close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great unique Pasta Bar, Vapiano is a few blocks away. Great food/prices and fun buy classy atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top