$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Quincy

3 stars
View map of 1823 L Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Quincy

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RenC
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 28, 2014

Good location

The room was clean, but overall, the hotel could use some updates, given the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Winnie Mae
Business
Spokane, WA
Apr 9, 2014

Quirky but Uncomfortable

I've never stayed in a hotel where the standard room and bathroom were so big; easily twice the size of a usual hotel. Even the king sized bed seemed larger. The location was also perfect. Just two blocks from the metro with lots of eateries nearby. Why we would never, ever stay in the hotel again? The room was overly hot (in April, no less) and the air conditioner was either turned off or not functioning. The windows could be opened a little but the street sounds were disrupting. We were on the second floor over a bar that played head banging music until the wee hours. I don't think we had a good night sleep our entire stay. And while the bathroom was spacious, the bathtub had only a handheld shower head. What a pain it was to shampoo or even soap up while holding the shower head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duke's wife
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 4, 2014

Quincy Review.

Hotel staff was helpful and responsive to our needs. There were a few issues with the room which were taken care of in a timely manner. Comfortable room with location close to the Capitol and metro stops which allowed us to move back and forth easily. My husband and I had a very pleasant stay as we toured the Capitol and Museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Metro helpful to get traveler to any of the attractions on the Mall, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJ Empty Nester
Business
Atlanta GA
Mar 17, 2014

Wonderful Stay

What an enjoyable stay. Matt, Robert, Neil were wonderful and ready to assist in any way. We met friends at hotel and toured DC for several days. We used the Metro daily and the hotel near the metro stops. My husband had forgotten his raincoat and Quincy had umbrellas for use one day! Had excellent coffee, tea or hot chocolate each morning along with fresh oranges. Rooms were very clean and bed extremely comfortable. Our only complaint - old HVAC system can only be in heat or cold mode. So initially when weather was mild we were rather warm in our rooms. We could open our windows and they provided fans. Much better when it got really cold outside again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We were short walk to everything! We easily accessed Metro to take us to Mall, Union Station and more. Great trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uncle Matt
Business
Georgia
Jan 17, 2014

Better than advertised - Perfect for our family

We booked this hotel based on price, but since it was just my two boys and I travelling for a school trip, I knew we could handle a mediocre hotel. We were pleasantly surprised! A few bad things to get out of the way that has no bearing on my hotel rating - 1) parking is $35 per day next door and if you arrive after hours, you have no choice in this since all of the other parking garages are closed. 2) the alley behind the hotel was the base for a construction renovation and they started EARLY. The hotel left ear plugs which I didn't use the first night but readily used the other three. The Staff was outstanding! We had several minor request, but the staff usually doubled-up on their efforts and attended to our needs quickly. The rooms were very clean and, although the shower fixtures needed a little work, the bathrooms were tiled and gleaming. Location was hard to beat - we jumped on the Metro only a few blocks away and we could be anywhere. We also had a dozen restaurants within three blocks. I'm not sure about amenities (we wouldn't have used them anyway), so my 5 of 5 rating isn't applicable. We highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
d doan
Business
New port news va
Jan 12, 2014

if your in town and just need a room for yourself your goof

Over charge me for room didn't correct it. Water pressure was low. The staff couldn't tell us where any attraction activities where.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DenMike
Business
St. Louis, Mo
Oct 13, 2013

Central Location, Comfortable Stay

Located near metro station, easy walking to so many great restaurants and the National Geographic Museum. The staff was helpful, offering umbrellas for rainy days, and advice on where to go and how to get there. Comfortable bed, quiet rooms (little bit of street noise, but that's what you expect downtown). Glad we picked this trendy, friendly, comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Mackey's next door is a great place to relax with a drink in the evening. They'll turn their TV to whatever sports your interested in and make you feel welcome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craig m.
Business
Australia
Oct 9, 2013

Perfectly located near metro

Very pleasant experience, with friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
njnow02
Business
New York, NY
Aug 6, 2013

Great Last Minute Getaway

This was a small boutique hotel in the hear of downtown Washington D.C. Arrived on a Saturday and left on a Monday. The downfall of the location (more so the city rather than location) is that everything or what seemed liked everything, is closed on the weekends around the hotel so you would have to walk somewhere to find something to eat. Other than that, the room was very large with a full length floor to ceiling mirror, dressing area, vanity near the bathroom and spacious batheroom with a big sink and little things like cotton balls, q-tips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

In relative close proximity you have the White House, the National Mall, Smithsonians and the monuments. Very easy for people who love to walk-we walked around some 10 miles in one day which was a lot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
charlie13
Business
Glasgow, UK.
Jul 13, 2013

3 night stay

Friendly and efficient reception. Clean and comfortable room with good facilities. Nice pub next door for food and drink. Good location just 3 minutes walk from the Metro and easy pulling a bag. Safe area and easy access to all Washington sights by Metro or walking. Staff excellent and most helpful to us. We would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Stroll to Georgetown and take in the atmosphere of the Old Town and have a drink in J Pauls on M st at Wisconsin. Dinner at Martins Tavern on Wisconsin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top