The Quincy

3 stars
1823 L Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
151 reviews
Better than advertised - Perfect for our family

We booked this hotel based on price, but since it was just my two boys and I travelling for a... See full review

  • Uncle Matt
  • Jan 17, 2014
Great value and great stay

I had a great stay. It was a great value for the price, and a perfect location. See full review

  • Hoya B
  • Jun 10, 2014
Relaxed atmosphere makes this Washington DC hotel a peaceful haven
 

The laid back and relaxed atmosphere of The Quincy hotel hides the true professionalism and excellent service that guests receive from the warm and friendly staff. There are a number of services at the Quincy hotel including laundry service and newspaper delivery. Many attractions are a short walk away, making the hotel an ideal venue for travelers. Conference centers are also just a short distance away, making the hotel perfect for business users too. Studios at the Quincy hotel are comfortable and offer many amenities including kitchenettes and Internet access.

3 Reasons to Stay:
 
  • Ideal accommodation for both business guests and tourists to the area, centrally located for the city highlights

  • Understated ambiance makes the hotel one of the most comfortable and relaxing places in the city, with warm and friendly staff

  • Total of 99 chic studios on offer, each decorated to the highest standard and offering many modern conveniences


The Quincy Rooms
 

The King Studios at The Quincy Hotel come with king-sized beds and kitchenette areas that include refrigerators, coffee-makers and microwaves. Each room at The Quincy hotel also has a wet bar, complimentary newspaper delivered daily, and the option of same-day dry cleaning service. Modern conveniences in the studios include 27-inch flat-screen televisions with a range of channels available, high-speed Internet connections for both business and leisure travelers and pay-per-play Nintendo games. The studios at The Quincy hotel have a high standard of d├ęcor. The concierge is on hand to assist guests.


Things to Do:
 
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • National Geographic Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • The White House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Kennedy Center for Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • National Museum of Crime & Punishment (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

The Quincy Rooms

King Studio
Room with one king bed includes a desk and a kitchenette complete with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, wet bar, complimentary high speed internet in-room, 27-inch flat-screen television and pay-per-play Nintendo games, voice mail, complimentary daily newspaper and same-day dry cleaning service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Hotel Map

38.904 -77.0427
Area served
Washington.
Nearby airports
Baltimore-Washington Parkway/BWI International Airport, Dulles International Airport and Regan National Airport.
Area description
While the surroundings at the Quincy are truly enticing a journey into the surrounding city is sure to enhance the guest experience. The hotel is located near the corner of Connecticut and K Street, mere moments away from the best in D.C. offerings: the White House, the Lincoln Memorial, monuments on the National Mall and much more. There are also a variety of unique and tempting eateries nearby. And if travels take beyond the walking distance, The Quincy is convenient to 2 Metro stations; Farragut North-Red Line, and Farragut West- Orange/Blue Lines.

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Department of State: 0.8 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.1 mi

Dining

Nearby restaurants
The Quincy is also convenient to several other dining venues, including Au Bon Pain, Corner Bakery, Morton's, Smith & Wollensky and dozens of other local restaurants.
Mackey's Pub
For guests of The Quincy, finding a delicious meal in inviting surroundings is never a chore. Traditional Irish restaurant and bar, Mackey's Pub, is located just off the lobby. At Mackey's, experience delectable Irish cuisine and intriguing conversation in a friendly atmosphere. If searching for the perfect spot to host the next gathering or party, look no further. Mackey's Pub can accommodate private parties for 200 people. If looking to escape, visit secluded hide-away, Recessions II. It's a restaurant and lounge for the cognoscente and the incognito.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for The Quincy

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craig m.
Australia
Oct 9, 2013

Perfectly located near metro

Very pleasant experience, with friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
njnow02
New York, NY
Aug 6, 2013

Great Last Minute Getaway

This was a small boutique hotel in the hear of downtown Washington D.C. Arrived on a Saturday and left on a Monday. The downfall of the location (more so the city rather than location) is that everything or what seemed liked everything, is closed on the weekends around the hotel so you would have to walk somewhere to find something to eat. Other than that, the room was very large with a full length floor to ceiling mirror, dressing area, vanity near the bathroom and spacious batheroom with a big sink and little things like cotton balls, q-tips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

In relative close proximity you have the White House, the National Mall, Smithsonians and the monuments. Very easy for people who love to walk-we walked around some 10 miles in one day which was a lot!

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
charlie13
Glasgow, UK.
Jul 13, 2013

3 night stay

Friendly and efficient reception. Clean and comfortable room with good facilities. Nice pub next door for food and drink. Good location just 3 minutes walk from the Metro and easy pulling a bag. Safe area and easy access to all Washington sights by Metro or walking. Staff excellent and most helpful to us. We would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Stroll to Georgetown and take in the atmosphere of the Old Town and have a drink in J Pauls on M st at Wisconsin. Dinner at Martins Tavern on Wisconsin.

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brissieguy
Brisbane Australia
Jun 10, 2013

Modern and spacious room

We stayed here for 4 nights. We loved the spacious room, the bed was comfortable and staff were friendly. The bathroom was on the smaller side, and with minimum cabinet space (not a major problem, just meant leaving some toiletries outside). The staff always welcomed us back as we enterd, which was always a nice welcome home. The Irish bar below the hotel does great food and worth a visit, as well as the bakery corner cafe across from the hotel. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AmrR
Chicago
May 31, 2013

Good location..

Good location.Clean room But room was very noisy at night as you could hear people talking in the street and from pub next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dolphin76
Business
Poland
Apr 11, 2013

Five days in DC

Comfortable, spacious and clean room. Clean but small bathroom. Complimentary WiFi. Helpful staff. A good place for a short stay in DC, nice location (near Farragut North Metro Station, many small restaurants nearby, beautiful St. Matthew's Cathedral two blocks away).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Matthew's Cathedral

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Butterfly1234
Woodbridge, VA
Mar 25, 2013

Quick Getaway

Great location! Lots of restaurants in the area. Be prepared for $30.00 parking fee and no breakfast options within the facility. Room was comfy but reserved a king studio and got a queen. I am 5'll and guest was 6'. They were controlled turns. LOL! Great access to metro stations and like the kitchenette. Although others mentioned the noise, we were in the 3rd floor during club crawl and slept like a charm with the window open. Only down part is that we were not able to order evening room service. No one was answering the line and it was too crowded to get inside. Chose another location instead. Do not pass this one up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like being out and about and enjoy evening life this would be the place.

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diego D
Business
Florida
Feb 7, 2013

Great Hotel

I was very pleasantly surprised by my stay at this hotel. It is a lot nicer than many 4 star hotels I have stayed at. The staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The hotel has very modern furnishings, and the king size room I occupied was like a suite. The location is just adjacent to the best shopping locations in D.C. I highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaxx317
Brooklyn, NY
Jan 28, 2013

Great last-minute find!

I think this hotel is just lovely! I was in town visiting family and friends, and was going to be spending most of my time near Chinatown and the Eastern Market area, so wanted something convenient for both. However, I had trouble finding anything that was both convenient and affordable on short notice. But then I saw a 48-hr promo for an extra 25% off hotels, the reviews seemed decent, so I booked it! I was actually pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. The rooms are spacious and comfy, well-decorated, and pretty much everything you need for a short trip to DC. It's location can't really be beat either, particularly if you are in town for business. It's between the red & blue/orange lines, which are the ones most people use frequently. There are lots of chain places (au bon pain, Potbelly, Pret-a-Manger, etc) within a two-to-three-block walking distance for quick breakfast and/or lunch options, and it's pretty quiet on the weekends since it's in a mostly business-centric area. My only major gripe is that the walls in some rooms are paper-thin: I was placed in a room that was part of an adjoining room pair, and I unfortunately had some extraordinarily loud neighbors who decided to have a romp between the sheets from about 1-2AM. Although I called the front desk to complain shortly after it started and they told me they would take care of it, it continued for the better part of an hour uninterrupted. The next morning I went to the front desk and mentioned the situation again, and requested to be moved to another room if the people next door were not checking out that day. They were very apologetic, and moved me without a question, and even sent someone up with the key to the new room and to help me move my luggage! The staff in general were very kind and welcoming and accommodating, which only made the experience better. But I recommend requesting a non-adjoining room if you are sensitive to noise. Keep an eye out for a good deal - it's worth it for both business & pleasure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Washington student
Business
Austin, TX
Jan 14, 2013

Good for business

If you need to get a place to sleep, it's a good option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top