$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Quincy

3 stars
View map of 1823 L Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Quincy

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lawlipops
Couples
Windsor, ON
Aug 11, 2014

Great value with just a couple of minor kinks

We had a very positive experience at this hotel, and I would give it 4.5 stars if I could. The room was large and was comfortable. We loved how they had ice cold water and oranges in the lobby, and I also appreciated having a Keurig, fridge, and microwave in the room. The staff members were very welcoming and we felt valued as guests. Only a few minor issues came up. On Wednesday night, I was kept awake from 4:30-5:30 AM by garbage trucks. I heard a loud boom every few seconds. When I told the person at the front desk about it, he offered to change my room but I accepted ear plugs instead. The other 3 nights of my trip were much more quiet. Another weird thing happened. I used a water glass and my lipstick got on the rim. After room service came, I noticed that the same glass with the lipstick smear was wiped slightly but still there and was placed upsidedown, as if it were a fresh glass. Overall, the pros outweigh the cons. It was easy to navigate the area. Bring comfortable walking shoes and try out the Metro subway system. There are many great restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are vegetarian/vegan, be sure to go to Science Club (just a short walk away). They have an amazing vegan burger and nachos.

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ridda
Single
Langwarrin, Australia
Aug 7, 2014

Awesome stay

Enjoyed every part of this hotel from the greeting when I arrived & the helping out of tours around Washington to the room condition. I cannot complain about this hotel....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave for attractions early to avoid queues

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hoya B
Friends
Sacramento, CA
Jun 10, 2014

Great value and great stay

I had a great stay. It was a great value for the price, and a perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcooke7
Business
Portland, Maine
Jun 8, 2014

Nice, but noisy

I was greeted with a glass of sangria when I checked in: yum. The staff was super friendly during my entire stay. My room was big and my kitchen had good coffee to brew. The only downside of staying here is that it's above Recessions, the neighborhood's utmost dive bar. It was really loud every night until about midnight, even during the week. With my fan on high, a white noise app on my phone up to max volume, and ear plugs, I was able to block it all out. I'm not sure I'll stay here again, solely because of the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World traveller 7880
Couples
Jakarta, indonesia
Apr 29, 2014

Short getaway

Good experience. Strategic location. Near to shops for food. Staff was friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RenC
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 28, 2014

Good location

The room was clean, but overall, the hotel could use some updates, given the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Winnie Mae
Couples
Spokane, WA
Apr 9, 2014

Quirky but Uncomfortable

I've never stayed in a hotel where the standard room and bathroom were so big; easily twice the size of a usual hotel. Even the king sized bed seemed larger. The location was also perfect. Just two blocks from the metro with lots of eateries nearby. Why we would never, ever stay in the hotel again? The room was overly hot (in April, no less) and the air conditioner was either turned off or not functioning. The windows could be opened a little but the street sounds were disrupting. We were on the second floor over a bar that played head banging music until the wee hours. I don't think we had a good night sleep our entire stay. And while the bathroom was spacious, the bathtub had only a handheld shower head. What a pain it was to shampoo or even soap up while holding the shower head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duke's wife
Couples
Wisconsin
Apr 4, 2014

Quincy Review.

Hotel staff was helpful and responsive to our needs. There were a few issues with the room which were taken care of in a timely manner. Comfortable room with location close to the Capitol and metro stops which allowed us to move back and forth easily. My husband and I had a very pleasant stay as we toured the Capitol and Museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Metro helpful to get traveler to any of the attractions on the Mall, etc.

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJ Empty Nester
Friends
Atlanta GA
Mar 17, 2014

Wonderful Stay

What an enjoyable stay. Matt, Robert, Neil were wonderful and ready to assist in any way. We met friends at hotel and toured DC for several days. We used the Metro daily and the hotel near the metro stops. My husband had forgotten his raincoat and Quincy had umbrellas for use one day! Had excellent coffee, tea or hot chocolate each morning along with fresh oranges. Rooms were very clean and bed extremely comfortable. Our only complaint - old HVAC system can only be in heat or cold mode. So initially when weather was mild we were rather warm in our rooms. We could open our windows and they provided fans. Much better when it got really cold outside again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We were short walk to everything! We easily accessed Metro to take us to Mall, Union Station and more. Great trip!

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uncle Matt
Family
Georgia
Jan 17, 2014

Better than advertised - Perfect for our family

We booked this hotel based on price, but since it was just my two boys and I travelling for a school trip, I knew we could handle a mediocre hotel. We were pleasantly surprised! A few bad things to get out of the way that has no bearing on my hotel rating - 1) parking is $35 per day next door and if you arrive after hours, you have no choice in this since all of the other parking garages are closed. 2) the alley behind the hotel was the base for a construction renovation and they started EARLY. The hotel left ear plugs which I didn't use the first night but readily used the other three. The Staff was outstanding! We had several minor request, but the staff usually doubled-up on their efforts and attended to our needs quickly. The rooms were very clean and, although the shower fixtures needed a little work, the bathrooms were tiled and gleaming. Location was hard to beat - we jumped on the Metro only a few blocks away and we could be anywhere. We also had a dozen restaurants within three blocks. I'm not sure about amenities (we wouldn't have used them anyway), so my 5 of 5 rating isn't applicable. We highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top