$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Quincy

3 stars
View map of 1823 L Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
106 reviews
Friendly well located hotel

Super friendly hotel in a great location for walking to city attractions. Easy walking to metro... See full review

  • Michael B.
  • Jun 27, 2015
Great Family Trip

We stayed here as a last minute reservation, but were treated as old friends. It was our first time... See full review

  • Jay222
  • Apr 7, 2015

The laid back and relaxed atmosphere of The Quincy hotel hides the true professionalism and excellent service that guests receive from the warm and friendly staff. There are a number of services at the Quincy hotel including laundry service and newspaper delivery. Many attractions are a short walk away, making the hotel an ideal venue for travelers. Conference centers are also just a short distance away, making the hotel perfect for business users too. Studios at the Quincy hotel are comfortable and offer many amenities including kitchenettes and Internet access. Parking is available for added convenience (fees apply).

Rooms
The King Studios at The Quincy Hotel come with king-sized beds and kitchenette areas that include refrigerators, coffee-makers and microwaves. Each room at The Quincy hotel also has a wet bar, complimentary newspaper delivered daily, and the option of same-day dry cleaning service. Modern conveniences in the studios include 27-inch flat-screen televisions with a range of channels available, high-speed Internet connections for both business and leisure travelers and pay-per-play Nintendo games. The studios at The Quincy hotel have a high standard of decor. The concierge is on hand to assist guests.

Highlights
  • Ideal accommodation for both business guests and tourists to the area, centrally located for the city highlight
  • Understated ambiance makes the hotel one of the most comfortable and relaxing places in the city, with warm and friendly staff
  • Total of 99 chic studios on offer, each decorated to the highest standard and offering many modern conveniences

Nearby attractions
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Geographic Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The White House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Kennedy Center for Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Museum of Crime & Punishment (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Policies
  • Valet parking costs $35 USD per day plus 18% city tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Quincy also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$143
4.3 / 5 4 reviews
★★★★
$102
3.8 / 5 434 reviews
★★★★
$117
4.1 / 5 413 reviews
★★★★
$118
4.0 / 5 163 reviews
★★★★
$161
4.2 / 5 330 reviews
★★★★
$135
4.4 / 5 250 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 72 reviews
★★★
$129
4.1 / 5 148 reviews
★★★
$118
4.3 / 5 62 reviews

The Quincy Rooms

Queen Studio - 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed with kitchen
450 square-foot efficiency suite features one queen bed, a sleeper sofa, 37-inch flat screen TV featuring Direct TV channels, and a work desk. Enjoy complimentary WIFI and a full kitchen equipped with a Keurig coffee maker, microwave, full sized refrigerator, and dishware and cookware necessary for preparing in-room meals.
Standard Studio - 1 queen bed
Standard studios are furnished with one queen bed. This 400 square-foot suite also features a living area with a couch. The room comes with a 37-inch flat screen TV featuring Direct TV channels, and a work desk. Enjoy complimentary WIFI and a mini-fridge, microwave, Keurig coffee maker, and bottled water. Room is perfect for a business traveler or a weekend getaway couple.
Standard Studio - 1 king bed
Standard studios are furnished with one king bed. This 400 square-foot suite also features a living area with a couch. The room comes with a 37-inch flat screen TV featuring Direct TV channels, and a work desk. Enjoy complimentary WIFI and a mini-fridge, microwave, Keurig coffee maker, and bottled water. Room is perfect for a business traveler or a weekend getaway couple.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.4 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Blair House: 0.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.8 mi
  • Department of State: 0.8 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.8 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.1 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.1 mi

Dining

Nearby restaurants
The Quincy is also convenient to several other dining venues, including Au Bon Pain, Corner Bakery, Morton's, Smith & Wollensky and dozens of other local restaurants.
Mackey's Pub
For guests of The Quincy, finding a delicious meal in inviting surroundings is never a chore. Traditional Irish restaurant and bar, Mackey's Pub, is located just off the lobby. At Mackey's, experience delectable Irish cuisine and intriguing conversation in a friendly atmosphere. If searching for the perfect spot to host the next gathering or party, look no further. Mackey's Pub can accommodate private parties for 200 people. If looking to escape, visit secluded hide-away, Recessions II. It's a restaurant and lounge for the cognoscente and the incognito.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Quincy

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobbD
Family
Milton, ON
Aug 27, 2012

Great Spot

Great staff, great location. 10 minute walk to White House. 5 minute walk to Metro. On site parking a little pricey, but lots of options in the area. Had a 2 month old with us. Rooms have separate kitchen with microwave, stove, sink and fridge. Maybe the most comfortable bed we've slept in. Great location for first timers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Darah
Family
N/A
Aug 13, 2015

Quick DC trip

The hotel is in a great location but the actual hotel is so not as advertised. First, the lobby had no AC, the decor was sloppy, incomplete, looked like someone just brought in home accents, an ikea bookcase from their house, put it around the reception and called it a day. Then there was a smell to the hotel, it wasn't horrible it just weird and unpleasant. As we went up the tiny, peeling elevator with no AC either, a housekeeper got on with us and was taking a bedspread to be washed and she was dragging it on the floor. I know hotels aren't the cleanest but at least don't let me see that! The room's bathroom was out of the 1990's, peeling, really old and yellow light switches, everything looked old and gross, we didn't touch anything and since it was a one night stay, we did not use the shower, did not look sanitary at all. And the room also had a smell. The wifi was slow, the staff was really nice but the building, the actual room, not that nice. Props to the person who took the room pictures, those came out lovely. We chose to just walk all the monuments and eat out really late so we'd be tired and come back to the hotel and fall asleep as soon as possible to not be conscious of where we had to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budget Girl
Friends
HOUSTON
Jul 28, 2015

Great location

Hotel is located at very good location. 5 minutes of walk to subway and walking distance to White House. Safe area with food at very late hour. Room is spacious. The service is excellent, we were approached and our luggage was helped by the hotel staff the moment we got off shuttle, even at midnight hour. There is an Asian restaurant on the right street of the hotel, served very authentic Malaysian/Singaporean food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoraLee The Sailer Girl
Couples
Franktown
Jul 22, 2015

The Quincy is Nifty

Great place, newly renovated, reasonable price, walking distance to the White House & Mall. Good restaurants within walking distance. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessica K.
Couples
Gurnee
Jul 21, 2015

Great sightseeing

We stayed at the Quincy for 4 days in July. It is a great location, a 10 minute walk to the White House and 2 blocks from the Metro. The neighborhood was great, tons of dining and shopping options, although we didn't eat at either restaurant next to the hotel. The staff was super friendly and we appreciated the water bottles in our room, DC in July is hot! They also let us check in 2 hours early. The rooms are spacious, but a little worn. There were chips in the night stands, marks on the wall, and the bathroom had some water marks. However, everything was clean. Like other reviewers, we did experience the dumpster noise. It was loud, but over quickly. We were able to go back to sleep, and it wasn't really a huge problem, just something to be aware of, especially if you're bringing younger kids. For the price and location, you can't beat this hotel, even with the flaws. We'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael B.
Couples
Kidderminster
Jun 27, 2015

Friendly well located hotel

Super friendly hotel in a great location for walking to city attractions. Easy walking to metro stations for visiting more distant tourist attractions. We came from Dulles airport and used public transport for cheap access to/from hotel (saves on taxi fare). Very good room on 9th floor away from hustle/bustle of city. Can,t fault hotel highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay222
Family
Sneads Ferry
Apr 7, 2015

Great Family Trip

We stayed here as a last minute reservation, but were treated as old friends. It was our first time here and we would definitely consider using this hotel in the future. The food was definitely amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wini
Friends
N/A
Mar 17, 2015

Helpful!!!

The staff was amazing! Super friendly and helpful. When I forgot some amenities, the staff immediately provide assistance. In addition, they were super helpful with advice traveling around DC! I would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sharpnay26
Couples
U.K
Jan 9, 2015

Gem

A true gem, very cost effective, centrally located for an of the many attractions and sights in Washington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike4321
Family
San Francisco, California
Nov 4, 2014

Great place!

We had a great stay here. We got in early off a red eye and they let us check in early to take a nap. The room was nice and large. The staff was very friendly and helpful, so I would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Quincy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KTUK
Couples
England
Sep 14, 2014

Great city getaway

The quincy hotel is the perfect place to stay in DC for all major sights with 2 major metro stations a few blocks away everything is so easily accessible. Along the street is also several places for breakfast and dupont circle is nearby for evening dining. The room itself was beyond spacious, lots of room for luggage etc. a fridge was very handy as well as a microwave. The bed was very comfortable and with the addition of a sofa was nice to have somewhere to sit and relax. The only negative was the street noise early in the morning with bin collections etc. However i do realise its a busy city so was no big issue nor would it stop me from staying again! Its the perfect place for any DC stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

From Dulles airport the silver express bus and the metro is a very easy and more cost effective way to get into DC.

Back to menu Return to top