$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
146 reviews
Excellent

Nicely located and my room has a very classic look I do recommend highly. See full review

  • goodguy2
  • Aug 1, 2014
Hidden gem in the big city

I can't say enough about this beautiful European-type hotel. What a wonderful surprise! It was a... See full review

  • RunnerGirl25
  • Mar 17, 2014
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9173 -77.0476
Area served
Closest Metro - Dupont Circle on the Red Line DC Convention Center 1.5 mi, Embassy Row 0.5 mi, Kennedy Center 2 mi and White House 2 mi.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA) 8 mi, Dulles Intl Airport IAD 40 mi, Baltimore Washington Airport BWI 40 mi
Area description
Located in the cosmopolitan embassy neighborhood the city's famous sites, dining, and fashionable shopping are all within reach. Within walking distance of Adam's Morgan and the Dupont Circle.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tangrrl
Business
Atlanta
Sep 24, 2013

The Normandy Experience

I enjoyed a recent stay at the Normandy when I was in DC to celebrate my birthday. As a woman traveling alone, I made the decision to stay at a smaller hotel (reasoning that it would be safer). The hotel was located in a beautiful neighborhood and lots of eateries and other businesses were within walking distance. Public transportation was also within walking distance, making it easy for me to see the sights DC has to offer. The room was clean and the bathroom was lovely.I would highly recommend this hotel for singles or couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Utilize Metro, even if you're unfamiliar with the system. Their website is user friendly and you'll save money by not relying on cabs or rental cars!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivanya
Business
Norfolk, Va
Jul 28, 2013

God value foe the money.

The Normandy was clean, convenient and good value. It isn't new but it is well kept and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivanya
Business
Norfolk, Va
Jul 26, 2013

Nice little hotel just above Dupont Circle.

I had a very nice stay at this rather small but well-kept hotel. Could not get into the large hotel where my conference was being held and tried the Normandy. First, the rate was very reasonable. Second, the staff was very friendly and efficient upon check-in and throughout my stay. The room was not large but it was clean. The bathroom was clean and well-lit but again, a bit confined. All-in-all I would nothesitate to recommend The Normandy, particularly for price-conscious travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistrot du Coin is a nice French bistro a quick walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC24
Business
Union, SC
Jul 16, 2013

Great little hotel

The neighborhood is great and the hotel is quaint. There is a bit of a walk to the nearest Metro station and the wi-fi did not work inside our room so we had to sit out in the hallway or go downstairs to the common area. Otherwise this hotel was perfect for our visit to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Virginia Grandmother
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 7, 2013

Great Location

This was largely a great experience for myself and grandsons. The only issue was the attitude of the front desk employee who checked us in. He had a very unfriendly attitude and kept us waiting for about 15 minutes before assigning a room without any reason given.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randy AJ
Business
Tulsa, OK
Jun 30, 2013

Great hotel for doing DC!

Really enjoyed our stay at the Normandy. It's a Euro-style hotel in a quiet, around-the-corner location north of the DuPont Circle area. Distance to the Metro Train station is reasonable, and close enough that you're not burning a significant part of your day getting to/from the heart of DC. Staff was very courteous and helpful, and seemed genuinely interested in being helpful and address any concerns. The complimentary espresso machine in the lobby was, for me, icing on the cake. Fresh-ground shots in caff or decaf - so good. The only real issue we had was that our room was in the corner of the third floor, and wi-fi signal was very weak. It's fine down in the lobby area, where there are a lot of little alcoves and corners to park yourself and relax with your espresso drink and surf away. Wi-fi signal is probably not an issue in most other guest rooms, either. Bottom Line: we'll definitely consider the Normandy when we get back to DC next.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddiemon7655
Business
New jersey
Jun 1, 2013

Modern

Great hotel in fine location. Only drawback is that the free wi-fi doesn't reach in all guest rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ME 2012
Business
Chicago,IL
May 28, 2013

Clean space, Excellent location

The hotel is in the Dupont neighborhood which is close to Dupont metro (about 0.5 miles), Georgetown and Tidal Basin areas. The room is clean and espresso machine is an incentive. The room size is very small so be prepared for that. Overall it was good staying there - room size will be my only concern if going again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dupont circle has many brunch/dinner spots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AReviewFromMe
Business
New York, NY
May 27, 2013

Reminded Me of European Hotels

I stayed with 3 colleagues during an academic conference. This hotel fit our needs, but I would not jump at the chance to stay again. About the room: The beds were full, rather than queen (which we knew in advance), and the room was also very small in general. With 4 adults we were in quite close quarters. The bathroom, however, was lovely, with a huge, sexy shower with glass doors. Unfortunately, I would have preferred the space be used for the room, but I imagine a couple staying in this hotel would like it. We were pleased to have free internet, though it was slow, and a fridge. There was a flat screen TV, but no HD and no channel guide, and many of the channels didn't work. For some reason we also had a lot of trouble with our room keys, but the staff were friendly in repeatedly helping us. We had an awful view of the building next door and the dumpsters. We were pleased with the L'Occitane toiletries. About the hotel: Breakfast of the quality that is free at many hotels cost, I think, $12, but they do have a one hour free wine and cheese event each evening. They have a nice outdoor space in the front, but otherwise the lobby is rather basic, and I didn't see a gym or pool. There is also no restaurant. The other guests seemed pleasant and we heard no noise from the hallways or other rooms. About the location: This hotel is between DuPont Circle and Woodley Park. It is in a lovely residential area just off Connecticut, but it is about a 10 minute walk to a metro station. Good restaurants and bars are, for the most part, about a 10 minute walk to DuPont Circle or Adams Morgan. Bottom line: We chose The Normandy because it was the cheapest hotel within a mile of our conference (in Woodley Park) with a 3* or higher rating. If you're looking for an inexpensive, no-frills place to stay, this will certainly do the trick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous222221
Business
Los Angeles
May 24, 2013

Great hotel!

There on business and it was a great experience. The hotel was nice! A bit off the beaten path, but worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top