$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
147 reviews
Excellent

Nicely located and my room has a very classic look I do recommend highly. See full review

  • goodguy2
  • Aug 1, 2014
Hidden gem in the big city

I can't say enough about this beautiful European-type hotel. What a wonderful surprise! It was a... See full review

  • RunnerGirl25
  • Mar 17, 2014
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9173 -77.0476
Area served
Closest Metro - Dupont Circle on the Red Line DC Convention Center 1.5 mi, Embassy Row 0.5 mi, Kennedy Center 2 mi and White House 2 mi.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA) 8 mi, Dulles Intl Airport IAD 40 mi, Baltimore Washington Airport BWI 40 mi
Area description
Located in the cosmopolitan embassy neighborhood the city's famous sites, dining, and fashionable shopping are all within reach. Within walking distance of Adam's Morgan and the Dupont Circle.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 25, 2011

Review of Normandy Hotel

Hotel staff were generally nice. The room was VERY small, and the hotel claimed it did not have our reservation we had made through [...]. The [...]deal implied that the breakfast was included, but it was NOT and it was expensive for the minimal amount of food that was available (packaged cereals, some fruit, orange juice, coffee, croisants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Downingtown, PA
Apr 18, 2011

Great Weekend Getaway

Great small hotel near Dupont Circle Metro station. We had a wonderful girlfriends weekend. Our room was clean and perfectly decorated. Loved the wine reception and coffee machine in the room. Worth the short walk from the metro to stay in this quiet, charming hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head to Adams Morgan for some great dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 4, 2011

Great place

We got a great rate and wasn't expecting much from this hotel, but it was actually great. Really clean, modern and with nice common areas. I'm actually surprised it was listed as three-star instead of four. The area is nice, its about 7 blocks from Dupont Circle among all the embassies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the metro at Dupont Circle to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
biztraveler
Business
NYC
Mar 10, 2011

Lovely, but lacking

I stayed here on a last-minute business trip to DC. The hotel is charming - almost like a country inn in the middle of the city, with very friendly and accommodating staff. I arrived around 7:30 at night to find a complimentary wine and cheese offering in their living room. Unfortunately, they weren't kidding when they said it ended at 8pm. The "country inn" feel extends to the lack of ameneties - no bar, no restaurant, no gym. I was glad I hadn't planned to order room service for dinner! Also, no hair dryer in the room - it took 25 minutes for the front desk to bring me one when I called around 7:30am (and again around 7:45 to see where it was). The entire hotel has a cozy feel, and was just my style with toile wallpaper and leather ottomans. However, there were several design flaws in the room - the lighting scheme wasn't great and I couldn't seem to get the room very bright; the bathroom had no shelf for my bag of toiletries; the shallow flat sink caused a good deal of splashing; and the walk-in shower had just one "nook" that was filled with the complimentary toiletries - leaving no room for my own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Hollywood
Feb 23, 2011

great find and great location

The hotel was a great find and a surprise to a person like me who travels often. The location is perfect, especially if you want to feel at home. It's located in beautiful Kalorama right next to Dupont Circle. Many dining options few blocks away from the hotel and a short walk to the Dupont metro station. Inside, the hotel is nicely decorated and the ambiance couldnt be better. It's a small boutique hotel and in the early evening you can enjoy a nice glass of wine, cheese and crackers, complimentary. The room was nicely decorated and the bed truly comfortable. I will certainly make this hotel my home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great dining options, safe neighborhood, and great shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sensi
Business
Rochester, NH
Feb 14, 2011

CPAC in DC

Some of the best coffee I ever had. The room was small but clean and the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay there again. Pretty hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 13, 2010

review

Liked it a lot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro bistro

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Da Planner
Business
Pittsylvania County, VA
Jun 2, 2010

Oh so quaint!!

The hotel itself is very lovely! The surrounding neighborhood is beautiful and full of embassies from around the world. Overall we had a great experience! The staff was not overly friendly, but very helpful and efficient - it reminded me very much of Europe! I loved the room! It was a little small and there were a few times we could hear our neighbors, it was also very comfortable and cozy. The espresso machine was a delight! We were a little disappointed not to locate a drink machine of some sort, but otherwise there was nothing lacking in the hotel itself. Parking was difficult, there was literally nothing on the street when we got there and the garage is oddly shaped and only holds about 8 or 9 cars. The free wireless internet was a welcome bonus! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, however, and will definitely stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend paying to park you car in garage but driving and parking closer to the metro station, rather than walking from the hotel to the metro - it will save time and your feet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
spezbot
Business
New Jersey
May 10, 2010

Quirky but acceptable hotel

We got a great price on [...] (compared w/calling hotel and looking at other sites, but I wonder if this was their "special bargain room" because it was very small and inconvenient with a view of rooftop ventilation equipment. We soon found the bed very soft and uncomfortable, but when the thermostat failed the next day, we complained and got another room; an upgrade. Significantly larger and very comfortable bed! I understand the smaller room for less money, but the crummy bed?! Anyway, still a strange hotel; no dresser, no folder with hotel info or info about the TV channels. You know, the kind of stuff you see in any other hotel. Personally, I'd be willing to spend a little more for something else; but it would be hard to beat that initially deal we got from [...] for the crummy room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doyle Collection convert
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 5, 2010

Not where I stayed in the end...

[...] I didn't find out until arriving at The Normandy that my reservation had been switched to their sister property The Dupont Hotel. The change couldn't have made me happier, as The Dupont is incredible, easily the best hotel in my Washington, DC experience. Polite staff, sublime accomodations and the most comfortable bed anywhere. Budget questions aside, I'd choose to stay at The Dupont whenever business or pleasure takes me to DC again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top