The Normandy Hotel ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$95
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 26, 2016 Check-out: Feb 28, 2016
4.1 /5
Overall score
94%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Superior Room Free Wireless Internet
  • Size: 250 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe Room Free Wireless Internet
  • Size: 300 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Superior Room Free Wireless Internet
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe Room Free Wireless Internet
  • Size: 300 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel (formerly Jurys Normandy Inn) offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Welcoming and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travellers.
The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.

The hotel's 75 rooms include cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access.

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.1 / 5
$109
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$119
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$102
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$125
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$169

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Pet friendly
  • Elevators

Services

  • Laundry service
  • In-Room Safe

Internet

  • WiFi

Parking

  • Parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities
  • Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
  • Accessible facilities
  • Wheel chair access
  • Service dogs allowed
  • Service animals allowed
  • Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
  • Wheelchair accessible elevators

Reviews

4.1 /5 Overall score

94% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.8/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.4/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.4/5
  • Comfort: 4.1/5
  • Location: 4.2/5
  • Value: 4.2/5

Nice boutique hotel in Embassy District

Would recommend Tue, Dec 22, 2015
Nice spot for a long weekend. Optional cold breakfast fortified me for the day. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

| N/A Singles

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Decent hotel

Would recommend Mon, Jul 6, 2015
Nice hotel. Safe location (next to Washington Hilton, 10 minutes on foot from Dupont Circle, 25 minutes on foot from the White House). Nothing fancy, but clean and the staff were nice. Serve breakfast but it's $12, but they also have wine/cheese from 4 to 5, for free.

| Magnolia Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Business hotel

Would recommend Wed, Apr 8, 2015
The staff were very helpful and kind, the room was very comfortable, and the wifi was strong.

| N/A Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Only ok if you just want to sleep

Would not recommend Mon, Apr 6, 2015
The hotel is on a very tight and cramped street where parking is practically nonexistent, unless it's a weekend and you get lucky. There is valet only and I was even informed that my truck probably wouldn't fit back in their garage if I left the hotel that I would have to find another hotel at which to park *unacceptable*. Luckily, the front desk clerk handled the valet situation for me. My room was very clean and I loved the updated bathrooms, fridge with complimentary water, and free wi-fi (however it's an open connection). The heat in my room was broken and would only get to 68-70 F (that's chilly for me when there's ice and snow outside). There is no restaurant in the building, but you can purchase breakfast and there is a wine and cheese hour daily. The elevator was on the fritz one of the days. It's very brief 3 minute walk (downhill going, but uphill returning lol) from several restaurants (and Starbucks) which was a lifesaver. Overall, it worked for a busy conference weekend, but I wouldn't stay there again.

| N/A Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Excellent for us

Would recommend Wed, Mar 18, 2015
Although the room was a bit small for two old men, it was an excellent choice for us. Just blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro station, there were numerous good restaurants nearby. We ate breakfast at the hotel three of four mornings. The room had all the amenities we needed or even wanted. There was a day's worth of museums within a few blocks walk.

| Birmingham Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

ACR meeting

Would recommend Fri, Mar 13, 2015
Nice but very small rooms...European-like size. Daily 'happy hours' was a pleasant way to meet other guests. Staff was curteous

| lenoir Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

An absolute gem

Would recommend Thu, Jan 15, 2015
I never write reviews, but this place was such an awesome find I felt compelled. Fantastic location in a beautiful area of Dupont with a ten minute walk/$6 cab ride to the metro. The staff was incredibly helpful, friendly, and pleasant. The room was a bit small and warm, but super comfortable and beautifully decorated. I can't stress enough what a steal this was for the price.

Time saver

If going to Metro Center, Union Station, or Capitol Hill areas, save yourself the hassle of the metro as it's a cheap cab fare.

| Dexter Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great overnight get-away

Would recommend Tue, Dec 30, 2014
The location was great. It is in a very nice neighborhood within walking distance from restaurants and shops. My husband and I walked to a few restaurants. Parking at the hotel is expensive ($40) street parking is a good alternative. The staff is exceptional and very accommodating. BJ was the night doorman and he was a great resource for information about the hotel and neighborhood. There is a wine and cheese hour from 5-6pm. The only complaint was the room was very hot which made it uncomfortable to sleep. We turned the heat down to 65 and attempted to turn it off but it is not regulated by each room. The window in our room did not open and there were no fans. We would stay in the front of the property when we return because there are French doors and we saw a few windows open. Overall, a great place and we would go back.

Dining

Lebanese Taverna is a great restaurant about a 10 - 15 min walk.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Nice stay

Would recommend Tue, Dec 23, 2014
I stayed at The Normandy on a business trip. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were clean. My colleague found the pillows really uncomfortable, and the staff purchased a new set for his room.

| Apple Valley Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Beautiful Old Bldg with All Inhering Quirks but Great Wi-Fi

Would recommend Mon, Nov 24, 2014
The staff at this hotel is consistently friendly and responsive. Every request I made was responded to within 5 minutes or less. The room is not huge, so not great for families, but roomy enough for an individual or couple. The queen bed was roomy and comfy enough for me and I'm a rough sleeper (tossing and turning is my norm). Two things I missed were drawer space to unpack to and AC. Being an old building, when it's cold they have heat and when it's warm they have AC, but not both. So, when my room got stuffy, I had to open a window. Not so bad as long as it's not raining. Overall, I had a good enough time to be willing to stay there again. Another plus is their two short block proximity to the Washington Hilton where my conference took place.

| San Diego, California Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Phillips Collection 0.4 mi
Dumbarton House 0.6 mi
Woodley Park 0.9 mi
Department of Treasury 0.9 mi
U Street Corridor 1 mi
National Zoological Park 1 mi
National Geographic Society 1 mi
Lincoln Theatre 1 mi
Studio Theatre 1 mi
Naval Observatory 1.1 mi
Bohemian Caverns 1.1 mi
J Edgar Hoover FBI Building 1.1 mi
Blues Alley 1.2 mi
Decatur House 1.3 mi
Watergate Complex 1.3 mi
Renwick Gallery 1.3 mi
Blair House 1.4 mi
Lafayette Square 1.4 mi
Francis Scott Key Memorial Park 1.4 mi
Howard University 1.5 mi
Octagon House 1.5 mi
Boy Scouts Memorial 1.5 mi
Chesapeake and Ohio Canal 1.5 mi
National Museum of Women in the Arts 1.5 mi
Corcoran Gallery of Art 1.5 mi
Kennedy Center For Performing Arts 1.5 mi
Washington National Cathedral 1.6 mi
Washington Convention Center 1.6 mi
Theodore Roosevelt Memorial 1.6 mi
Zero Milestone 1.6 mi
Department of State 1.6 mi
Art Museum of The Americas 1.7 mi
Presidents Park 1.7 mi
Albert Einstein Memorial 1.7 mi
National Theatre 1.7 mi
Freedom Plaza 1.7 mi
National Academy of Sciences 1.7 mi
Chinatown 1.7 mi
Warner Theatre 1.8 mi
National Aquarium 1.8 mi
Vietnam Veterans Memorial 1.8 mi
Ronald Reagan Building 1.9 mi
Fords Theatre 1.9 mi
National Museum of American Art 1.9 mi
National Portrait Gallery 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$95
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 26, 2016 Check-out: Feb 28, 2016