$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
155 reviews
Excellent for us

Although the room was a bit small for two old men, it was an excellent choice for us. Just blocks... See full review

  • Birmingham Dog Lovers
  • Mar 18, 2015
Great hotel

The normandy was a great place to stay when visiting washington d c . It was located in the middle... See full review

  • Terrence M.
  • Jan 25, 2015
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 155
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
spezbot
Business
New Jersey
May 10, 2010

Quirky but acceptable hotel

We got a great price on [...] (compared w/calling hotel and looking at other sites, but I wonder if this was their "special bargain room" because it was very small and inconvenient with a view of rooftop ventilation equipment. We soon found the bed very soft and uncomfortable, but when the thermostat failed the next day, we complained and got another room; an upgrade. Significantly larger and very comfortable bed! I understand the smaller room for less money, but the crummy bed?! Anyway, still a strange hotel; no dresser, no folder with hotel info or info about the TV channels. You know, the kind of stuff you see in any other hotel. Personally, I'd be willing to spend a little more for something else; but it would be hard to beat that initially deal we got from [...] for the crummy room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WeLoveDC
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 7, 2011

Love the Location, Hated the bedding!

Pros: Great location, walking distance to anything, short cheap cab drive to downtown, great staff, attentive staff, clean hotel. BIG PRO: Complimentary wine and cheese and bites every night from 6-7pm, little 2 person tables in the dining area with cute little games and card games which I loved. I loved the feeling of this hotel. More like a homey bed and breakfast. Very warm and welcoming. Beautifully decorated. Great coffee in the common area, though the machine in our room was totally busted and had no instructions on how to fix. I just walked downstairs every morning to get coffee. Cons: Terrible bedding. No fitted sheet on the bed, so the flat sheet would come off during the night, and we would be sleeping on the mattress....god only knows how many other people had the same issue, not hygenic...terrible pillows. I did not have a good night sleep any night I was there (I was there for 4 nights). No wifi, but they do provide an ethernet cord, but its very short. Rooms are very small, but thats not a huge con for me personally, also, no good views in the hotel, but again, not a huge deal for me. BIG CON: Breakfast: DO NOT GET THE PREPAID breakfast, you will be VERY disappointed. Because the hotel is so small, they do not have a full service kitchen in the back, so they only provide hard boiled eggs and cheese for breakffast...not worth the $17 per person to pay...we walked down to Dupont Circle and had great brunch every morning (most restaurants serve brunch Sat and Sun which was nice).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try all the restaurants in this area! We travel to DC 4-6 times per year and always dine at Bardeo, Tosca and Palena. That being said, we were very plesantly surpised at the quality of food in the area, we recommend La Tomate (Brunch and Dinner!) and The Inn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ted4
Business
North Carolina
May 10, 2013

Washington meeting

very small rooms. I have been in European rooms of similar size. We had two rooms and one was not large enough to pull a bag through. Also small closets about enough room for a couple's weekend clothes. Bathroom rooms are very nice. Housekeeping will not change sheets if anything is on the bed...like a jacket Happy hour with cracker/cheese and free wine very nice touch at the end of a busy day. Breakfast not a good value. Parking a real problem and expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Odeon restaurant with excellent northern Italian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wiseowl
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 5, 2011

quiet luxurious space

booked it for a one night business trip, and then liked it so much I booked it for my husband and me to be in town when we visited our children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

espresso machine in room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wicked
Business
Kent UK
Nov 26, 2011

Second time for us - that should speak volumes!

Staff are very welcoming and attentive at all times. Comfy bed, good shower, and attractive decor in room. Lovely homely feel as soon as you enter hotel with candles flickering constantly. Complementary wine, cheese and nibbles every evening 6 - 7pm. On the whole we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Location perfect for buses, trains, eating, sight seeing. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for a choice of Cuisine!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Walter Abreu
Business
Doral, FL, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Great Time

Very good experience. Good location, good price, nice people. We enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Cleveland Bar is a very good call for those who like beer and pizza along with big LCD screens playing games of all sports together. Really nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. F. P.
Business
Minnesota
Apr 2, 2012

Wonderful hotel to stay at in Washington, DC

We stayed for seven nights at the Normandy. The staff was extremely helpful and made us feel welcome. We were unfamiliar with the city and asked many questions. They were courteous and friendly. Our room was very clean and housekeeping was thorough. The room was small but the hotel has an inviting lobby. It is in a beautiful neighborhood and within walking distance to restaurants, shops, and public transportation. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Normandy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nmddm
Business
Utah
Jul 18, 2012

Wonderful getaway

The Hotel was beautiful, centrally located, close to subways, restaurants, grocery stores, post office, malls, markets. The staff were very accommodating, friendly, knowledgeable. Loved the wine and cheese each evening; loved the cold water with lemon and cucumber. Very refreshing each evening after our walks. Loved the warm Chocolate Chip cookies in the mornings. If The Normandie had a pool and hot tub, I would have been in 7th heaven. Because it was hot and humid during our visit, a pool would have hit the spot after our long days of walking. A pool was available two blocks away, but that just didn't work for us. Everything else was A+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subways worked incredibly well for us and centrally located to The Normandie Hotel. It took us to every part of Washington, D.C. so we didn't need a car or taxi. We got to and from airports and all our shopping and dining and sightseeing. If you are staying at least 6 days, buy the unlimited pass. Subways were very safe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tsag
Business
mount laurel
Nov 26, 2012

great little place

its a cute small hotel in a great quiet area in dc. very clean and

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bistrot du coin

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MHMH
Business
Fairfax, VA
Jan 2, 2013

Great location but no parking

Stayed here on New Year's Eve and it was perfectly located near Dupont Circle, Adams Morgan.. the big thing missing is parking, but this is a small hotel, so it's understandable. Very cute patio in front & out back with nice, classic-looking lounge areas indoors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Adams Morgan or Dupont Circle.. a bunch of great places to stop in at each!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top