$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
149 reviews
Excellent

Nicely located and my room has a very classic look I do recommend highly. See full review

  • goodguy2
  • Aug 1, 2014
Hidden gem in the big city

I can't say enough about this beautiful European-type hotel. What a wonderful surprise! It was a... See full review

  • RunnerGirl25
  • Mar 17, 2014
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9173 -77.0476
Area served
Closest Metro - Dupont Circle on the Red Line DC Convention Center 1.5 mi, Embassy Row 0.5 mi, Kennedy Center 2 mi and White House 2 mi.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA) 8 mi, Dulles Intl Airport IAD 40 mi, Baltimore Washington Airport BWI 40 mi
Area description
Located in the cosmopolitan embassy neighborhood the city's famous sites, dining, and fashionable shopping are all within reach. Within walking distance of Adam's Morgan and the Dupont Circle.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.6 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Virginia Grandmother
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 7, 2013

Great Location

This was largely a great experience for myself and grandsons. The only issue was the attitude of the front desk employee who checked us in. He had a very unfriendly attitude and kept us waiting for about 15 minutes before assigning a room without any reason given.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randy AJ
Tulsa, OK
Jun 30, 2013

Great hotel for doing DC!

Really enjoyed our stay at the Normandy. It's a Euro-style hotel in a quiet, around-the-corner location north of the DuPont Circle area. Distance to the Metro Train station is reasonable, and close enough that you're not burning a significant part of your day getting to/from the heart of DC. Staff was very courteous and helpful, and seemed genuinely interested in being helpful and address any concerns. The complimentary espresso machine in the lobby was, for me, icing on the cake. Fresh-ground shots in caff or decaf - so good. The only real issue we had was that our room was in the corner of the third floor, and wi-fi signal was very weak. It's fine down in the lobby area, where there are a lot of little alcoves and corners to park yourself and relax with your espresso drink and surf away. Wi-fi signal is probably not an issue in most other guest rooms, either. Bottom Line: we'll definitely consider the Normandy when we get back to DC next.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC24
Union, SC
Jul 16, 2013

Great little hotel

The neighborhood is great and the hotel is quaint. There is a bit of a walk to the nearest Metro station and the wi-fi did not work inside our room so we had to sit out in the hallway or go downstairs to the common area. Otherwise this hotel was perfect for our visit to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivanya
Business
Norfolk, Va
Jul 26, 2013

Nice little hotel just above Dupont Circle.

I had a very nice stay at this rather small but well-kept hotel. Could not get into the large hotel where my conference was being held and tried the Normandy. First, the rate was very reasonable. Second, the staff was very friendly and efficient upon check-in and throughout my stay. The room was not large but it was clean. The bathroom was clean and well-lit but again, a bit confined. All-in-all I would nothesitate to recommend The Normandy, particularly for price-conscious travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistrot du Coin is a nice French bistro a quick walk from the hotel.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivanya
Business
Norfolk, Va
Jul 28, 2013

God value foe the money.

The Normandy was clean, convenient and good value. It isn't new but it is well kept and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tangrrl
Atlanta
Sep 24, 2013

The Normandy Experience

I enjoyed a recent stay at the Normandy when I was in DC to celebrate my birthday. As a woman traveling alone, I made the decision to stay at a smaller hotel (reasoning that it would be safer). The hotel was located in a beautiful neighborhood and lots of eateries and other businesses were within walking distance. Public transportation was also within walking distance, making it easy for me to see the sights DC has to offer. The room was clean and the bathroom was lovely.I would highly recommend this hotel for singles or couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Utilize Metro, even if you're unfamiliar with the system. Their website is user friendly and you'll save money by not relying on cabs or rental cars!

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DxBx
NJ
Oct 22, 2013

Nice Hotel but need better staff

This hotel was very nice we arrived around midnight and had no issue to get to our room. We stayed only one night. Rooms are decorated very nicely and clean however they are on the small side just like the European hotels. Bed was very comfortable. The staff can use some training in customer service. As we arrived we asked for extra towels, the front desk person told me that he will bring them up. However after 10 minutes in the room the phone rang and he said that he cannot bring them up until the morning. When we arrived we tried to get coffee from the free machine that they have next to the lobby but the machine did not function and had no coffee in it. There is also an espresso machine in the room. The machine did not have any coffee pods even though the morning front desk person told me that they should be in the machine. The water reservoir was missing from the machine so, no coffee could be made. When I expressed my disappointment on the subject with the front desk they had nothing to say. A guest at such hotel might expect the front desk to order coffee for the guest before they leave the hotel. However, at the Normandy it appears that staff care less if guests are satisfied or return to stay with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kurt1
Business
Utah
Nov 13, 2013

Great bed

I got the best sleep of my life on their bed! I loved that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phineas1
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 26, 2013

Lovely Hotel in a great DC Neighborhood

I stayed here just one night to attend a conference at a much larger hotel about a mile up the road. I liked the neighborhood--near Dupont Circle, Adams Morgan, Kalorama, close enough to restaurants and was looking for something more boutique-like. I found it in the Normandy, located on a quiet street off of Connecticut Avenue (Next to the Embassy of Senegal). The staff were very friendly and helpful and the lobby area though small, opened up into a lovely space where one could sit and read a book, or enjoy the daily wine and cheese. The room was very comfortable with an interesting wall-paper design. The bathroom was re-done into a modern space with a walk in shower with rainforest head. The sink was a little shallow, causing water to splash up, but otherwise no complaints. The king bed mattress was a little soft for my taste but I did get a good night's sleep after watching a little bit of television on the flat screen located on the dresser/desk. My room viewed another building across small courtyard, but some rooms face out to the street. In sum, the Normandy Hotel is a nice hotel and highly recommended for a stay in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dinsky
Indiana
Aug 10, 2011

Wonderful location.

Wonderful, quiet location in the heart of Embassy Row. A 10-12 min. walk to the Metro. Room was on the small side, but elegantly appointed. The price of the cold continential breakfast- $16.95- was a bit much. I loved coming back from the city and enjoying the quiet surroundings offered by the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Walk around the monuments at nightime. they are wonderful to see lit up!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search