$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
148 reviews
Excellent

Nicely located and my room has a very classic look I do recommend highly. See full review

  • goodguy2
  • Aug 1, 2014
Hidden gem in the big city

I can't say enough about this beautiful European-type hotel. What a wonderful surprise! It was a... See full review

  • RunnerGirl25
  • Mar 17, 2014
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9173 -77.0476
Area served
Closest Metro - Dupont Circle on the Red Line DC Convention Center 1.5 mi, Embassy Row 0.5 mi, Kennedy Center 2 mi and White House 2 mi.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA) 8 mi, Dulles Intl Airport IAD 40 mi, Baltimore Washington Airport BWI 40 mi
Area description
Located in the cosmopolitan embassy neighborhood the city's famous sites, dining, and fashionable shopping are all within reach. Within walking distance of Adam's Morgan and the Dupont Circle.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee Smith
Business
washington dc downtown
Nov 29, 2012

great hotel for the value

The room was a bit small. It almost appeared it was actually meant to be a one bed room that 2 double beds were pushed into. The service was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. Overall it was a great stay and I would check this place out again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking was a challenge because we did not want to pay the $30 a night parking but we were able to find parking on the street nearby. We just had to move the car every 2 hours beginning at 7am on weekdays and 9 on weekends.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tsag
Business
mount laurel
Nov 26, 2012

great little place

its a cute small hotel in a great quiet area in dc. very clean and

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bistrot du coin

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Country Mouse Mom
Business
Martinsville, VA
Nov 26, 2012

good location, great deal

The hotel is in a great location, right off Connecticut Avenue, easy to find parking in the neighborhood (especially on a holiday weekend). The room was very nice, although I missed having a chest of drawers to put things away, also missed having a tub but used to that in DC hotels. They had a little trouble with the towels (no wash cloths the first day, no hand towels the second day) and only had decaf espresso on the first day. We didn't have much contact with the staff but they were pleasant at check-in and check-out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindy k.
Business
Wilmington, nc
Nov 28, 2012

Wonderful!

This hotel was absolutely wonderful! My friend and i stayed for thanksgiving break which was from thursday to sunday. We stayed for a vacation to site-see and chose this hotel for the price and location. It was beautiful and clean. The staff was happy, nice, and helpful. The rooms were beautiful and clean and had all updated features. In room, there was a tv, a refridgerator, an espresso machine, 3 telephones, a marble shower, and beautiful new furniture. There was wine and cheese hour from 6-7 where they had wine, cheese, crackers, coffee, and cookies. You could mingle with guests and play table games. Very fun! The hotel is a very old building which added a lot of charm. The one and only problem we had was the whole no A/C thing... we were there in cold weather but our room still reached 81 degrees! we were soooooooo hot! we asked the front desk for fans and they provided two which helped a lot! Otherwise, everything was perfect and i would definitely recommend it! just get some fans! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

if youre going to DC for a vacation and you want to see the sights... Take the old town trolley tours! They take you to all the major tourist spots (20!) and you can hop on/hop off anytime!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
123wowie
Business
North Carolina
Dec 13, 2012

Great stay.

The Normandy Hotel was very pleasant surprise. Room accomodation was great, bed comfortable and lobby pleasant. Location is great as it is very close to wonderful restruants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Connecticut has many great places to have lunch and dinner at different price points.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reynalda
Business
durham, NC
Dec 17, 2012

Nice Weekend

I spent a Saturday night at this hotel. It is situated in a really nice area but there was no parking available on the street and I had to pay about $26 for garage parking in the basement of the hotel. The hotel is very elegant and the staff is very helpful and courteous. The hotel was worth the price. I would definitely reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PJA Savvy Traveler
Business
Omaha, NE
Dec 16, 2012

Business Oasis

It truly was a joy staying at the Normandy. The accommodations and staff were first rate. The extras, such as the wine and cheese reception,and the espresso machines in each room made me feel like one of the consulates living in the neighborhood. This hotel is a block from my office, and you can bet that I will be staying here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out all of the wonderful restaurants on 18th between Q & S Streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MHMH
Business
Fairfax, VA
Jan 2, 2013

Great location but no parking

Stayed here on New Year's Eve and it was perfectly located near Dupont Circle, Adams Morgan.. the big thing missing is parking, but this is a small hotel, so it's understandable. Very cute patio in front & out back with nice, classic-looking lounge areas indoors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Adams Morgan or Dupont Circle.. a bunch of great places to stop in at each!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stew11b
Business
Wilmington, NC
Jan 7, 2013

Great location for the price!

Nice bed & breakfast feel to the place. Staff was very friendly and room was very nice. Parking garage is TIGHT though. I don't know if I could have parked the car in there if it was full. Luckily it wasn't so I was able to use the space across from me to pull in and out. Definitely more geared for compact cars. Big SUV, forget about it. It cost about $30 for the night with the DC parking tax thrown in. The only complaint we had was that we could not control the HVAC unit in our room. So it started to get hot despite what we set the unit to. We ended up opening the window and that worked for us. Overall, a good inexpensive place to stay in a safe part of DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Adam's Morgan is a great place to get a Jumbo Slice and a cheap beer at "Millie & Al's"!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KU Prof
Business
Kansas
Jan 15, 2013

Good hotel, for a good price, with some nice extras

For someone traveling by themselves who is not going to spend much time in the room, this is a great hotel. The rooms are very European (i.e. small) but nicely furnished; so comfortable for a few hours a day, but not for families. The NESPRESSO (coffee) machine in the room is a nice touch. Free wifi. The complementary glass of wine and snacks are also a nice afternoon/evening treat especially given the price of the room. The metro stops are a good walk away (~.5 miles) but not extraordinary. There are many good restaurants in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top