$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
140 reviews
Excellent

Nicely located and my room has a very classic look I do recommend highly. See full review

  • goodguy2
  • Aug 1, 2014
Hidden gem in the big city

I can't say enough about this beautiful European-type hotel. What a wonderful surprise! It was a... See full review

  • RunnerGirl25
  • Mar 17, 2014
Classic elegance and free Wi-Fi Internet access in the embassy district
Experience the refined elegance of a diplomatic lifestyle at The Normandy Hotel, located in the heart of Washington, D.C.’s embassy district. Gracious service, original artwork and traditional decor characterize this boutique gem situated in a quiet residential setting. Intimate guest rooms feature hints of Old World charm in details like toile wallpaper and French doors that open to Juliet balconies. The Normandy Hotel is conveniently located near top attractions such as the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and Georgetown, minutes away by car or Metro.
Highlights
  • Elegant boutique hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood
  • Enjoy complimentary coffee and tea at the conservatory and patio 
  • Located half a mile from Embassy Row
Location
Strictly speaking, Washington's Embassy Row lies along Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, half a mile from The Normandy Hotel. Even so, the cluster of stately diplomatic buildings surrounding this boutique hotel lend an additional air of refinement to this already-elegant property.
Rooms
Each of the 75 individually designed guest rooms at The Normandy Hotel includes air conditioning, a flat-panel TV with cable channels, work space, voicemail, marble bathroom, hair dryer, Nespresso coffee machine and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature access to a garden terrace.
Features
Guests of The Normandy Hotel take advantage of free access to a fitness center and (during the summer) an outdoor swimming pool at a nearby sister property.
Dining
When the sun shines on Washington, D.C., make some time to enjoy a cup of coffee on the patio of The Normandy Hotel. Guests can brew their own coffee or tea in the hotel lounge anytime. 

Any time of year, the conservatory is available for continental breakfast (fees apply), as well as some quiet time with a book from the library.
Transportation
  • Dupont Circle Metro Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smithsonian National Zoological Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center 
  • Complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Access to meeting facilities at a nearby sister property
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
Parking, with in and out privileges, costs $34 USD plus applicable tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9173 -77.0476
Area served
Closest Metro - Dupont Circle on the Red Line DC Convention Center 1.5 mi, Embassy Row 0.5 mi, Kennedy Center 2 mi and White House 2 mi.
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA) 8 mi, Dulles Intl Airport IAD 40 mi, Baltimore Washington Airport BWI 40 mi
Area description
Located in the cosmopolitan embassy neighborhood the city's famous sites, dining, and fashionable shopping are all within reach. Within walking distance of Adam's Morgan and the Dupont Circle.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Normandy Hotel Rooms

Delxue Room
Oversized rooms have one queen bed or one king bed, free wireless internet, Direct TV, mini-refrigerator, data port, Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.
Superior Room
Rooms have one queen bed or two double beds, free wireless internet, Direct tv, mini-refrigerator, data port,Nespresso coffee maker and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.6 mi
  • Woodley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.9 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.1 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 1.1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Blair House: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1.4 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 1.4 mi
  • Howard University: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.5 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.6 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.6 mi
  • Department of State: 1.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.8 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.9 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.9 mi

Dining

Breakfast Lounge
While not a full service restaurant, join us in the Breakfast Lounge for a hearty morning meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GDS18
PA
Mar 29, 2014

We Try Harder

Describes the staff of the Normandy. -Room was quiet, well taken care of but little annoyances i.e. tv remote not working, shade broken and not fixed even w/tip, and key not working/needing resets. Bu staff A-1 for concern, friendliness, and attention!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wbeachguy
Business
NY, NY
Oct 8, 2011

charming hotel near Dupont

Beautiful hotel and very well designed. First floor is really lovely with great furniture, a fireplace, different seating areas, complimentary wine and cheese at 6 pm and a great attention to detail. Rooms are not big, but well designed with nice bathrooms. Very chic and contemporary and a great deal compared to the prices of hotels in the area. Staff is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

several bars and nice restaurants within walking distance.

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sensi
Business
Rochester, NH
Feb 14, 2011

CPAC in DC

Some of the best coffee I ever had. The room was small but clean and the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay there again. Pretty hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PeteS
Business
Boston
Oct 27, 2011

Pleasant stay at the Normandy

I spent three nights, mostly attending a conference at the nearby Hilton. My room was very nice and modern, though (perhaps because of early checkin) I got a room overlooking air conditioning equipment on a tar-paper roof -- less exciting than the famous Kalorama views. Comfortable and elegant, with a bathroom I would instantly trade for my home one. Only problems were that I needed help to figure out how to turn on lamps, and the wonderful coffee machine fritzed on day 1 (but was fixed and made excellent Joe after that). I didn't use the public facilities much because of my commitments down the road, but the lounge seemed very pleasant, and the apples at the front desk were delicious. The price seemed high, but then so is most of Washington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MHMH
Fairfax, VA
Jan 2, 2013

Great location but no parking

Stayed here on New Year's Eve and it was perfectly located near Dupont Circle, Adams Morgan.. the big thing missing is parking, but this is a small hotel, so it's understandable. Very cute patio in front & out back with nice, classic-looking lounge areas indoors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Adams Morgan or Dupont Circle.. a bunch of great places to stop in at each!

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 15, 2008

Good location for our purposes

This was our first stay at a Jury's property here in the US. We have found them to be quite variable in their standards. This property was fine for our recent DC visit. Some of the rooms were on the small side. We switched to a twin bedded room to have a little more space. Rooms were clean but a little tired (new carpeting needed on sleeping room floors). Public areas were comfortable and the staff was pleasant and quite helpful. If the location was not primary we would probably select a different property unless this one was renovated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindy k.
Wilmington, nc
Nov 28, 2012

Wonderful!

This hotel was absolutely wonderful! My friend and i stayed for thanksgiving break which was from thursday to sunday. We stayed for a vacation to site-see and chose this hotel for the price and location. It was beautiful and clean. The staff was happy, nice, and helpful. The rooms were beautiful and clean and had all updated features. In room, there was a tv, a refridgerator, an espresso machine, 3 telephones, a marble shower, and beautiful new furniture. There was wine and cheese hour from 6-7 where they had wine, cheese, crackers, coffee, and cookies. You could mingle with guests and play table games. Very fun! The hotel is a very old building which added a lot of charm. The one and only problem we had was the whole no A/C thing... we were there in cold weather but our room still reached 81 degrees! we were soooooooo hot! we asked the front desk for fans and they provided two which helped a lot! Otherwise, everything was perfect and i would definitely recommend it! just get some fans! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

if youre going to DC for a vacation and you want to see the sights... Take the old town trolley tours! They take you to all the major tourist spots (20!) and you can hop on/hop off anytime!!

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddiemon7655
New jersey
Jun 1, 2013

Modern

Great hotel in fine location. Only drawback is that the free wi-fi doesn't reach in all guest rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zach1
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Post-grad 3 day stay

Free wifi and service was great. Complimentary wine hour was an unexpected perk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alme
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Jan 5, 2014

lovely boutique hotel

I chose the Normandy for its location--walking distance to Dupont Circle, Woodley Park, and Adams-Morgan. My only complaint is the size of the room and bathroom--the room--a double-- just barely contained the bed, chair & ottoman, and table covered by (large screen) TV and Nespresso maker (a nice touch). No desk. The bathroom was also tiny--dominated by a good-sized shower with glass doors (no tub), not much space for laying out toiletries, makeup, etc. (At first glance, I thought housekeeping had forgotten to give me shampoo & conditioner; they turned out to be in the shower.) No restaurant/room service, but local restaurants deliver and breakfast is available for an additional charge. These shortcomings were more than made up for by the exceedingly friendly and helpful staff, the large and comfortable common spaces on the main floor, complimentary wine hour in the evening, complimentary bottled water in the mini fridge, and beautiful neighborhood (Embassy district). Lots of restaurants, bars, and shops a couple blocks away on Connecticut Avenue. I'll definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search