$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

The Normandy Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2118 Wyoming Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20008

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Normandy Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ted4
Business
lenoir
Mar 13, 2015

ACR meeting

Nice but very small rooms...European-like size. Daily 'happy hours' was a pleasant way to meet other guests. Staff was curteous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buckeye87
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Sep 5, 2014

Good place for few days in DC

Normandy Hotel for the most part is a pretty decent place to stay. It is a decent walk to the Metro train, and nearby bars and restaurants. Staff is friendly and helpful, at nigjt they seem to be very understaffed. We needed new sheets for our bed one evening and nobody came up to change them. The gentleman working the feint desk handed us the new sheets and expected us to change them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Furan
Business
New York
Jan 7, 2014

A wonderful boutique hotel

Free wine and Cheese in the afternoon. Very cozy living room. L'Occitane bath sets!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alme
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Jan 5, 2014

lovely boutique hotel

I chose the Normandy for its location--walking distance to Dupont Circle, Woodley Park, and Adams-Morgan. My only complaint is the size of the room and bathroom--the room--a double-- just barely contained the bed, chair & ottoman, and table covered by (large screen) TV and Nespresso maker (a nice touch). No desk. The bathroom was also tiny--dominated by a good-sized shower with glass doors (no tub), not much space for laying out toiletries, makeup, etc. (At first glance, I thought housekeeping had forgotten to give me shampoo & conditioner; they turned out to be in the shower.) No restaurant/room service, but local restaurants deliver and breakfast is available for an additional charge. These shortcomings were more than made up for by the exceedingly friendly and helpful staff, the large and comfortable common spaces on the main floor, complimentary wine hour in the evening, complimentary bottled water in the mini fridge, and beautiful neighborhood (Embassy district). Lots of restaurants, bars, and shops a couple blocks away on Connecticut Avenue. I'll definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sassy wiggles
Business
washington dc
Feb 18, 2014

solid

small room, but nicely furnished and appointed and easily walkable around town. excellent value for the weekend. disappointed that no wine cocktail hour or newspaper on the weekend, no fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GDS18
Business
PA
Mar 29, 2014

We Try Harder

Describes the staff of the Normandy. -Room was quiet, well taken care of but little annoyances i.e. tv remote not working, shade broken and not fixed even w/tip, and key not working/needing resets. Bu staff A-1 for concern, friendliness, and attention!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vegan in Virginia
Business
Virginia
Apr 30, 2014

Perfect overnight getaway

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Normandy for a romantic overnight getaway. The location couldn't have been better - about half way between Adams Morgan and Dupont Circle. The neighborhood is full of embassies and we loved walking around looking at all the beautiful buildings. We arrived about an hour before check in so our room wasn't quite ready, but the concierge let us go ahead and park the car (they offer underground parking - reasonably priced too!). While we waited for the room, we went shopping in Adams Morgan, which was only a few block away. We had dinner at the Smoke and Barrel in Adams Morgan - a BBQ restaurant that offers meat lovers and vegan options (the vegan spare ribs were incredible). During check in the concierge overheard us say that the trip was a little birthday celebration for my boyfriend so when we came back from dinner a complimentary dessert and birthday card were brought up to the room. It was unexpected and very sweet. We stayed in a delux king room. It was small, but comfortable and nicely furnished. The TV didn't offer much in the way of channels - pretty much the basic network stations and that's it. The bathroom was nice, but very small. We checked out the next morning, but were able to leave the car at the hotel for the day while we went site seeing. We walked to Dupont Circle and found a little diner for brunch, and then hopped on the metro - all super convenient and easy. All and all I would definitely recommend this hotel for it's location, staff, cleanliness and price, and will stay there again if the opportunity comes up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bapi
Business
Lafayette, IN, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Nice Stay in the middle of the Embassies in DC

This is a very nice hotel in the DuPont circle area, surrounded by embassies in DC. I went to DC for a professional conference and the hotel provided everything I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PeteS
Business
Boston
Oct 27, 2011

Pleasant stay at the Normandy

I spent three nights, mostly attending a conference at the nearby Hilton. My room was very nice and modern, though (perhaps because of early checkin) I got a room overlooking air conditioning equipment on a tar-paper roof -- less exciting than the famous Kalorama views. Comfortable and elegant, with a bathroom I would instantly trade for my home one. Only problems were that I needed help to figure out how to turn on lamps, and the wonderful coffee machine fritzed on day 1 (but was fixed and made excellent Joe after that). I didn't use the public facilities much because of my commitments down the road, but the lounge seemed very pleasant, and the apples at the front desk were delicious. The price seemed high, but then so is most of Washington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wiseowl
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 5, 2011

quiet luxurious space

booked it for a one night business trip, and then liked it so much I booked it for my husband and me to be in town when we visited our children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

espresso machine in room.

Back to menu Return to top